Fiction » Literature » Coming of age

The Second Fly Caster: Fatherhood, Recovery and an Unforgettable Tournament
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,040. Language: English. Published: April 6, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(4.00 from 12 reviews)
Erik is proud that his father is a great fly caster, but then an unexpected outcome of a casting tournament leaves Erik questioning what once seemed to be only a sport. Years later, these questions deepen when Erik’s ideals are crushed by war. He struggles with his demons, until a discovery leads him to new meanings of fly casting. Through their prism, Erik sees the world in a forgiving light.
My favorite sin: Alternate Version 1
By
Price: Free! Words: 1,160. Language: English. Published: May 7, 2012. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Gay & Lesbian
for Sandalphon The first kiss is always the sweetest. And the most sinful? In case you are wondering who is that yummy guy in the photo, that is MEEEEE! =P yes, it's unbelievable but a young gay Filipino writer as sexy as that really exists =P
Spirit Lights
By
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 38,130. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2010. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions
Sequel to The Haunted Igloo, Spirit Lights is a coming-of-age adventure for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell, and Jack London. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark but discovers his best Inuit friend is terrified of the Northern Lights! Experience polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in the Arctic. (Ages 9-12+)
Slocomb's Pond
By
Price: Free! Words: 11,150. Language: English. Published: July 21, 2012. Category: Fiction » Horror » Weird fiction
(5.00 from 4 reviews)
Slocomb's Pond has a bad reputation. Some people have returned from it with tales of hideous creatures living beneath its placid waters. Others have not returned at all. This is the story of four boys who, one winter night, decide to tempt Fate at Slocomb's Pond, and who are caught most unaware when Fate takes them up on their wager.
De Thuiskomst van Kris Custers
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 36,110. Language: Dutch. Published: March 29, 2011. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Social Issues
'Het was het jaar dat iedereen werk vond, zelfs Nancy en ik hadden een baan.' Dit is het verhaal van Veerle Custers, 17 jaar. Wanneer haar broer, Kris, na anderhalf jaar gevangenis vrijkomt, willen zijn ouders hem niet meer zien. Veerle is te jong om voor zichzelf te zorgen, toch ontfermt ze zich over hem.
Del
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,290. Language: English. Published: July 13, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Del, a young city gardener, must rely on a simple good nature to deal with thorns botanical and human. By the author of The Mighty Roman and the short story "Lawrence."
The Mysteries, A Novel of Ancient Eleusis
By
Price: Free! Words: 132,180. Language: English. Published: July 9, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Ancient
Available for the first time complete in one volume. Previously published in two volumes as Daughter of Darkness and The Dadouchos. In 480 BC, fifteen-year-old Melaina's biggest worry, she thinks, is wishing to follow Artemis and remain virgin when her mother and grandfather want her to marry and became a priestess. But when the Persians invade, the gods themselves have plans for Melaina.
Harajuku (+)
By
Price: Free! Words: 54,830. Language: English. Published: April 17, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(3.00 from 1 review)
Ritchie Ufuo, recent graduate of a Pennsylvania university, moves to Tokyo where he runs into the champagne-and-cocaine Soren Soutern. The louche, high-spending, high-octane group of Japan expats introduce a new world to him, but at what cost and to what outcome? Japan around the turn of the century, with ecstasy and cocaine flowing, and the future apparently limitless...
How To Be a Homeless Frenchman
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 52,110. Language: English. Published: December 22, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
How To Be a Homeless Frenchman tells a tale of two countries, France and the US, bound together in weird and wonderful ways by war, music, and the love of good cheese. Surprising, lyrical, and laugh-out-loud funny, How To Be a Homeless Frenchman is an exploration of just how much happiness can be found in being a smelly Frenchman on a sunny day.
Jack Baron
By
Price: Free! Words: 10,680. Language: English. Published: July 30, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
In this nostalgic romance short story, a teenager growing up in a small town in the late 60's is introduced to love with the tomboy he's grown up with and a bond with a neighborhood tough soon to be drafted. With his life twisting in directions he never saw coming, he finally unlocks a mystery that will forever change his life and leave him with a choice that he may always regret.
Aurius
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 126,260. Language: English. Published: August 11, 2010 by Brain Lag. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
What starts as a young man's adventure of a lifetime soon becomes the most humbling experience he's ever had. Fighting for his very life, fighting fate, trying to grasp the foreign aspects of a strangely familiar land, and taking on a quest that will affect the entire world are just the beginning. And as months pass, he starts to long for something he never expected--home.
Liqueur de la Succession
By
Price: Free! Words: 85,900. Language: French. Published: October 7, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Que feriez-vous si on vous retirait de votre famille, si on détruisait vos rêves et vous ôtait votre paix? L'accepteriez-vous, ou voudriez-vous vous venger? Pour Fioréat, la réponse est facile: il ne s'arrêtera pas avant que celle qui est responsable de son malheur n'ait payé.
The Art of Letting Go
By
Price: Free! Words: 2,710. Language: English. Published: July 6, 2012. Category: Fiction » Inspirational
For eighteen years, Camille has watched her son, Michael, grow up and has loved him more than anyone else. Now, when Michael joins the army, she must learn to let him go, even if it hurts.
That Mouse Is High
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,130. Language: English. Published: March 9, 2010. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.33 from 3 reviews)
A father frantically prepares for his daughter's birthday party only to come across a stumbling block that threatens to ruin the day. A short story by Scott Semegran.
Fair Price
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,240. Language: English. Published: January 18, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(5.00 from 4 reviews)
This ebook contains two (unrelated) short stories: 1. "Fair Price" -- Young Kian has no memory of his parents, and his markings are different from those of other men in the tribe. Who is he? What mystery is concealed in his past? 2. "Writers Are Crazy And This Proves It" -- you'll have to read it to find out what it's about! :)
Ironic Diatribe: Tired
By
Price: Free! Words: 2,300. Language: English. Published: June 24, 2012 by Kimichee. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
Four childhood friends and their families as they battle the horrors of teenager-hood and life.
Letter to Jenny
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,480. Language: English. Published: July 3, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(5.00 from 1 review)
A belated letter to a best friend.
Where We Are: A Short Story
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,350. Language: English. Published: July 14, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
A short story of friends, shoplifting, beer, and one very long night in a new town.
Grown Fast and Hard
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,940. Language: American English. Published: August 29, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
Life is full of twists and turns, as the saying goes, but you never know when that life-altering event is coming at you. Some twists can turn out very fortunate, while others ... let's just say, there are others you wished you hadn't had to endure. Life can be a tough teacher, and the test tougher yet. Grown Fast and Hard - A contemporary short story set in the American West.
Down the Memory Hole
By
Series: Children (ages 9-12). Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 43,640. Language: English. Published: May 29, 2010. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Social Issues / Death & Dying
Summer vacation sucks when 12-year-old Buzz shares his room with a grandpa who has Alzheimer’s disease and his parents forbid him to associate with his best friend. The idea of giving up Mitch is bad enough. But how can he relate to an old man who wears adult diapers and thinks dog biscuits are people cookies? Someone who could die in the night and scare Buzz right out of puberty! (Ages 12 & up)