Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir

Carrying Autism, Feeling Language
By
Price: Free! Words: 80,540. Language: English. Published: May 9, 2013 and represented by Mary Jane Blackman. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
The author of Lucy's Story: Autism and Other Adventures takes a closer look at what language means to her and the way she views the world. A great insight for everyone. N.B. This book is still under construction and sections are added or edited every couple of weeks. Please re-visit.
Vietnam: A Soldier's Journal
By
Price: Free! Words: 59,270. Language: English. Published: October 24, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Vietnam: A Soldier's Journal by Jack Durish is a personal memoir of the author's tour of duty in Vietnam during the war that tore America's heart in half. It is a tale of his adventures and misadventures while serving in the rear echelons of the 9th Infantry Division. This telling of the Vietnam story is not politically correct, just true.
Kara Mia
By
Price: Free! Words: 55,440. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Kara Mia is the story of sudden loss and slow recovery in a teenager with Long QT syndrome - a genetic cause of an often fatal heart rhythm disturbance. Told by her mother and her physician the book combines the unique insights of both as Kara slowly recovers from a near fatal cardiac arrest.
The Rise and Fall of A Modern-Day Icarus
By
Price: Free! Words: 136,300. Language: Canadian English. Published: October 31, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(5.00 from 1 review)
Are you lifting weights because you want to develop more muscle mass? Why do most think that more muscle mass leads to an increase of resting fat metabolism? When you hypertrophy your muscles, you are enlarging Type IIb muscle fibres, which are glycolytic. There is an increase of carbohydrate metabolism, not fat metabolism. I have had problems with stress. Read my life-struggle to understand why.
Finding Family: My Search for Roots and the Secrets in My DNA
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 67,620. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(5.00 from 1 review)
"Finding Family: My Search for Roots and the Secrets in My DNA" is Richard Hill's true and intensely personal story of how he pieced together the long-kept secret of his own origins. This highly suspenseful book is a page-turning saga of personal detective work and the first book to chronicle the paradigm-shifting application of genetic genealogy to adoption search.
Exit Strategy: Depriving Death of Its Strangeness
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 66,590. Language: English. Published: February 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Health, wellbeing, & medicine » Cancer
Instead of crawling into a cave, or fighting to futility, David Oliver chose to use his “Stage IV” cancer diagnosis as an opportunity to help others. Although given a death sentence, he has written this compelling and inspirational story that has reached around the world. It will make you laugh, cry, and want to rise up and give him a standing ovation.
Fulton Avenue - Growing Up in the San Fernando Valley in the 1970's
By
Price: Free! Words: 52,660. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
My parents moved my brother and I from Minneapolis to LA in 1968. Little did they know what would happen. This story are the highlights of my childhood, the good the bad and the traumatic. My parents were party animals. My father was a drummer and my mother was secretary. They both loved to drink and smoke and listen to Sinatra. Living with them and seeing them divorce and growing up.
Just Keep Knitting: a journey of healing through forgiveness, faith, and fibre
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 55,760. Language: English. Published: January 11, 2012 by Apple Jack Creek Books. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(4.33 from 3 reviews)
When chest pain and exhaustion forced a pause in her busy life, author Lonna Cunningham was called upon to take a closer look at the big events of her past: the death of her infant daughter, her husband's sudden personality changes and the discovery of the brain tumour that had triggered them ... then she had to rethink her past in order to find her path to the future.
The Emily Updates (Vol. 1)): One Year in the Life of the Girl Who Lived
By
Price: Free! Words: 52,370. Language: English. Published: October 13, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Seventeen years ago, authors Tom and Vonne Barnett were suddenly confronted with every parent’s worst medical “bolt from the blue”: their only child, 30-month-old Emily, was diagnosed with an advanced – meaning metastasized – pediatric cancer. At the time, the thirty-something couple was living in northern Virginia. What followed was the defining crisis of their now 26-year union.
Surviving Amnesia – Mind Over Memory
By &
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 53,600. Language: English. Published: March 3, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(5.00 from 5 reviews)
Imagine what it’s like to lose your memory. This is the true story of two people who beat impossible odds.
Soup By Volume
By
Price: Free! Words: 53,200. Language: British English. Published: October 13, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Visionary & metaphysical
Quirky attitude, luminous words: warm, soulful, worth a few pence. Conveniently packaged collection of the best prose from the Wishbone Soup Cures Everything blog. Feel like you're hungry for something but don't know what? This could be the cure. Observation and imagination transform the world into a place of sustainable happiness.
Well Wishers-II
By
Price: $3.49 USD. Words: 133,320. Language: English. Published: July 1, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Become aware of what is entailed about mental illness in this revealing, accurate and insightful story. A autobiography about living and surviving the very incurring and irascible condition. Exploring and delineating the exaction and experience from being institutionalized and what came to create it that way. It is a true expose on the encounter and eventuality...
And Then It Rained: Lessons for Life
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 76,970. Language: English. Published: May 24, 2012 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Evolved Publishing brings you a story of friendship, family, and coming of age, in Megan Morrison's memoir, "And Then It Rained: Lessons for Life." ~~~~~~~~~~ Would you do it again… would you give Maya the letter? Some who know about it have asked me, as if I could actually turn back time. Would I give her the letter, knowing it would push her away?
House of Goats
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 78,580. Language: English. Published: December 30, 2011 by Wyrd Goat Press. Category: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Outdoor activities
Five acres, a couple of goats grazing in the pasture, with chickens pecking around a bountiful garden .... It sounded like heaven to city girl Tammy Owen. What she found instead of heaven was life.
Adventures with Knives, Surviving 1000 Hours of Culinary School
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 72,480. Language: English. Published: February 14, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Staring down a milestone age, Bob Foulkes was not content to experience life from the comfort of his easy chair. 60 years old, semi-retired, restless, and yes, bored, Bob was ready for his next adventure when he enrolls in a 6 month culinary program — 1,000 hours of intensive training in the art of classical French cooking. This behind the scenes account is humorous, eye-opening and inspiring.
Growing Up Levittown: In a Time of Conformity, Controversy and Cultural Crisis
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 86,670. Language: English. Published: July 27, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
One of the most successful and daring real estate developments in U.S. history was the building of Levittown, Long Island, in 1947. Although it became the prototype modern suburb, it was more reviled than appreciated during the first three decades of its existence.
Impact: An Anthology of Short Memoirs
By
Series: Telling Our Stories Press. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 74,050. Language: English. Published: June 27, 2012 by Telling Our Stories Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Biographical anthologies
A literary collection showcasing the art of short memoir with a variety of personal narratives of varying voices and artistic form.
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
How I Accidentally Started the Sixties
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 73,760. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
“This is a monumental, epic, glorious literary achievement. Every page, every paragraph, every sentence sparkles with captivating metaphors, delightful verbal concoctions, alchemical insights, philosophic whimsy, absurd illogicals, scientific comedy routines, relentless, non-stop waves of hilarity. The comparisons to James Joyce are undeniable. Wow! Whew! Wild! Wonderful!”" Timothy Leary
Seriously Mum, What's an Alpaca?
By
Series: Seriously Mum, Book 1. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 52,210. Language: British English. Published: November 3, 2012 by Ant Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(3.86 from 7 reviews)
Leaving England and moving to Spain to set up an alpaca breeding farm was never going to be easy… 'Seriously Mum, What’s an Alpaca?’ is the frank and charming story of a brave couple who risk everything to move to Spain to follow their dream.