Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir

Dear Susie: Tales from the Mill Village
By
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 29,420. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
This book is a series of short stories taking place in a small mountain town in Western North Carolina, revolving around life in a textile/cotton mill village. The stories center around the author's family and friends. It is a humorous look back at what life was like in a small town in scenes from the 1930's through the 1960's.
The Invisible Prison: Scenes from an Irish Childhood
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 72,030. Language: English. Published: October 25, 2013 by Dedalus Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Irish poet and broadcaster Pat Boran's bestselling prose memoir is an evocative and humorous portrait of small-town Ireland in the late 1960s and early '70s, made up of short self-contained scenes which combine to form a unique record of a time. "Gentle... affectionate... good-humoured... heart-breaking..." - The Irish Times
Bubbles
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 31,220. Language: British English. Published: October 21, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
This book is the autobiography of Mooneen Truckle, and charts the seventy-nine years of her life culminating in thirty one years of marriage to her husband David.
35 Drastic Changes
By
Price: $10.00 USD. Words: 68,340. Language: English. Published: October 18, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
I was a stastic, it was up to me to change. I had to learn to love me and believe in me. I made a change..
Daughters of Absence
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 44,140. Language: English. Published: October 17, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
A collection of essays by daughters of Holocaust survivors. Despite the unique pressures of being the daughters of "survivors," the contributors have thrived and made the most of their lives, but not in stereotypical ways. Instead, they chose ways that combine compassion with courage, and success with celebration. The result is an uplifting and inspiring book from a group of very inspiring women.
Cathy's Weightloss Diary Volume 1 2001-2003
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 76,930. Language: English. Published: October 17, 2013 by C&N Publications. Category: Nonfiction » Health, wellbeing, & medicine » Dieting
Cathysweightlossdiary.co.uk was a popular website running from 2001 through to 2012 following the ups and downs (literally) of one woman's battle with weight, husband, children and life in general. Written with candour and humour it had people connecting in each week to see not only how the weightloss was going, but how Cathy's life in general was going.
Be There Now: Travel Stories from Around the World
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 40,370. Language: English. Published: October 16, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Travel » Essays & Travelogues
Travel writing at its most authentic--real people sharing real stories of awe and insight, fear and laughter, humility and humanity as they explore the world around us. In a world that often demands that we "be here now," it is nice to take a break, daydream, and "be there now" with thoughtful people who take us with them on journeys that lead to inspiration, insight, humor, and deeper meaning.
Keeping Us Afloat: A Trip Down the ICW and A Journey Through A Marriage
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 79,100. Language: English. Published: October 16, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
The story of photographer David Crosby's trip down the ICW on a 42 foot trawler, and the two weeks of conversation with the boats captain about life and marriage. In the course of the trip, Crosby comes to see the futility of trying to make his wife happy after 25 years of trying. It's a story of travel and unusual homes, from a synagogue to a houseboat to a log home, and the struggle for love.
CRASH COURSE: A Head of School, His Son's Addiction, and Lessons for Schools and Families
By
Price: $6.95 USD. Words: 34,750. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In his 1st semester as Head of Brentwood School in L.A., the author encounters his 1st case of a student abusing drugs/alcohol. It's his son David who he didn't know was an addict. This is the story of David's struggle with addiction, its impact on the family, setbacks on the road to his recovery, and how Pratt used it all to create a more effective and humane drug/alcohol policy for the school.
From Iran to America: Changes, Choices, and Challenges
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 28,230. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Journey with the author from his youth in a small village in Iran, to two larger cities there, and then to America, blindness, and happiness. Now an American citizen and a proud resident of Boston, Mortazavi has much to say about Iran vs. America, volunteerism, American culture and humor, and what makes this country a true home for him. His gratitude and optimism shine throughout the book.
Saying Goodbye Without Saying Hello
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 57,150. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
What happens when all of those dreams are shattered in a moment’s notice? How does one cope with the loss of their child? This is the story of their journey and of the devastating grief of the loss of her daughter, Dakota Emily Buda.
Leaving the Hall Light On
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 86,940. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Leaving the Hall Light On charts the near-destruction of one middle-class family whose son committed suicide after a seven-year struggle with bipolar disorder. Author Madeline Sharples goes deep into her own well of grief to describe her anger, frustration and guilt. "Brave and Gritty." Story Circle Book Reviews. "Moving, intimate and very inspiring." Mark Shelmerdine, CEO, Jeffers Press.
Everything I Never Wanted to Be
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,810. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Everything I Never Wanted to Be is the true story of a family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. Any story filled with alcoholics and drug addicts includes a number of horrific events, but in the end, this is an uplifting story that can change behavior and save lives--and make you laugh along the way. "Raw and funny." -- Joel Stein, Time Magazine "Like a maelstrom." -- ForeWord Review
Saying Goodbye
By &
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 47,940. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Saying Goodbye is a collection of true stories about saying goodbye to the people, places, and things in our lives. The stories are universal. They are incredibly powerful and moving. And they are surprisingly uplifting and cathartic. "Tender perspectives helping readers with their own goodbyes." Midwest Book Review "The stories are about love, really, not sadness." Gretchen Little, Squidoo.com
Worth Fighting For: My Life as a World War II Spy
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 28,990. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Excite-Lite Media. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography
For over 60 years, Frank Weishaupt kept a secret from his family and friends. Then at a class reunion in 2009, he was asked a simple question - “What did you do during World War II?” Frank replied, “I was a spy.” Take a trip back in time with a young man thrust into responsibility and maturity by loyalty to his country in a time of war.
Sixteen Vs, Book Three, The Adolescent Years
By
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 3. Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 128,180. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Amazing life lessons, broken bones, getting shot at, and several other ‘firsts’ in Victor’s life make this an exciting phase of learning. A typical experimenting teenager trying to dodge the pitfalls of life while having fun. Breaking his vow, Victor is forced to quit school. Several life-threatening events will keep you glued to the pages, holding you in suspense, as you search for the outcome.
Beer and Whine and Other Bubbly Concoctions
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 33,650. Language: English. Published: October 10, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Her universal truths may not all be true, but they are endearing and frequently hilarious billboards for a breezy journey from birth to menopause in which the author explores (muses about) the difficulties and joys (not necessarily in that order) of being Jewish, short, married (her second) to a tall, formerly lapsed Presbyterian and raising two children in modern suburbia.
Il était une fois...un médécin municipal: fernando Piccirilli
By
Price: Free! Words: 15,230. Language: French. Published: October 10, 2013 by noubs. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Réellement touchante la lecture de ces pages du bref mais intense journal du Docteur Fernando Piccirilli, médecin communal à Lettomanoppello (Pe) dans la période de 1950 à 1986, que sa femme, Luciana, désire actuellement publier de manière posthume, après avoir tendrement remis de l’ordre dans ses annotations.
Santa Rosa Family Books Interviews
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 17,290. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » E-commerce / internet marketing
Santa Rosa Junior High hired my mother to teach Mathematics. We didn't have much money. My father had lung cancer. We sold our house in Michigan to avoid the winter for my father's health. In Marinwood, my mother walked to the overpass by Highway 101 each morning and took the bus north to Santa Rosa to teach. My mother and father found a house in Bennett Valley near fields filled with walnut trees
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews