Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir

Saying Goodbye Without Saying Hello
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 57,150. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
What happens when all of those dreams are shattered in a moment’s notice? How does one cope with the loss of their child? This is the story of their journey and of the devastating grief of the loss of her daughter, Dakota Emily Buda.
Leaving the Hall Light On
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 86,940. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Leaving the Hall Light On charts the near-destruction of one middle-class family whose son committed suicide after a seven-year struggle with bipolar disorder. Author Madeline Sharples goes deep into her own well of grief to describe her anger, frustration and guilt. "Brave and Gritty." Story Circle Book Reviews. "Moving, intimate and very inspiring." Mark Shelmerdine, CEO, Jeffers Press.
Everything I Never Wanted to Be
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,810. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Everything I Never Wanted to Be is the true story of a family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. Any story filled with alcoholics and drug addicts includes a number of horrific events, but in the end, this is an uplifting story that can change behavior and save lives--and make you laugh along the way. "Raw and funny." -- Joel Stein, Time Magazine "Like a maelstrom." -- ForeWord Review
Saying Goodbye
By &
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 47,940. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Saying Goodbye is a collection of true stories about saying goodbye to the people, places, and things in our lives. The stories are universal. They are incredibly powerful and moving. And they are surprisingly uplifting and cathartic. "Tender perspectives helping readers with their own goodbyes." Midwest Book Review "The stories are about love, really, not sadness." Gretchen Little, Squidoo.com
Worth Fighting For: My Life as a World War II Spy
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,990. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Excite-Lite Media. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography
For over 60 years, Frank Weishaupt kept a secret from his family and friends. Then at a class reunion in 2009, he was asked a simple question - “What did you do during World War II?” Frank replied, “I was a spy.” Take a trip back in time with a young man thrust into responsibility and maturity by loyalty to his country in a time of war.
Sixteen Vs, Book Three, The Adolescent Years
By
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 3. Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 128,180. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Amazing life lessons, broken bones, getting shot at, and several other ‘firsts’ in Victor’s life make this an exciting phase of learning. A typical experimenting teenager trying to dodge the pitfalls of life while having fun. Breaking his vow, Victor is forced to quit school. Several life-threatening events will keep you glued to the pages, holding you in suspense, as you search for the outcome.
Beer and Whine and Other Bubbly Concoctions
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 33,650. Language: English. Published: October 10, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Her universal truths may not all be true, but they are endearing and frequently hilarious billboards for a breezy journey from birth to menopause in which the author explores (muses about) the difficulties and joys (not necessarily in that order) of being Jewish, short, married (her second) to a tall, formerly lapsed Presbyterian and raising two children in modern suburbia.
Il était une fois...un médécin municipal: fernando Piccirilli
By
Price: Free! Words: 15,230. Language: French. Published: October 10, 2013 by noubs. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Réellement touchante la lecture de ces pages du bref mais intense journal du Docteur Fernando Piccirilli, médecin communal à Lettomanoppello (Pe) dans la période de 1950 à 1986, que sa femme, Luciana, désire actuellement publier de manière posthume, après avoir tendrement remis de l’ordre dans ses annotations.
Santa Rosa Family Books Interviews
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 17,290. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » E-commerce / internet marketing
Santa Rosa Junior High hired my mother to teach Mathematics. We didn't have much money. My father had lung cancer. We sold our house in Michigan to avoid the winter for my father's health. In Marinwood, my mother walked to the overpass by Highway 101 each morning and took the bus north to Santa Rosa to teach. My mother and father found a house in Bennett Valley near fields filled with walnut trees
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
58 Feet: The Second That Changed Our Lives
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 42,730. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Mark and Robyn Glaser’s lives were unexpectedly turned on their heads when, in 2010, they were involved in a serious motorcycle accident. After suffering terrible head and spinal injuries, the prospects for Mark ever living a normal life again seemed bleak. The story of his recovery and return to normality is an amazing tale of resilience, perseverance, and the power of family.
Finding a Road to Somewhere
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 8,170. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Life does not always go as planned. This is a story about me and my family, what happened when things suddenly made a drastic change into an emergency situation. Seemingly when life could not be worse we found our way to a new rewarding life and career. I hope you enjoy our story and also that it may give you or someone else courage to keep going when things go bad.
Hear I AM - Conversations with God Through Hurt and Healing
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 88,800. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Have you ever found yourself talking to God, even when you weren't sure he was listening, even when you weren't sure he was really there? Angela sure has. In fact, she couldn't stop talking to him when her kidneys failed and she became critically ill and she was told that her blood and bone marrow were overrun with the fall-out of a type of cancer she knew next to nothing about—multiple myeloma.
Memoir Poetic of a Naked Cop
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 17,680. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Poetic memoir of an ex-cop and Army veteran of Vietnam and West Berlin.
A Memoir of Holstein: An Engineer Traces His Origin
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 85,240. Language: English. Published: September 22, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
(4.00 from 1 review)
In A Memoir of Holstein, a retired engineer traces his first 18 years growing up on a farm near a small Iowa town founded by Germans. He shares how community, school, friends, relatives, and time spent alone molded his life. Inviting and nostalgic, the wonders of his formative years are examined through the eyes of the boy who lived them with the hindsight of the man who was shaped by them.
SIXTEEN Vs, Book Two, The Mid Teen Years
By
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 2. Price: $1.25 USD. Words: 111,450. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Tragedy hits Victor's family and recovering from the temporary split-up helps shape his character. School yard games spin off in nostalgic events for kids living in the early 1960s. His continual desire for adventure creates several problems and unexpected outcomes. His many ‘firsts’ provide humorous memories for anyone. Life lessons abound as he escapes dangerous situations.
The Dreamer's Road
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 79,140. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2013. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Black comedy
The Dreamer's Road (Part 1) tells the story of Jack Jordan. A bright and adventurous boy, struggling to realise his dreams and his potential growing up in a 1980's repressed, Thatcherite Britain. His solution: expand his horizons and flourish. This book tells the tale of a young man’s journey to emotional, intellectual and sexual freedom.
The Pastor's Shadow
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 16,270. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Taking advantage of a shelter's Christmas special, Pastor Dave and his wife adopted a sad, thin chocolate Lab. They had to coach Shadow to be a dog—to swim, fetch and bark. She thrived, and became the loving, big-hearted dog Dave had longed for since he was a boy. Pastor Dave's humorous tale of his 10-year relationship with the sweet but stubborn Shadow will tug at your heart and make you smile.
Misfit: Changemaker with an Edge
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 38,320. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
From scared, shy, gay, immigrant, geek with Aspergers genes all the way to prominent social entrepreneur and global changemaker. The raw story of a very unlikely and colorful journey.
Losing the Girls - My Journey Through Nipple-Sparing Mastectomy and Beyond
By
Series: Breast Cancer, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 57,390. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Delve into the breast cancer journey and beyond in Losing the Girls, a unique memoir differentiated by the author’s cutting-edge nipple-sparing mastectomy (NSM)―a little-known breast cancer surgery technique that leaves the breast completely whole. Shirley Alarie shares her story to boost awareness of this specialized procedure so women facing mastectomies will know all of their options.