Fiction » Historical » General

Sky Lark
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 127,270. Language: British English. Published: August 18, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » War
Summer 1914 Irish Nurse Emily Halpin marries Charles Eyre. He enlists with Emily’s brother Tom and friend William bound for France. Soon Tom is killed, followed by the disappearance of Charles. Frantic with worry and determined to find Charles, Emily and best friend Jane join the Nursing Corps. Her efforts to protect the men in her care irrespective of their nationality almost led to disaster...
A Second Chance
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 167,880. Language: English. Published: July 13, 2009. Category: Fiction » Historical » Australia & New Zealand
(4.89 from 55 reviews)
Amy uses the second chance she had hardly dared dream of to make up for the wasted years. But a familiar face from long ago makes an unwelcome reappearance, threatening her new-found happiness. Payback has more than one meaning, and sometimes people get what they deserve. "A Second Chance" is the sequel to the three-volume work "Promises to Keep"
Forty Thorns
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 111,880. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
Based on the Oral Memoir of a Turkish Revolutionary Woman, the epic Forty Thorns blends past with present in a war-torn love story that parallels the new nation during the critical years of the emerging state with its dramatic events, changes, and the universal women’s struggle for self-determination.
Flower of Iowa
By
Price: $4.95 USD. Words: 238,070. Language: English. Published: May 15, 2014. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay
(4.75 from 4 reviews)
Flower of Iowa takes place against the turbulent backdrop of World War I. In France during the final months of the war in 1918, young American Tommy Flowers juggles the challenges of life in the trenches with an unexpected attraction to British soldier David Pearson. The men must navigate this revelation as the war reaches a crescendo. Flower of Iowa is a tale of love, bravery and tragedy.
A Concubine For the Family
By
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 104,460. Language: English. Published: September 18, 2014. Category: Fiction » Women's fiction » General
kirkus review: “an adept stylist and storyteller, author weaves this tale of upper- class china in upheaval(1937-41). an engaging family saga by a talented storyteller.” this “book-fragrant” family's harrowing experiences highlight feminine solidarity and heroism, including dramatic events in an opium den, foot binding, acupuncture and raising silkworms. lisa see: “I really enjoy the story."
The Shield
By
Series: Shield, Book One. Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 133,940. Language: American English. Published: July 6, 2014. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Military
(4.00 from 1 review)
The Shield is a riveting story of conflicting emotions and ideologies in the tradition of Harry Turtledove and S. M. Stirlings’s Island in the Sea of Time. Twenty-first century Israel finds itself transferred to 1941 days before Nazi Germany plans to attack the Soviet Union. Opportunities abound for changing history and the population – including terrorists, tourists, diplomats, and pacifists.
The Bronze God of Rhodes
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 146,310. Language: English. Published: June 24, 2013 by Phoenix Pick. Category: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome
Chares of Lindos was a Greek sculptor born on the island of Rhodes. A pupil of Lysippos, Chares eventually built the Colossus of Rhodes, now considered to be one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. These memoirs present the trials and tribulations (some of them hilarious) of the sculptor as he undertakes various projects and is forced into a number of adventures.
Compassion
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 130,720. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
A haunting novel of time, memory and survival in Stalinist Russia. Nina, alone at night in Leningrad, writes the poem that will get her sent to the camps if the NKVD discover it. At the other end of the continent, Andrei despairs at the thought that she might already be dead. Intertwining ordinary lives with vast political events, Compassion shows how love conquers tyranny and terror.
A Queer Kind of Justice: Prison Tales Across Time
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 61,350. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2014 by Bold Strokes Books. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Lesbian
A diverse cast of lesbian, bi, and trans women, on both sides of the bars and through the centuries, find life-changing moments of love, hope, fear, excitement, passion, desperation, and inspiration. Prison. The very word sends shivers of fear through the soul. A place of gloom and shadows, where freedom is taken, humanity is lost.
What the Duke Wants
By
Series: Greenford Waters Legacy, Book 1. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 63,930. Language: English. Published: February 13, 2014 by Blue Tulip Publishing. Category: Fiction » Historical » Regency
What the duke wants…. Is not three young ladies for wards. Nor is the responsibility for finding them a governess. Thankfully that is delegated to his housekeeper, who he might add is blind as a bat. That really could be the only excuse she has for hiring Carlotta. Because Carlotta is far too beautiful to be a governess.
The Longing (Grayson Brothers)
By
Series: Grayson Brothers, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,340. Language: English. Published: December 26, 2010. Category: Fiction » Romance » Historical
(4.57 from 7 reviews)
Romantic Times 4-1/2 Star Top Pick! A marriage of convenience…and intoxicating desire. He would show her every shade of love.
THE EMIGRANTS Gold & Glory
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 109,030. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: September 25, 2014 by CUSTOM BOOK PUBLICATIONS. Category: Fiction » Historical » Australia & New Zealand
Transport and the tyranny of distance was the real problem for the colony. Distance determined the how far wheat, the most valuable of the farm crops, could be transported. Cattle walked to market losing a little fat but the beef the small population could consume, was limited. Only sheep were valuable enough to show a profit. However, the lifeblood of the colony was labour. Then they found gold!
Year of the Angels
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 100,050. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
What happens when the sweet magic of children mixes with the grimness of war? Year of the Angels, an outstanding novel by Erika Madden, describes the results. The author, guided by her personal experience as a child growing up in Germany during World War II, shows that in the world of children, war or no war, there are no boundaries and there is no hate.
Storm Clouds Over Broombank
By
Series: Luckpenny Land, Book 2. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 84,390. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2010. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
Meg Turner is finding life as a sheep farmer -unusual for a woman even in war time - tougher than she expected. With her loyalties divided she fears losing the one man she truly loves. And dare she allow herself to love baby Lissa when her mother may return to claim her at any time? Kath is facing new challenges in the WAAF, but can she ever get over the guilt of leaving her child behind?
Luckpenny Land
By
Series: Luckpenny Land, Book 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 102,380. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2010. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
Meg Turner lives on a lonely farm in the bleak but beautiful mountains of the English Lake District with a bully of a father. She loves Jack, with his dark good looks but loyalties are threatened as World War Two approaches and Meg realises that the only thing she can count on is her passion for the land she loves. Until a stranger arrives in the dale and her world changes for ever.
Confessions of a Courtesan
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 95,580. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2011. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
From the harsh streets of 18th century London, Lizzie Cane rose to become the most successful, sought-after courtesan in England! Mistress of earls, dukes and even a prince, she lived a luxurious life that was not without its perils. A single misstep could spell disaster! Then, at the height of her career, she risked everything she'd struggled to gain by breaking the courtesan's cardinal rule!
The Sometime Bride
By
Series: Regency Warriors, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 146,110. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2011. Category: Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » European
(5.00 from 1 review)
At the end of the Peninsular War, Catherine Audley, daughter of Britain's spymaster on the Iberian Peninsula, has a problem. Is she now the widow of a man who never existed? Is she the well-rewarded, but discarded mistress of her father's protégé, the enigmatic Englishman known as Blas the Bastard? Or is she a beloved wife whose only rival is her husband's determined expediency in a time of war?
Chessboard of Destiny
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 65,140. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013 by CUSTOM BOOK PUBLICATIONS. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
Published by CUSTOM BOOK PUBLICATIONS The aging Gypsy busker plays his concertina... his mind floods with memories… memories of the traditions of nomadic Gypsies, of his childhood marriage, her death in childbirth, life in the concentration camps… and his survival. A carefully plotted story of intrigue, old and new love, deprivation and suffering… a chessboard of destiny!
Tempest at Dawn
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 145,410. Language: English. Published: December 13, 2009. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
The United States military has been reduced to near extinction, economic turmoil saps hope, and anarchy threatens, as world powers hover like vultures, eager to devour the remains. In a desperate move, powerful men call a secret meeting to plot the overthrow of the government. 55 men came to Philadelphia in May of 1787 to found the longest lasting republic in world history. This is their story.
Helga: Growing Up in Hitler's Germany
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 58,620. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
Ten-year-old Helga is forced to join the Hitler youth movement's weekly meetings, where lies and tasty treats are used to entice her allegiance to the Fuhrer. As the war draws nearer to her home in Berlin, Helga is sent away to a Hitler Youth training camp. Her gradual disillusionment, followed by her harrowing escape home, is a coming-of-age story of a young girl's survival of Nazi mind control