Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes

Sub-categories: Cultural interest, general | Hispanic & Latino | Asian American | Jewish 
The Friendship Promise
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 31,710. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2014. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Religion
Maryam is the daughter of strict Pakistani-American parents who decide to bend their rules to help a divorced American convert to Islam, whose free-spirited daughter Samira is in need of "good" friends. But when Samira convinces Maryam to disobey their parents, Maryam is worried they may have gone too far.
A Trans Popstar's World: When Life Dreams and Being Transgender Collide: A Novel
By
Price: Free! Words: 9,150. Language: English. Published: August 24, 2014. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » General
This book is about a trans perspective on various social issues trans people often face. It is written for both trans people and other people interested in learning about trans lives. It is based on the author's own experiences as well as the many stories of real life trans people she has come across over many years.
Adrián - El Ángel de Jehová
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,270. Language: Spanish. Published: August 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Travel
Novela de ficción. Adrián es un viajero del tiempo al servicio de Jehová y vino a la tierra a dirigir el exodo y a organizar el ejército que tendrá que hacerle frente a Jahvé, el ángel oscuro.
The Legend Of Goddess Vardayini
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,720. Language: English (Indian dialect). Published: August 21, 2014 by Nona Gota Publishing. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Asian American
The unique thing about this festival is that this ghee, accumulated from millions of devotees, is collected into large drums, before being poured on the chariot as soon as it passes by. You can see that a small lake of ghee is formed right as the chariot leaves the spot. Have you ever wondered about the secret behind this odd festival? Well the story goes like this -
Fragile Mountains
By
Price: $3.90 USD. Words: 113,470. Language: English. Published: August 19, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
A beautiful and moving novel about life, love, death and rebellion in the eastern hills of Nepal.
Dying to Live: An Amish Man Fakes His Death to Find His Life
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,270. Language: English. Published: August 18, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Based on a true story, one August night in 1996, an Amish man starts a bloody trail across the bedroom floor next to the double bed where his young wife sleeps soundly and disappears into the night. He is missing and presumed dead.
A Journey to Find Home
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 8,230. Language: English. Published: August 17, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
This story takes place on the last leg of the Acadian's passage from Canada to Louisiana. The journey was a test of the human spirit.
Don't Make a Sign on the Boat, Stories from Burma
By
Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 30,560. Language: English. Published: August 14, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literary collections » Asian / General
A Collection of Stories from Myanmar, told by Ven. UNyaneinda, Abbot of the Old Burmese Monastery in Bodhgaya, India, for me to remember and retell. The place is Central Burma, the country along Burma's great river, the Irrawaddy, where these stories are still alive nowadays.
The Call of the Ruru (Book 1)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 10,300. Language: English. Published: August 13, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
The Call of the Ruru ( Book 1) is a contemporary romance set in rural New Zealand. The main character is Ngaia, a young investigative journalist. Book 1 describes her journey up North and how she unwittingly becomes entangled in revealing a sordid drug world. As well as discovering love, the story of her adventure marks the beginning of a quest to find her Maori family roots.
Book 10 Streets Paved with Gold
By
Series: Streets Paved with Gold, Book 10. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,230. Language: English (South African dialect). Published: August 11, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
The first story is an “Aesop’s Fable” from the African bush. A greedy honey badger learns a lesson about the African tradition of “Ubuntu” or sharing. The second story, The Snoek Run, is a sketch about the west coast fishermen and the lives they lead. Snoek are a type of fish related to the mackerel sometimes growing up to two meters in length.
Literature Help: The Good Earth
By
Series: A Quick Guide, Book 88 ยท Study Gudes: English Literature, Book 270. Price: $2.50 USD. Words: 13,080. Language: English. Published: August 9, 2014 by Raja Sharma. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides
The story presents the life of a family in a Chinese village before the First World War. Even today, the book remains a steady favorite.
Entre lagos y volcanes
By
Price: Free! Words: 25,820. Language: Spanish. Published: August 8, 2014. Category: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
Quince relatos, la mayor parte premiados en diferentes certámenes literarios, donde se conjugan odios, crímenes, esperanza, amor, terror e historia, unidos todos ellos en la geografía agreste y volcánica (en todos los sentidos) de Centroamérica.
Enemy in the Garden: A Novel of Intrigue and Suspense
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 80,500. Language: English. Published: August 8, 2014. Category: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
"Enemy in the Garden" is a provocative, but entertaining, thriller with a serious topic wrapped in an exciting adventure. Chosen for the 2014 Jewish Book Council Author Tour, it combines the theme of anti-Semitism in an action-packed story as a young suburban mother faces the deadly threat of a violent, anti-government gang known as the American Clan while searching for her kidnapped husband.
Open Doors
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 45,410. Language: American English. Published: August 6, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A crazy satirical novel in the tradition of Jonathan Swift, George Orwell, and Tom Wolfe. Angela wants to be a good person, but struggles to live a life consistent with her ideals. She's also frustrated by all the hypocrisy and error she sees. But that doesn't stop her from going on a quixotic quest to make the world live up to her expectations.
The Tourmaline
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 103,000. Language: English. Published: August 5, 2014. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
Volatile but talented, London teenager, Aaron, distrusts most people apart from his incarcerated cousin. When he attacks a fellow pupil to defend his birth mother’s honour, his head teacher gives him a fixed-term exclusion, and his foster parents send him to a residential camp for mild delinquents close to mystical Stonehenge. Once there, inexplicably strange events start to occur.
Entre Toiros e Gurus
By
Price: $4.00 USD. Words: 51,910. Language: Portuguese. Published: August 5, 2014 by Chiado Editora. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Três religiosos rezam pela evolução da humanidade, em diferentes localidades da Índia: um lama tibetano, no seu mosteiro; um iogue, num ashram e uma teósofa, na sede da sua organização.
Teilang_A_Novel
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 85,190. Language: English. Published: July 28, 2014. Category: Fiction » Inspirational
In Khasi, “Teilang” is both proper noun and verb - “build together” - a great concept. The character of Teilang gives life to that concept. The novel is a tribute to the good men and women of Khasi society in particular, and all good men and women in general. It celebrates the quiet revolution of industry and values at a time when opportunism and anarchy dominate news headlines everywhere.
60 Believes of Thai Ancient Traditional
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 2,020. Language: English. Published: July 24, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
60 Believes of Thai Ancient Traditional I created this book for sharing my experience about Thai Traditional that there are in Thailand in ancient for long ago. In this book “60 Believes of Thai Ancient Traditional” You will find a Thai Traditional that you never think there are in Thailand.
Stones
By
Series: Shining Light's Saga. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 103,720. Language: English. Published: July 23, 2014 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
In Book 3 of the saga of Shining Light’s people, the reader is swept into the changing world of ancient Native America. The peace that Shining Light and his family have enjoyed in the Land of the Tall Trees is shattered by his young daughter. Dove’s dream of mustangs, and of a young American Indian boy named Singing Stone, and his family known as the Mustang People, will not let her rest.
Song of the Silence
By
Series: Chronicles of the Stone, Book 4. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 71,080. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: July 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Now the East calls the heroes deeper into the travail of the age. Tu Ahu must be raised to hold the dark powers at bay. Then the Silk Road calls, and Tibet. Here the challenge of the trails is met. Here they rediscover the power of the ‘Silence’, a unique force born of old tides that serves them well. But the Black Robe forces gather greater strength until the quest seems doomed...