Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes

Sub-categories: Cultural interest, general | Hispanic & Latino | Asian American | Jewish 
Victoria's Choice
By
Series: Victoria's Journey, Book 2. Price: Free! Words: 50,980. Language: English. Published: December 21, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Victoria returns in Book 2, Victoria's Choice, the sequel to Victoria's Beginning. Trapped in the consequences of her choices, Victoria discovers that she made a horrible mistake on her wedding day. When a path to go home presents itself, Victoria takes it believing that she can finally break the shackles of pain and despair. Will she make the right choice this time, or find more heartache?
Extended Vacation
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 65,860. Language: English. Published: December 17, 2013. Category: Fiction » Adventure » General
Extended Vacation is a story of rage, bigotry, fear, suffering, perseverance, secrets, and a friendship that is tested to the limits.
Bhutanese Tales of the Yeti
By
Price: $7.95 USD. Words: 43,590. Language: English. Published: December 14, 2013 by Proglen. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Bhutanese Tales of the Yeti is a collection of twenty-two stories set in four different regions of Bhutan. The presence of the yeti is ubiquitous to the kingdoms of the Himalayas, where beliefs and attitudes related to it go beyond scientific judgment and analysis. The Bhutanese consider the yeti, or the migoi, to be an essential part of the backdrop of their existence.
Victoria's Beginning
By
Series: Victoria's Journey, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 61,950. Language: English. Published: December 6, 2013. Category: Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » American
Book 1 of the Victoria's Journey series, Victoria's Beginning, introduces main character, Victoria. Born different, Victoria has to face many challenges and hardships starting with the rejection by her parents. Her faith becomes tested with each new obstacle. Will she succumb and lose faith or conquer all to find her destiny.
Bride at First Sight
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 11,900. Language: English. Published: December 6, 2013 by Boroughs Publishing Group. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
"All-American" Indian-American Haripriya Sanyal is not happy when her parents arrange for her to wed a virtual stranger, but can Bollywood-handsome Namdev Chakrabarty charm her into accepting their mutual fate?
Bad Elixir
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 46,920. Language: English. Published: December 6, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Western
(5.00 from 1 review)
A drunk with a troubled pass finds himself living in a town with a troubled present located some where in a western part of the United States in the late 1800's. Racism and violence plagues the town of mostly Chinese immigrants as a new larger trouble arises forcing a doctor of the town to prescribe to the drunk a "bad elixir" in order to save the town.
The Old Woman's Maid
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,100. Language: British English. Published: December 2, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
An ailed old woman's maid's narration is told by her listener. Borrowing from personal experiences, he tells of life's complexities and the finality in its suspense, of pretense in religious probity and the cumbersome disguise of customs in unstable and unchanging times, as people seek for their idea of heaven. It tells of the failed stewardship of the perpetual maids of an ailing old planet.
Strength of a Woman
By
Series: Laraba Thomas. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 34,930. Language: British English. Published: December 2, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
This is the story of Laraba, a gorgeously shaped bossy girl in her early teens, with highly developed bodily curves beyond her tender age and an ever present beautiful smile on an ugly face. She was born on a Wednesday and named after the day she came into the world, like it is fashionable amongst Hausa speaking people. She rides the immature silliness of her companions, who fumble all around her.
Hanging by a Moment
By
Series: Knights of Red Horse, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 16,460. Language: English. Published: November 28, 2013 by Decadent Publishing. Category: Fiction » Romance » Erotic
Paired by Madame Eve, Tom must turn the tables on Emily, because he’s always been curious about the lifestyle and if the chaotic artist is willing to surrender, they may discover their deepest desire…
The Dollshop on Gogo Row
By
Price: $2.25 USD. Words: 91,330. Language: English. Published: November 28, 2013. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Action
Within a context of story, with humor, drama and action, the mysterious economics of Thailand are examined, as are the beliefs and motivators of both locals and expats.
Finding Each Other
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 71,450. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Richard Alan succeeds again in writing a touching story of relationships,and includes intrigue, action, and danger. Think—Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult meet J.A.Vance. Finding Each Other is a poignant continuation of the family saga that began with young Meyer Minkowski. Meyer and his wife Joan watch and counsel the next generation as they search to find themselves and their life partners.
The Couples
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 72,260. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
This family-centered story of love and friendship will appeal to fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult. The Couples is a novel about people who may belong together and how the world around them helps them, or sometimes defeats them in their search for a life partner. It follows the lives of couples and their friends, new and old, as they explore their relationships.
Finding a Soul Mate
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 72,970. Language: English. Published: November 26, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
What is life without a soul mate? As Meyer tells us, “… no one’s life is just a single strand of thread. On the contrary, each of our lives is a tapestry, woven intricately with the lives of those with whom we cross paths and with whom we share history and destiny. In these pages you will find the strands that make up my tapestry, my history, my life—and the journey that led me to my soul mate.”
The Baptist “A Native American Odyssey”
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 144,010. Language: American English. Published: November 25, 2013 by Brighton Publishing LLC. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Fr. Tosco is assigned to meet with a band of Paiute and dissolve an abandoned Mission established by the Catholic Diocese. Discovering remnants of a once proud people, struggling for survival and destined for extinction, something triggered within him to lead them to the path of survival. Why did the church and the government feel so threatened that it caused the shooting of unarmed natives?
प्रेरणा कथाएं: भाग दो
By
Series: Hindi Books: Novels and Poetry, Book 9 · Novels and Stories, Book 72 · Hindi Stories and Novels (हिन्दी कथा संसार). Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 8,300. Language: Hindi. Published: November 23, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Asian American
मौखिक कथा वाचन लगभग विश्व के हर राष्ट्र में सदियों से चलता आया है और प्राचीन धार्मिक, नैतिक, और मौलिक कथायें लगभग हर समाज में प्रेरणा के स्रोत के रूप में रही हैं। इस संकलन में प्रस्तुत कथायें भारतीय समाज के अलग अलग समय और वर्गों से ली गयी हैं और प्रत्येक कथा साहित्य का एक अनमोल रत्न है ।
प्रेरणा कथाएं: भाग एक
By
Series: Hindi Books: Novels and Poetry, Book 8 · Novels and Stories, Book 71 · Hindi Stories and Novels (हिन्दी कथा संसार). Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 9,830. Language: Hindi. Published: November 23, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Asian American
मौखिक कथा वाचन लगभग विश्व के हर राष्ट्र में सदियों से चलता आया है और प्राचीन धार्मिक, नैतिक, और मौलिक कथायें लगभग हर समाज में प्रेरणा के स्रोत के रूप में रही हैं। इस संकलन में प्रस्तुत कथायें भारतीय समाज के अलग अलग समय और वर्गों से ली गयी हैं और प्रत्येक कथा साहित्य का एक अनमोल रत्न है ।
GIT: Selfie
By
Series: GITT, Book 5. Price: Free! Words: 430. Language: British English. Published: November 21, 2013. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
Have you been taking pictures of yourself in the bathroom again? If so, don't let Mr. Git catch you or else he will give you a stern lecture. Both girls and boys worry about the way they look, which is okay, but when does it go too far? Mr. Git gives you his unique outlook on the situation and chucks a bit of humour in for good measure. Can you handle Mr. Git?
Daddy's Little Girls, Book Three of the Unbreakable Series (Mystery, Romance, Suspense)
By
Series: Unbreakable, Book Three. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 69,980. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Hispanic & Latino
When a dedicated researcher learns a bit too much about her client's new drug, the horrors from her past seem destined to return. Just as her life begins to spin out of control, a dashing computer security expert arrives from South America and seems the perfect antidote. But is his sudden arrival just the happy coincidence it seems? Find out in this 3-book series of romance, mystery, and suspense.
Songs For Sighing
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 76,900. Language: English. Published: November 15, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
jennifer, american professional, bonded with purnima, Indian villager, different as eggs and quiche. Their time together included births, life-threatening illness, adoption, family problems. After separating, jennifer experienced a kidnapping and ransom demands; puramma wrested a living from hard-scrabble acres, each stronger for what she learned from the other and adapted to her life.
La goutte
By
Series: Normandie légendaire - histoires courtes, Book 21. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,200. Language: French. Published: November 14, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Durant le XXe siècle, un climat de "Far West" animait souvent les contrées du sud de la Normandie, particulierement le Bocage et le Domfrontais. Le sport national était la fraude. En fait, les bouilleurs de cru pensaient qu'ils ne faisaient que récupérer ce que l'Etat leur volait. Voici l'histoire cocasse de mait' Ducreux et de la mère Fatou.