Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish

Lighting the Flames
By
Price: Free! Words: 51,410. Language: English. Published: December 13, 2014. Category: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Genevieve & Jeremy have been summertime best friends at Camp Meira, a Jewish overnight camp in the mountains. Then, last year, Jeremy left camp early. Gen left the country on a graduate fellowship. Now, a little over a year since they were last at Meira, Gen and Jeremy are together to run a special Winter Camp during Hanukkah. Will their friendship be rekindled, or will it become something more?
Literature Companion: My Name is Asher Lev
By
Series: A Quick Guide · Study Gudes: English Literature. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,810. Language: English. Published: December 12, 2014 by Raja Sharma. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides
The novel is set in a Hasidic Jewish Community in the 1950s, in Brooklyn, New York. The protagonist lives in that community but he also studies art outside in New York, Massachusetts, and Europe. As the story progresses he grows into an artist and a good Jew.
Russia's Underground Hope
By
Price: $3.00 USD. Words: 3,500. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
Jonathan Knowles is a normal boy that has a "supernatural experience" on his families farm. He in turn begins a change for the Russian-Jewish Nation.
The Accidental Samurai
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 88,480. Language: English. Published: October 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
The Accidental Samurai weaves different cultures and powerful characters into a historical tale of adventure, romance, and political intrigue that will appeal to readers around the world. The Accidental Samurai is Book 1 of the Generations series.
American Journeys: From Ireland to the Pacific Northwest (1847 - 1854) Book 1
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 74,570. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
American Journeys: From Ireland to the Pacific Northwest (1847 – 1854) is an historical fiction/family saga of Catholic and Jewish immigrants who came from Ireland during the Potato Famine and struggled to find their place and raise their families in American society. It follows them on their tortuous journey across the continent to the Northwest.
Adrián - El Ángel de Jehová
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,270. Language: Spanish. Published: August 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Travel
Novela de ficción. Adrián es un viajero del tiempo al servicio de Jehová y vino a la tierra a dirigir el exodo y a organizar el ejército que tendrá que hacerle frente a Jahvé, el ángel oscuro.
Enemy in the Garden: A Novel of Intrigue and Suspense
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 80,500. Language: English. Published: August 8, 2014. Category: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
"Enemy in the Garden" is a provocative, but entertaining, thriller with a serious topic wrapped in an exciting adventure. Chosen for the 2014 Jewish Book Council Author Tour, it combines the theme of anti-Semitism in an action-packed story as a young suburban mother faces the deadly threat of a violent, anti-government gang known as the American Clan while searching for her kidnapped husband.
The Life and Death of Abraham Massry and Other Stories
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 19,900. Language: American English. Published: June 17, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
A collection of stories based on author Joseph Sutton's Syrian Jewish background. The title story is about a Jewish immigrant from Syria who wants his American-born son Jake to follow the business and marriage path taken by him and his ancestors, except Jake shows the true calling of America by blazing his own trail. Come and enjoy Jake Massry's Syrian Jewish experiences from boyhood to manhood.
Neither Here Nor There
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 49,580. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2014 by Crooked Cat Publishing. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
Esty's life was laid out for her from birth. She would marry one of a handful of young men suggested to her and settle down to raise a large family in a tiny space within the closed community of her parents, near to and yet far from the modern world. But Esty has decided to risk all by escaping while she still can. Will she make it to the other side?
La vera storia di Moshe e Ahmed (Quando un'amicizia è più forte di ogni guerra)
By
Price: $3.70 USD. Words: 15,420. Language: Italian. Published: March 2, 2014. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Historical / Middle East
ROMANZO-AVVENTURA. Età: da 9/10 a 14 anni. Moshe è un cavallo che cerca un miraggio. Cerca quello che suo padre gli ha detto essere la sua terra. Scopre che quella terra è già occupata, ma un posticino lo trova, spettatore di un conflitto che travolge la sua famiglia e quella del suo amico Ahmed. La storia di Moshe e Ahmed simboleggia il conflitto attuale Arabo-Israeliano.
A Marginal Man
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 53,380. Language: English. Published: February 19, 2014 by Malachite Quills Publishing. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
Kramer and his wife Claire learn that their son has broken into a synagogue to steal Torah ornaments from the holy ark. Kramer meets with the rabbi, Herschel Himmelshine, to arrange for the return of the ornaments. The rabbi was a schoolmate and friend of Kramers when they were both rabbinical students and Kramer pleads with Himmelshine not to contact the police.
36 Righteous, A Serial Killer's Hit List
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 97,470. Language: English. Published: February 2, 2014 by Beth Barany. Category: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
What if you discovered your beloved was on a hit list? Ezra Barany releases this sequel to his award-winning bestselling thriller, The Torah Codes. Included is an appendix of essays and interviews by Rabbi Harold Kushner, Reverend Amber Belldene, Rabbi Daniel Kohn, and others who tackle the question, "Why do bad things happen to good people?"
מהומה אחרי מלחמה
By
Price: Free! Words: 63,670. Language: Hebrew. Published: December 30, 2013. Category: Fiction » Classics
מהומה אחרי מלחמה' הוא רומאן עם עלילה כמעט מקאברית, המתרחשת בתקופת סיומה של מלחמת יום כיפור. הגיבורים הם ידידים משכּבר, כבני 30 ומשהו: צייר אוהב חיי ם; מדריך חקלאי, ﬠיתונאי-לﬠת-מצוא, בﬠל דיﬠות מוּקצנות "מתוך יאוש מהמצב"; ומשורר- מרצה לדתות ﬠתיקות באוניברסיטה. השלושה, ששנים מהם השתתפו במלחמה, יוצאים ﬠם כול הלוחמים להפגנות כנגד "ממשלת המחדל", ובמהרה פונים איש לﬠברו : חייהם הופכים לתזזית מתמדת.
Finding Each Other
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 71,450. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Richard Alan succeeds again in writing a touching story of relationships,and includes intrigue, action, and danger. Think—Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult meet J.A.Vance. Finding Each Other is a poignant continuation of the family saga that began with young Meyer Minkowski. Meyer and his wife Joan watch and counsel the next generation as they search to find themselves and their life partners.
The Couples
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 72,260. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
This family-centered story of love and friendship will appeal to fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult. The Couples is a novel about people who may belong together and how the world around them helps them, or sometimes defeats them in their search for a life partner. It follows the lives of couples and their friends, new and old, as they explore their relationships.
Finding a Soul Mate
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 72,970. Language: English. Published: November 26, 2013. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Jewish
What is life without a soul mate? As Meyer tells us, “… no one’s life is just a single strand of thread. On the contrary, each of our lives is a tapestry, woven intricately with the lives of those with whom we cross paths and with whom we share history and destiny. In these pages you will find the strands that make up my tapestry, my history, my life—and the journey that led me to my soul mate.”
Herod, Statesman, Builder and Commander
By
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 65,430. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2013. Category: Fiction » Historical » Ancient
He was not the monster of popular imagination but rather a brilliant man of his time. Energetic, fearless and with some surprisingly loyal friends, servants and relations, he was also a good friend of the supreme earthly power, the Roman Emperor, Augustus and his right hand man Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa.
A Candle For a Marine
By
Series: Always a Marine. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 22,930. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2013 by Decadent Publishing. Category: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
Zehava only has eight days to prove her love and win Isaac’s trust again, but Hanukkah is a time for healing, reconciliation, and miracles.
8 Surefire Signs of a Jewish Mother
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,280. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2013. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire
A comical look at what it takes to be an official Jewish Mother and how to deal with one. A Jewish Mother doesn't have to be Jewish, a mother or even a woman!
A Quick Guide to "All But My Life"
By
Series: A Quick Guide, Book 18 · Study Gudes: English Literature, Book 146. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 3,550. Language: English. Published: September 11, 2013 by Raja Sharma. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides
“All But My Life” by Gerda Weissmann Kllein was first published in 1957. It happens to be the memoir of her experiences during the Second World War. The time period described in the memoir is from September 3 1939 to September 1945.