Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general

Open Doors
By
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 45,290. Language: American English. Published: August 6, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A crazy satirical novel in the tradition of Jonathan Swift, George Orwell, and Tom Wolfe. Angela wants to be a good person, but struggles to live a life consistent with her ideals. She's also frustrated by all the hypocrisy and error she sees. But that doesn't stop her from going on a quixotic quest to make the world live up to her expectations.
The Tourmaline
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 103,000. Language: English. Published: August 5, 2014. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
Volatile but talented, London teenager, Aaron, distrusts most people apart from his incarcerated cousin. When he attacks a fellow pupil to defend his birth mother’s honour, his head teacher gives him a fixed-term exclusion, and his foster parents send him to a residential camp for mild delinquents close to mystical Stonehenge. Once there, inexplicably strange events start to occur.
Entre Toiros e Gurus
By
Price: $4.00 USD. Words: 51,910. Language: Portuguese. Published: August 5, 2014 by Chiado Editora. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Três religiosos rezam pela evolução da humanidade, em diferentes localidades da Índia: um lama tibetano, no seu mosteiro; um iogue, num ashram e uma teósofa, na sede da sua organização.
Paloma Negra
By
Price: $6.49 USD. Words: 78,360. Language: English. Published: July 30, 2014 by Open Books. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
From Pushcart Prize and Golden Palm winner Miha Mazzini comes the charming and unlikely story of an imitation Mariachi band in 1950s Communist Yugoslavia.
Teilang_A_Novel
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 85,190. Language: English. Published: July 28, 2014. Category: Fiction » Inspirational
In Khasi, “Teilang” is both proper noun and verb - “build together” - a great concept. The character of Teilang gives life to that concept. The novel is a tribute to the good men and women of Khasi society in particular, and all good men and women in general. It celebrates the quiet revolution of industry and values at a time when opportunism and anarchy dominate news headlines everywhere.
Stones
By
Series: Shining Light's Saga. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 103,720. Language: English. Published: July 23, 2014 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
In Book 3 of the saga of Shining Light’s people, the reader is swept into the changing world of ancient Native America. The peace that Shining Light and his family have enjoyed in the Land of the Tall Trees is shattered by his young daughter. Dove’s dream of mustangs, and of a young American Indian boy named Singing Stone, and his family known as the Mustang People, will not let her rest.
Song of the Silence
By
Series: Chronicles of the Stone, Book 4. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 71,080. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: July 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Now the East calls the heroes deeper into the travail of the age. Tu Ahu must be raised to hold the dark powers at bay. Then the Silk Road calls, and Tibet. Here the challenge of the trails is met. Here they rediscover the power of the ‘Silence’, a unique force born of old tides that serves them well. But the Black Robe forces gather greater strength until the quest seems doomed...
Islamic Terrorist - The Satanic Mind
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 27,280. Language: English. Published: July 22, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
A story of an ordinary Muslim youth in early 30s well educated born & brought up in society where fundamentalism & cultural pluralism survive & thrive side by side. His upbringing confuses, is unable to mix completely & unable to identify himself fully with the fundamentalists as well as the materialistic people. Torn between what the Maulans preach & practicality of Islam.
The Banana Leaf Men (Reprint)
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 79,910. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Women's fiction » Chick lit
In this novel, at the turn of the millennium, identity crisis, gender racism, old fashioned ideas and astrology come together in Alor Star, Malaysia,
A Lifetime to Celebrate
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 36,740. Language: English. Published: July 19, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
This story is about a Cajun family's journey through a lifetime of events that tests their courage, convictions, and human spirit.
Simson
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 29,690. Language: Afrikaans. Published: July 15, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Simson is ‘n fiktiewe jeugverhaal wat handel oor die well en weë van vigs weeskinders in Misanga Kwazulu Natal.
Making the Cut
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 73,380. Language: English. Published: July 13, 2014 by Local Hero Press, LLC. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Drama
Making the Cut is a Young Adult/New Adult novel about two girls, Midori and Nicole, competing in a televised cooking competition. They become friends despite their cultural differences, and will be competing against six other teens. With a $10,000 prize and scholarship to a prestigious New York culinary school at stake, can their friendship survive the challenge?
Muslim Girl
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 45,030. Language: English. Published: July 9, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Inaya was only nine when her mother converted to Islam and moved the family to Saudi Arabia. Now, at sixteen years old, Inaya returns to America and decides to remove her Muslim clothes and hide her religion at school… And she hopes to get the attention of a boy she likes. But she has no idea how to hide this double life from her mother—and from everyone who admires her strong faith.
Anderkant die eerste Ster
By
Price: Free! Words: 23,430. Language: Afrikaans. Published: July 6, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Die flitsstories, minder as 800 woorde, gryp iets van die lewe en gee dit uit ‘n ander hoek. Die stories, 48 daarvan, vertel verhale uit die buitenste ruimte, van liefde en geweld, kinderstories en snaakse stories. Dit laat ons lag, maar ook huil en wonder.
Uncle Toms Cabin
By
Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 180,660. Language: English. Published: June 30, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Uncle Tom's Cabin; or, Life Among the Lowly, is a Classic peice of american literature about anti-slavery which helped lay the groundwork for the Civil War.
Asylum
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 29,070. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
What happens when an Aussie seeks asylum in a Muslim home - in Australia? Set in contemporary Australia the novella describes a day in the life of an Afghan family in suburban Melbourne forced to confront an unwelcome visitor. What follows is a poignant – and hilarious – intercultural encounter in multicultural Australia.
The Whore
By
Series: Laraba Thomas. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 108,650. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: June 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Adventure » General
Kengua is a male journalist with a intersex condition, and Laraba, his clueless female colleague and suitor, who refuses to be evaded by him. They live out their race for a culled national prestige and their chase for emotional comfort in the intrigues of a demanding society and the diverse people traversing it. Their demand for objectivity is swallowed up in their parochial subjective natures.
Fever: The Coldness of Fever (Book V)
By
Series: Fever. Price: Free! Words: 63,390. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: June 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Fever is an exposition of a heady but not inscrutable abstract tale conceived on the likeness of bodily symptoms to a dysfunctional family, coexisting like the nation it is indigenous to, resembles and lives within. Its nature points seemingly to a fictional story it likens in every aspect and symbolizes with such inane clarity. This is the historical tale of the Nigerian nationhood and its people
Mudbug Tales: A Novel In Flashes, wit' recipes
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 41,640. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Mudbug Tales is a series of related vignettes that tell of folks living in Acadiana, the Louisiana Bayou country. The book includes recipes, some of which are Cajun and some of which are not. The Mudbug Tales pay homage to the Cajun people. If I fail to depict reality it's because that is not my aim. What I'm trying for is an enjoyable read. So, I hope you, my readers, enjoy the book. Have fun.
Do Wyoming
By
You set the price! Words: 48,910. Language: Polish. Published: June 8, 2014. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
W latach 1991-1998 Tadeusz Korzeniewski odbył jazdę przez północną Amerykę. "Do Wyoming" to opowieści z drogi, jedne pisane oryginalnie po angielsku, inne po polsku. Za angielską "Lubark" autor otrzymał nagrodę 20 tys. dolarów z National Endowment for the Arts. Dwie polskie opublikował w kraju w "Rzeczpospolitej" i "44/Czterdzieści i Cztery".