Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers

Philip K. Dick: The Dream Connection
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 90,170. Language: English. Published: May 23, 2014. Category: Essay » Author profile
"A very impressive must-read for serious PKD readers." --Science Fiction Chronicle. This exceptional anthology includes an 8 hour interview with Philip K. Dick, detailing his March '74 "mystical experiences," plus numerous essays, including Robert Anton Wilson on PKD's experiences, R. Faraday Nelson on collaborating with PKD, a short story in which PKD fictionalizes his experiences, and much more.
The Vinyl Dialogues: Stories Behind Memorable Albums Of The 1970s As Told By The Artists
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 62,530. Language: English. Published: May 21, 2014 by The Educational Publisher/Biblio Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
The new book by Mike Morsch features interviews with Rock luminaries such as Hall & Oates, Stevie Van Zandt, Dave Mason, Edgar Winter, Joe Vitale, The Doobie Brothers, Al Stewart and more. The Vinyl Dialogues offers the stories behind 31 of the top albums of the 70s, including backstories behind the albums, the songs, and the artists.
The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 290,960. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Three full-length novels in one compilation! Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning collection of best-selling memoirist Marlayna Glynn Brown's three tales of survival and resilience. This collection includes three of Glynn Brown's acclaimed memoirs describing her turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood, teenage and young adult years in Los An
Tales Of A Tenacious Tenor
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 60,730. Language: English. Published: January 21, 2014 by ASJ Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Why aren’t you singing at the Met? You’ll walk in Bob’s shoes through it all – onstage and off. His story is unique in the annuals of opera. You don’t want to miss it.
The Invisible Prison: Scenes from an Irish Childhood
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 72,030. Language: English. Published: October 25, 2013 by Dedalus Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Irish poet and broadcaster Pat Boran's bestselling prose memoir is an evocative and humorous portrait of small-town Ireland in the late 1960s and early '70s, made up of short self-contained scenes which combine to form a unique record of a time. "Gentle... affectionate... good-humoured... heart-breaking..." - The Irish Times
Book2
By
Price: $20.00 USD. Words: 26,360. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Good
Sacred Monsters
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 75,540. Language: English. Published: August 7, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
This book collects more than twenty of celebrated journalist Edmund White's writings on artists and authors, including John Cheever, Patti Smith, Henry James, Mary Cassatt, Paul Bowles, Andy Warhol, John Singer Sargent, Vladimir Nabokov, Auguste Rodin, Edith Wharton, Christopher Isherwood, Martin Amis, Allen Ginsberg, Marguerite Duras, John Rechy, Ford Maddox Ford, David Hockney, and more.
Adventures in Filmmaking
By
Price: $8.95 USD. Words: 96,140. Language: English. Published: May 28, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
Peter Rowe has made over 200 films and filmed movie stars, exploding nature, wild animals, features, documentaries, television series, politics and pop culture all over the world. He has now told the best, funniest and most entertaining stories of his long career in his book "Adventures in Filmmaking". “A must-read for anyone fascinated by the entertainment industry."-Jeff Willner, Traveledge
Ken Kirkby - Warrior Painter
By
Price: $4.50 USD. Words: 79,930. Language: English. Published: April 10, 2013 by Libros Libertad Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Environmentalists & naturalists
KEN KIRKBY—WARRIOR PAINTER is a remarkable biography about a very remarkable man. It is, also, an unusual book about a very unusual man. This is an enlightening story of a very intelligent, artistically endowed, determined and perhaps spiritually guided warrior for the conservation of the land, air and water upon which the continuation of all species, including our own, depends.
Salvador Dalí y Gala. Enemigos íntimos
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 36,080. Language: Spanish. Published: January 29, 2013 by LD Books - Lectorum. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Este libro relata la historia de amor de Salvador Dali y Gala, itinerario de un amor hecho por igual de atracciones y rechazos, de brillo y de miserias. El pintor retrató a su musa por 5 décadas y exalto su belleza y sabiduria en libros, ensayos y declaraciones públicas. Compartieron hambre y privaciones, superaron el desprecio de la cúpula surrealista y vivieron de acuerdo a sus reglas y deseos.
Oil Paint and Greece
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 107,720. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Peter Hemming's motto is 'Everything is Possible' and as he stepped off the plane onto the runway of Kefalonia Airport he had to quickly start believing it. What lay ahead was a 6 month painting holiday in which he would sell some paintings, then at the end of the summer, return to England and an ordinary life; things though didn't happen that way and life turned out to be anything but ordinary.
Siqueiros y Blanca Luz Brum. Una pasion tormentosa
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 32,120. Language: Spanish. Published: January 23, 2013 by LD Books - Lectorum. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Este libro es la poca transitada historia de dos seres desmesurados, una historia de turbulencias, como dice el autor, una buena historia de amor. Ambos fueron inconformistas, fogosos, polémicos, además, ambos se amaron, con intensidad durante cuatro violentos años, con distancia durante décadas.
No Dramas
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 59,060. Language: Australian English. Published: January 17, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Celebrity biography
A humorous trip through Hollywood and beyond with award winning Aussie actor Peter Phelps.
Gaudí, l’arquitecte de la Sagrada Família - biografia breu
By
Price: $24.00 USD. Words: 73,340. Language: Catalan. Published: January 14, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Biografia cronològica d'Antoni Gaudí, geni apassionat de l'arquitectura i les arts plàstiques. Aquest llibre se centra en la vida i la personalitat humana i artística.
Dutch Tilt, Aussie Auteur: The Films of Rolf de Heer (2nd Edition)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 45,150. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Rolf de Heer is Australia’s most successful and unpredictable film-maker, with 13 feature films of widely varying style and genre to his name. This auteur analysis of his oeuvre, however, suggests that there is a signature world view to be detected in most of his work, and that he (quite possibly unconsciously) promotes unlikely protagonists who are non-hyper masculine, child-like and nurturing.
Latin Quarter
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 37,140. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Young Pablo Picasso's early, wild years in Paris
Gaudí, el arquitecto de la Sagrada Família - biografía breve
By
Price: $36.00 USD. Words: 74,950. Language: Spanish. Published: October 17, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Art, Architecture, Photography » Architecture
Biografía cronológica de Antoni Gaudí, un genio apasionado de la arquitectura y las demás artes plásticas. No es un estudio de sus obras, sino de su vida y de su personalidad humana y artística.
Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo. El amor entre el elefante y la paloma
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 32,860. Language: Spanish. Published: July 12, 2012 by LD Books - Lectorum. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Por estas páginas desfilan el colorido Coyoacán y el ambiente bohemio de París o Nueva York. Personajes como León Trosky y Tina Modotti, la famosa Casa Azul y las banderas rojas y, por supuesto, la famosa historia de amor entre Frida y Diego, como arquetipo de una época tumultuosa y aventuras transitorias.
From Football to Fig Newtons: 76 American Inventors and The Inventions You Know By Heart
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 39,110. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » History » American
Who invented football, bluegrass music, Mr. Potato Head, the Kentucky Derby, Sesame Street and the telephone? If you said Walter Camp, Bill Monroe, George Lerner, William Meriwether Lewis Clark Jr, Joan Ganz Cooney, and Antonio Meucci, respectively, then, you are smarter than this book. The answers and stories, along with 70 others, can be found within. Forgotten American inventors get recognized!
The Perennial Freshman
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 127,800. Language: English. Published: March 6, 2012 by shelfstealers. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"I remember [George] as being the most creative photographer and designer that I ever worked with. After he painted my thumb and applied the star, he photographed what may be one of the most famous album covers ever. How can you forget a guy like this? I had no idea he was a writer. His writing is as creative and scintillating as the rest of his talents and personality.” —Don McLean (American Pie)