Nonfiction » History » European

Sub-categories: Europe / Great Britain | Europe / Ireland | Europe / Eastern | Europe / Western | Europe / France | Europe / Former Soviet Republics | Europe / Germany | Europe / Italy | Europe / Spain & Portugal | Europe / Greece | Europe / Baltic States | Europe / Scandinavia 
Maggie Wall—The Witch Who Never Was
By Geoff Holder
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 16,210. Language: English. Published: December 4, 2013 by The New Curiosity Shop. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A remarkable and striking B-listed roadside cross in Perthshire in Scotland is painted with the words ‘MAGGIE WALL BURNT HERE AS A WITCH 1657′ Maggie Wall has subsequently become the most famous witch in Scotland, featuring in folklore, folk history and modern pagan belief alike. Which is strange, seeing as she never existed. This is the story of the Witch Who Never Was.
The Heinkel He 178-Part 1
By David Myhra
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 7,820. Language: English. Published: November 29, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Transportation » Aircraft
This is the history of this magnificent aircraft, pieced together by author David Myhra, PhD from documents and reports long thought nonexistent. Computer artist Jozef Gatial has contributed the colored plates in the middle of this book, to show how the He 178 would have looked in real life.
Lancelot - The Truth behind the Legend - Celtic Twilight
By Oliver Hayes
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,970. Language: English. Published: November 6, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Of all the Knights of the Round Table, none is so famous as Sir Lancelot. He is both the finest of the Arthurian knights, and the worst. He is the champion of the Round Table, and the reason for its destruction. He is loyal, yet treacherous. Noble, but base. His is a complex character that combines the best and worst of the world of chivalry in one person.
Niall of the Nine Hostages - Celtic Twilight
By Oliver Hayes
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,290. Language: English. Published: November 6, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
In this book historian Oliver Hayes goes back to the original legends, old manuscripts and seeks to disentangle fact from legend to reveal the true character and career of that greatest of early Irish High Kings - Niall of the Nine Hostages.
Viševekovno Prijateljstvo
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 10,040. Language: Serbian. Published: November 2, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Od slučajnog susreta između jednog ruskog kaluđera i najmlađeg Nemanjinog sina pa sve do današnjih dana, duge i čvrste veze između dva srodna naroda traju već više od osam vekova...
Uloga Rusije u Obnovi Srpske Državnosti
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 16,490. Language: Serbian. Published: November 2, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Vođe prvog srpskog ustanka sa Karađorđem na čelu bili su svesni da je za njihovu uspešnu borbu protiv Otomanskog carstva potrebna međunarodna podrška. Zbog dugoročnih interesa Habsburške monarhije, kojima je bilo mnogo prihvatljivije da Srbi i dalje ostanu pod suverenitetom turske carevine nego da stvore samostalnu državu, vođama ustanka nije preostalo ništa drugo nego da se obrate dalekoj Rusiji
Srbija u Vreme Kneza Miloša Obrenovića
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 13,820. Language: Serbian. Published: November 2, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Polovinom XIX i prvih decenija XX veka u širim slojevima srpskog društva često se moglo čuti pitanje: ko je u istorijskom smislu zaslužniji - Karađorđe ili knez Miloš...
Odnosi Između Srbije i Crne Gore u Prošlosti
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 16,160. Language: Serbian. Published: November 2, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Nesporazumi i antagonizmi između Srbije i Crne Gore u XIX i početkom XX veka proizilaze iz činjenice da su u okviru nacionalnog korpusa postojale dve države (Srbija i Crna Gora) i tri dinastije (Karađorđevići, Obrenovići i Petrovići) koji su smatrali da njima pripada pravo i dužnost da povedu srpski narod u borbu za oslobođenje i ujedinjenje.
Manje Poznati Događaji iz Novije Srpske Istorije
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 12,790. Language: Serbian. Published: November 1, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
U istoriografiji srpskog naroda novijeg doba, neki događaji i ličnosti nisu dobili odgovarajući publicitet, jer se nisu uklapali u mitološku ili ideološku sliku prošlosti, koja je preovlađivala kod nekih naših istoričara u vremenu između dva rata ili posle oslobođenja. Zato ovde objavljujemo istorijske događaje koji su manje poznati široj javnosti a imali su značajnu ulogu u prošlim vremenima.
Građenje Jugoslavije na Ruševinama Srbije
By Nebojša Bogunović
Price: Free! Words: 12,460. Language: Serbian. Published: November 1, 2013 by Nick Dogramadzi. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
...Jugoslovenstvo nije poniklo ni iz kakvih pozitivnih osnova, nego iz jednog apsolutnog nesporazuma, produkt je jednog naročitog poremećaja svih zdravih načela za život, jedna romantika koja je postavljena nasuprot realne politike i jedna fatamorgana koja je odvela u katastrofu državu Srbiju, jedino realnu u tom nezdravom snu nemogućem i neprirodnom...
The Lost Tomb of King Arthur
By Oliver Hayes
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,000. Language: English. Published: October 25, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
In about the year 1190 monks at Glastonbury Abbey in Somerset claimed that they had found the tomb of King Arthur. The discovery is today routinely dismissed as a crude hoax worked by monks greedy for the money that would come from a stream of pilgrims visiting the tomb. But was it a hoax? And if Arthur was not buried in Glastonbury, where was he buried?
King Lud - The Celtic God Who Founded London
By Oliver Hayes
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,210. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
According to legend, London was founded by King Lud, ruler of the Trinovantes tribe of Celts in the 1st century bc. But there is much more to King Lud than prehistoric kingship. Tracing the ancient legends back to their source, historian Oliver Hayes reveals a remakable truth - that “King Lud” was really a god and London was his Holy City.
Scavenger Hunt – Historic Paris
By SleuthQuests
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,090. Language: English. Published: October 13, 2013 by BookCaps. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
If you are looking for a quirky and unusual date in Paris, then this book is perfect for you! This book contains 50 clue-based questions that will send you and your date on a scavenger hunt throughout the older parts of the city. If you want to add a little bit of history into your relationship, then you won’t want to miss this book!
Scavenger Hunt - Paris
By SleuthQuests
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 14,300. Language: English. Published: October 13, 2013 by BookCaps. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
This book contains 50 clue-based questions that will send you on a scavenger hunt throughout the city. If you want to add a little bit of history into your travels, then you won’t want to miss this book!
Failed Intervention: The United States in the Balkans - Origins of War, Disintegration, U.S. Strategic Lessons, Legacy of Yugoslavia
By Progressive Management
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 13,960. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
The violence of Yugoslavia is soaked in historical injustice and nationalist tradition. Its historical mold is not unique; but the world's reaction is. The ongoing failure of Yugoslavia and its fractious cascade of regime changes are a product of flawed intervention.
Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John
By Ann Marie Thomas
Series: Stories of Medieval Gower. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,450. Language: British English. Published: September 1, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » Medieval
King John's brutal treatment of William de Breos led to rebellion by many of the great barons and was the final spark that lit the fire of Magna Carta.
The O'Connell Series. Book 4. Apogee & Perigee.
By Brian Igoe
Series: Daniel O'Connell, the Last King of Ireland, Book 5. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 17,750. Language: English. Published: August 21, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » Biography
This, the fourth book in the O’Connell Series, is also the last one. It describes what posterity has treated as the acme of his career when his Monster Meetings for Repeal attracted hundreds of thousands of people who all behaved perfectly peacefully and, exceptionally for Ireland, with absolute abstention from all liquor. That leads us on through prison to his death on his way to Rome..
Ένας έρωτας γεννιέται μέσα στη φρίκη...
By Tassos Antonopoulos
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 13,630. Language: Greek. Published: August 16, 2013. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
"Ενας ερωτας γεννιεται μεσα στη φρικη... ". Μια αληθινη ιστορία. Ο συγγραφεας, αυτοπτης μαρτυρας, Πρωταγωνιστες ο Γιωργος και η Φροσω, δυο νεαρα παιδια που γνωριστηκαν και ερωτευτηκαν κατω απο αντιξοες συνθηκες. Εκεινος γιος εγκληματια κομμουνιστη, εκεινη κορη αντικομμουνιστη. Εζησαν τον κατοχικο εμφυλιο στην Ελλαδα το ‘44 και βιωσαν την απανθρωπια, τον παραλογισμο και τον Γολγοθα του Μελιγαλα .
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire: Ultimate Fan Guide
By Kimberly Wilder
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,500. Language: American English. Published: August 4, 2013 by Kimberly Wilder. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Royalty biography
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire is the great-great-great-great aunt of Princess Diana and a relative of Baby Cambridge.This ultimate fan guide celebrates Georgiana's life as loving mother, entertaining friend, de facto politician, and Empress of Fashion. It includes reviews and an "Absolute Plot Spoiler" for biography, movie, and DVD. A must read for fans of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire.
A Love Is Born In the Midst of Horror ...
By Tassos Antonopoulos
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 15,240. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2013. Category: Fiction » Romance » Historical
A historical novel based on true events, eyewitnessed by the author. The main characters are George and Frosso: two young people who met and fell in love in adverse circumstances—he the son of a notorious communist; she the daughter of an anti-communist. They survived the 1944 Greek civil war that followed German occupation and experienced a true Golgotha of inhumanity and horror in Meligalas.