Nonfiction » Reference

Sub-categories: Personal & Practical Guides | Writing skills | Study guides | Handbooks and Manuals | Dictionaries | Quotations | Publishing and books | Foreign language study | Consumer guides | Careers | Directories | Foreign languages | All sub-categories >>
How to Write a Novel Using the Snowflake Method
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 54,430. Language: American English. Published: July 17, 2014 by Randy Ingermanson. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Are you writing a novel, but having trouble getting your first draft written? Take a look at the wildly popular Snowflake Method—a battle-tested series of ten steps that jump-start your creativity and help you quickly map out your story. All around the world, novelists are using the Snowflake Method right now to ignite their imaginations and get their first drafts down on paper.
Green Riches:Help the Earth & Your Budget
By
Price: Free! Words: 20,400. Language: English. Published: December 7, 2009. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Consumer guides
(5.00 from 1 review)
Eco-friendly can be eco-nomic. This book offers suggestions that are practical AND save money. It is for people who prefer not to be told what to do but who are problem-solvers, who like efficient, economical solutions that will enhance the lives of their loved ones. It is for concerned people living in a weak economy. It is for all who simply want to do their part to maintain our earthly home.
The Story Engine
By
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 47,300. Language: English. Published: January 17, 2010 by NorLightsPress. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
The cure to writer’s block is here! THE STORY ENGINE is the best new reference guide for fiction writers since the thesaurus. It contains thousands of ideas for generating interesting characters and exciting scenes. This nuts-and-bolts guide shows writers how to generate ideas while building stories. Throw the dice and see what happens next. This is one book that invites you to steal from it!
Rich Johnson’s Guide to Trailer Boat Sailing
By
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 85,160. Language: English. Published: January 22, 2010 by NorLightsPress. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Handbooks and Manuals
(5.00 from 1 review)
A trailerable sailboat is the ideal way to explore the country -- wherever there is water. To make the most of this exciting lifestyle, owners of trailerable sailboats need three things -- an understanding of the boat and how to use it; knowledge about the tow vehicle and trailer used to transport the boat; and a spirited sense of adventure to live the dream. This book will help you get started.
The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 13,860. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.
Formatting Your Paperback Book: 10 Simple Tips to Publishing a “REAL” Book
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 2,680. Language: English. Published: February 15, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
This short document is for authors wishing to self-publish through Print On Demand sites such as Lulu or Createspace. These 10 basic guidelines will make the interior of your book... NOT stand out! Too often self-published books scream "amateur" due to formatting. Much of this information is available online, however this puts it all in a simple and concise document focusing on common errors.
The Word Weaver's Grimoire
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 9,070. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Creative writing is a mysterious art. This booklet teaches you its secrets: how to create memorable characters, plot your stories and novels, write elegantly, and captivate your readers. Offering multiple examples from popular novels and films, this guide will bring your storytelling to the next level.
The Walk
By
Price: Free! Words: 810. Language: English. Published: July 18, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Non-Fiction Creative Writing Example: A discriptive account of my observations made during one of my walks.
2012 is a Thought Implant
By
Price: Free! Words: 1,420. Language: English. Published: August 7, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Consumer guides
(5.00 from 1 review)
2012. It is coming.As are the prophecies and revelations. This essay is an antidote to the upcoming 2012 fear campaign. It presents 5 technological reasons not to believe in 2012 as an ending. 2012 is just another amazing year in a series of amazing years.
The Rewritten Word: How to Sculpt Literary Art, No Matter the Genre
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 7,500. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
The only How-to-Write book that has nothing to do with writing. It's all about rewriting. Whittle away what buries the art of your words beneath pulp, no matter the topic, no matter the genre.
A Word for Everything! Quiz Book
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 39,260. Language: English. Published: December 15, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Words lists
(5.00 from 1 review)
What do you call that little bit on the end of your shoelaces? What's a polite name for those annoying, spoilt children you always get stuck next to on a plane? And what is a balthazar? I bet you're just a little bit curious, aren't you? Where can you find the answer to these and 1073 other questions about words? In this quiz book! Bonus chapters of X and Z words for Scrabble!
Where to Work Online
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,740. Language: English. Published: January 7, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Careers
(5.00 from 1 review)
A collection of legitimate work at home positions ranging from Assembly to Telemarketing and beyond; complete with tips, tricks, work at home resource links and much more. Compiled and written after years of work at home experience to help those wanting to break free of the traditional workforce.
YOU Can Become a Freelance Writer in 60 Days
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 21,090. Language: English. Published: January 18, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
This 99-page tutorial walks the novice writer through various methods to become a real freelance writer. These include: breaking through writer's block, acquiring clients, learning how to bill, and the challenges that all writers meet. It also discusses the importance of marketing and social media in today's society. The writer will come away with a comprehensive view of the writing industry.
Ace That Interview: Advice from a Real Recruiter
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,560. Language: English. Published: January 20, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Careers
(5.00 from 1 review)
A detailed how-to guide on resume writing and interviewing techniques directly from an actual recruiter. Written from years of hands-on experience with candidates and hiring managers, this book provides useful advice for your job search. Filled with practical tips and humorous, real-life stories.
How to Get a Job
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,860. Language: English. Published: March 31, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Personal & Practical Guides
(5.00 from 1 review)
A former recruiter discusses what it really takes to get a job in this down economy. Topics covered include why a resume objective may be deadly, buzzwords that should be included in online resumes,where to meet potential employers, how to behave at a networking event, the benefits of interning—even for adults long out of school, and finding work as an independent consultant until you get a job.
Guide To Writing & Publishing Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 55,210. Language: English. Published: May 27, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Want to write science fiction, fantasy, or horror? Want to be published for money? Don't want to wait forever to do it? Then Author Rob Shelsky’s Guide To Writing & Publishing Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror is a must read! Based on seven years’ worth of carefully researched articles, this is a practical guide, a simple, step-by-step process on how to write AND get your work published!
100 + Top Tips for Job Seekers
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 15,550. Language: English. Published: June 10, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Careers
(5.00 from 1 review)
Over 130 Top Tips presented in a snappy focused style about how to creat and run a successsful Job Search Campaign. It is likely the reader has either: 1) left full time education and cannot get a job 2) is out of work and looking for a job 3) is in a job but unhappy with how things are going in their organisation. 4) is returning to work having brought up a family
Stash Your Swag - 100+ Secret Hiding Places - Reference Handbook and Manual for Secret Hiding Places and Puzzles
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,540. Language: English. Published: June 14, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Games, puzzles and brain twisters
(5.00 from 1 review)
100+ Secret Hiding Places for under $50. This is a great book showing easy ways to stash stuff all over your house!
Disability Support Services Handbook
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,420. Language: English. Published: June 22, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Handbooks and Manuals
(5.00 from 1 review)
This is a handbook outlining the support services and policies for students with disabilities at Rochester Community and Technical College
How to Develop a Career as a Technical Writer
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,220. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2011 by YourWritingDept.com. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
With more than 20 years as a technical writer and communicator, Tom Guarnera explores what it takes to develop a career as a technical writer in today’s job market. Should an aspiring technical writer get a four-year English degree right after high school or should they spend a summer in Italy working as a dishwasher before going to college? Tom explains.