Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs

Sri Lankan and Zimbabwean Memories
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 62,460. Language: English. Published: January 3, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The book is a collection of autobiographical reminiscences of the author’s life, mainly in Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, written in a humorous, satirical style that makes the book interesting reading.It also relates, how in Zimbabwe, the author overcame racial prejudices and formed intimate, lasting friendships with members of the other communities.
Belonging
By
Price: Free! Words: 59,290. Language: English. Published: November 17, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Belonging traces Robert Fuller’s personal evolution and suggests that taking one’s questions seriously will lead to a life of meaning and purpose. Accompany Fuller as he meets with “somebodies” like Robert Oppenheimer, Indira Gandhi, Mikhail Gorbachev, David Bowie, John Denver, and President Jimmy Carter, and share in the wisdom he finds in people whom the world writes off as “nobodies.”
Smell the Blue Sky: Young, Pregnant, and Widowed
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 66,510. Language: English. Published: November 17, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
The day Valerie found out she was pregnant with her second child was the day her husband died. Smell the Blue Sky won the BRAG Medallion Honoree award in 2014 for Best Self-Published Books.
Inkslingers 2013: Memoirs of the Southwest
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,700. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2013 by Two Cats Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
An anthology of short-story memoirs about life in the Southwest. Twenty-two writers from the greater Phoenix, AZ, area (known as The Inkslingers) share memories from poignant to philosophical and everything in between to give you a flavor of life as they know it.
Memoirs of a Starving Artist: An Itinerant Writer's Journey through an Unconventional Life
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 101,930. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"Memoirs of a Starving Artist" follows the author's quest for meaning through art along with personal stories from an ex-pat life in locations all around the world, from Australia to Tahiti, Estonia to Budapest and beyond. The book also examines what it means to be a writer today with a look at the ebook revolution and the current state of publishing.
She's All Caught Up
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 125,270. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2013 by Voices International Publications Inc. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 1 review)
She's All Caught Up is a cautionary tale based on the life of Jamila T. Davis, a federal prisoner serving a 12 1/2 year sentence. Jamila grew up in a loving middle class home, raised to become her parent's ideal star child. All was copacetic until high school years. Jamila rebels and chooses to live life in the fast lane. When this good girl goes bad, it seems there is no turning back!
Somewhere Children Shout
By
You set the price! Words: 52,360. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Somewhere Children Shout takes you back to the life of a kid in the Catskills in the 1950s, a candid look at growing up in a town with one traffic light, and where picking up a bottle of milk had to be postponed until Monday. But for a kid in the fifth grade it was pretty close to perfect, a time and place for discovery.
Leaving the Hall Light On
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 86,940. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Leaving the Hall Light On charts the near-destruction of one middle-class family whose son committed suicide after a seven-year struggle with bipolar disorder. Author Madeline Sharples goes deep into her own well of grief to describe her anger, frustration and guilt. "Brave and Gritty." Story Circle Book Reviews. "Moving, intimate and very inspiring." Mark Shelmerdine, CEO, Jeffers Press.
Everything I Never Wanted to Be
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,810. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Everything I Never Wanted to Be is the true story of a family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. Any story filled with alcoholics and drug addicts includes a number of horrific events, but in the end, this is an uplifting story that can change behavior and save lives--and make you laugh along the way. "Raw and funny." -- Joel Stein, Time Magazine "Like a maelstrom." -- ForeWord Review
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Leading U: Inspirational Stories from UAlberta Alumni & Students
By
Price: Free! Words: 53,410. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Leading U assembles the stories of incredible University of Alberta alumni and students. Whether it's Randy Boissonnault, Brad Ferguson, Amy Shostak or Ashlyn Bernier, Leading U shares the on-campus experiences and reflections of the university's distinguished leaders. For incoming students looking to make their own mark on campus, this is a must-read.
Cinemanager… Confessions from the Movie Theatre
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 95,680. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 1 review)
Popcorn, Soda and Showbiz... Meet man in charge in the week running up to the biggest film release of the year as he tells all about the thieving staff, customers who love to queue, vomiting children and badly behaved parents. Missing films, burnt popcorn and a projection booth explosion all have to be handled… The show will go on, but how many more things can go wrong before release day?
The Rubber Knife Gang
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 57,780. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The Rubber Knife Gang is a funny, caustic, heart-wrenching series of essays written by a mother raising three boys in the wake of their father’s stunning decline. Amidst the maelstrom of his abuse, alcoholism, mental illness and abandonment, she writes of their plight with humor and pathos, as she charts their struggles and triumphs as they attempt to enter manhood without a map or compass.
Small Boy in the Sunshine
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 82,230. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Robert Brien grew up in the warm sunshine in South Africa before immigrating to Rhodesia and then further north to England. Bob's passion for life and desire to experiment in all manner of things makes you wonder how he has managed to survive through to such a ripe old age! His friends and family never quite know what he’s going to do next … Life is never boring in such company!
The Trek
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 67,360. Language: English. Published: September 5, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In The Trek, David Schachne takes readers with him on his harrowing attempt to reach the summit of Kala Patthar, in the Himalayas. It is a riveting, gut-wrenching account of his physical, emotional and spiritual odyssey, where you will encounter the most spectacular, awe-inspiring scenery on the planet, along with some of the most horrific physical conditions imaginable.
Amidst the Shadows of Trees: A Holocaust Child’s Survival in the Partisans
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 52,750. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2013 by Gihon River Press. Category: Nonfiction » History » Holocaust
Miriam M. Brysk’s memory is remarkably sharp, distinguishing this memoir from many others. At 7, she and her parents escaped the Lida ghetto to join Jewish partisans in the Lipiczany Forest. Hunted by German soldiers, she experienced childhood terror that lingers with her. Her father, a surgeon, saved hundreds of lives and helped build and supervise a partisan hospital in the swamps of the forest.
Singing to the Goldfish
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 85,810. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
After a teenage encounter with a clairvoyant reading her tarot cards Beverley Pettifar ran off to marry a dashing, handsome army sergeant major, only to be ostracised by her family. The eloping couple then embarked on a colourful odyssey around the world, seeing the British Empire in its dying days and collecting recipes for the dishes of Empire. And to eventual healing of the family rift.
Under His Watchful Eye
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 109,270. Language: English. Published: August 22, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
I had a feeling my husband was secretly watching me. With a peep-hole in the bathroom wall, a hidden surveillance camera, a mirror under the door to catch my reflection. Now I know that he really was watching me and these are only a few of the things that I discovered. This is a true story about my marriage and how I fought to keep it together - until I realized it was not worth fighting for.
Conformed, Reborn, Transformed: A Spiritual Journey
By
Price: Free! Words: 56,920. Language: English. Published: August 19, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Religion and Spirituality » Christianity
(4.00 from 1 review)
Conformed, Reborn, Transformed is one man’s true spiritual journey, a journey in which he encounters the various moments of life that made him question everything he had been taught. His experiences will resonate with anyone who is looking for meaning in a world of chaos. See what awaits you as you enjoy the journey to the center of a soul. http://www.conformedreborntransformed.com
First Moscow Show Trials 1931. Part II. Adrian Timofeev.
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 98,610. Language: American English. Published: August 18, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Moscow Show Trials were before The Great Purge. First Trials were created to explain the extreme persecution of wealthy peasants in Russia and Nepmen (people who was engaged in private enterprise during the New Economic Policy of the 1920s). This Trials had to explain other unsolvable problems of the Bolsheviks regime too.