Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs

Spinster of Science: A Memoir, From Girlhood To B.Sc. Graduate
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 161,720. Language: Canadian English. Published: November 16, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
A coming-of-age story about a girl with notions of becoming a scientist, to forward intelligent, sustainable human life on earth. What a gauntlet to run, overcoming stumbling blocks and thwartings without end. What an education, in how nature works, people behave, and human systems operate. What a graduation, into a world where science continues its many bad habits, to the detriment of all nature.
Memoirs of a Starving Artist: An Itinerant Writer's Journey through an Unconventional Life
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 101,930. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"Memoirs of a Starving Artist" follows the author's quest for meaning through art along with personal stories from an ex-pat life in locations all around the world, from Australia to Tahiti, Estonia to Budapest and beyond. The book also examines what it means to be a writer today with a look at the ebook revolution and the current state of publishing.
She's All Caught Up
By
Price: Free! Words: 125,270. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2013 by Voices International Publications Inc. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 1 review)
She's All Caught Up is a cautionary tale based on the life of Jamila T. Davis, a federal prisoner serving a 12 1/2 year sentence. Jamila grew up in a loving middle class home, raised to become her parent's ideal star child. All was copacetic until high school years. Jamila rebels and chooses to live life in the fast lane. When this good girl goes bad, it seems there is no turning back!
Privileged Witness
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 115,850. Language: British English. Published: November 6, 2013 by Geepy Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
A Patriot's Journey through Partition and the Independence of Pakistan
Once Upon A Road Trip
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 142,580. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2013. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Romance
*Think 'Eat, Pray, Love'...the teen version. A pre-life crisis on a shoestring budget. *A geeky girl goes on an unlikely 8-week adventure--encountering unexpected danger, wonderment, grief, and love. *A fiction-like retelling of a young woman's true story--made up of 3rd person narrative and actual journal entries.
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 141,300. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 1 review)
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy is a honest and frank portrayal of a working-class male prostitute’s life. Early abandonment, poverty, lack of education and sexual abuse delivered Paul onto the streets. But, ever optimistic, he does not dwell too much on the past. Without added glamour or grit, Paul shares the raw accounts of his life as a rent-boy in the 90s, from London to Los Angeles.
Cotton Field of Dreams: A Memoir
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 110,870. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Presidential Diarist Janis F. Kearney’s love letter to her parents TJ and Ethel Kearney. A coming of age memoir spanning three decades and chronicling the life and struggles of this cotton sharecropping family.
Gracias a la Vida
By
Price: $18.00 USD. Words: 196,720. Language: Spanish. Published: September 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Lillian Díaz Sol, desde 1975 dirige Pigmalion, la primera Escuela de Etiqueta, Protocolo e Imagen Personal en El Salvador. Su trabajo en el Servicio Exterior fue realizado en Estados Unidos, siendo Cónsul General para 14 Estados con sede en New Orleans de 1970-974. En la República de Panamá como Consejera Comercial y Cultural y luego como Encargada de Negocios de 2006-10.
A Secretly Handicapped Man
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 142,680. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Born over 80 years ago without feet & with only one hand, the author faced discrimination because he looked different, then he made the difficult choice to have his legs amputated which provided freedom from pain and a life free from snap judgment.
Prawners Down Under (Vol2)
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 127,990. Language: English. Published: August 29, 2013 by Bookpal Australia. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Prawners Down Under is a sprawling, rollicking book that recounts first hand the adventurous saga of Brian Bienke’s lifetime of fishing in the waters of Australia’s New SouthWales and Queensland’s tropical north.
Prawners Down Under (Vol1)
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 137,270. Language: English. Published: August 29, 2013 by Bookpal Australia. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Prawners Down Under is a sprawling, rollicking book that recounts firsthand the adventurous saga of Brian Bienke’s lifetime of fishing in thewaters of Australia’s New SouthWales and Queensland’s tropical north.Brian’s story follows four generations of his family from the 1920s untilthe present, sailing out of their home base of Byron Bay and thenBrunswick Heads, in northern New SouthWales.
The Story of Millard and Linda Fuller, Founders for Habitat of Habitat for Humanity and the Fuller Center for Housing
By
Price: $7.95 USD. Words: 104,960. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2013 by Bettie Youngs Book Publishers. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Non-profit business
Forty years ago Millard Fuller and his wife Linda left behind their materialistic lifestyle and crumbling marriage to start over as missionaries in Zaire. On returning to Georgia, they founded Habitat for Humanity—as their Christian ministry, started building houses for the poverty-stricken. Fired by the International Board in 2005, they immediately founded The Fuller Center for Housing.
Under His Watchful Eye
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 109,270. Language: English. Published: August 22, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
I had a feeling my husband was secretly watching me. With a peep-hole in the bathroom wall, a hidden surveillance camera, a mirror under the door to catch my reflection. Now I know that he really was watching me and these are only a few of the things that I discovered. This is a true story about my marriage and how I fought to keep it together - until I realized it was not worth fighting for.
All Too Human
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 116,270. Language: English. Published: August 13, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Celebrity biography
I came to this book as a hostile critic. I’d said I would review it and felt I ought to do so, but what do I care for a book by a black, English, kick-boxing champion who has spent time in prison. Now I care. It is a significant, thought provoking and entertaining piece of literature, potentially life changing and not far from masterpiece. Jeff Hunt – Humanist Society of New Zealand
Shattered Dreams - The True Story of A Young Woman Too Young To Die
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 117,290. Language: English. Published: August 5, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Shattered Dreams is a true story of one young womans heartbreak when told that she had just months to live due to complications giving birth to her baby boy.
Being Down, Looking Up: The Adventures of an Itinerant Shoeshiner
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 101,790. Language: English. Published: July 23, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Travel » By region
This book is about an unusual journey. A few years ago Rob Walters decided to become a shoeshine boy. He stowed his shoeshine kit, a tent, and a few items of clothing in a trailer, connected the trailer to his push bike and set off from Oxford to visit the old shoe-making cities of middle England. Along the way he polished many shoes and gained a fascinating insight into his own country.
Journey from San Rocco
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 138,440. Language: English. Published: July 16, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In post WWI Italy, a widow with four children is given the opportunity to travel to America to marry a wealthy widower. This may be her only chance for prosperity and happiness, but is she willing to accept his terms that she is to bring only one child for now to America? Based on the author’s family history, from 1918 to 2006, the dynamics of a family, separated and rejoined.
Autobiography of an Unknown Man
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 157,930. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The story of one man's life from his birth in war torn England in 1941, emigration to Namibia in 1951, school and University in Namibia and South Africa, creation of a major construction company during the Border War in Namibia, the company's collapse under apartheid and its effect on his family, making a new start as a contracts manager in the Far and Middle East and his retirement to Thailand.
Cheese Chronicles: The True Story of a Rock 'N' Roll Band You've Never Heard Of
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 118,350. Language: English. Published: June 28, 2013 by Teresa Medeiros. Category: Nonfiction » Music » Rock music
In 1985 Tommy Womack and three other guys formed a band called Government Cheese and hitched their sled to the rock and roll dream. Everything they packed for the trip—relationships, standards, their future—will get tossed or bounced off somewhere. They will know they could stop at any time, just by letting go of the dream. Under no circumstances whatsoever will they let go of the dream.