Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author

This Is Not the End
By
Price: Free! Words: 22,100. Language: English. Published: January 30, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
A couple decide to divorce themselves from mainstream culture in an attempt to find food and life for later years, a family watches home movies when all else has been taken, the mentally ill are guided by the voices of folk music, and a man discovers a life on a city bus that he’d never thought possible. Plus six more.
For The Love Of God
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 26,390. Language: English. Published: February 20, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(5.00 from 1 review)
For intelligent, literate Christians who dislike the bombast and apocalypticism of most religious fiction, and for Amiable Agnostics who occasionally feel the urge: Ten journeys in faith, replete with miracles, mysteries, gentle preachments, and the occasional what-if. Unlike other establishments, the doors of the church are never locked. All are welcome. All ye that labor, come unto Him!
Where Sheep May Safely Graze
By
Price: Free! Words: 17,250. Language: English. Published: January 16, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(3.00 from 2 reviews)
The cat stared up at him as though it knew all about the entry and he was being tiresome about it. Then it proceeded to have a bath, the kind of cello-playing bath one feels obliged to look away from unless one knows the cat well. A collection of short (some very short) stories and poems, mostly about New Zealand, or cats, or sheep.
Ken's Tale & the Peterson Dilemma - Desperate Prequels
By
Price: Free! Words: 8,390. Language: English. Published: May 31, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(4.00 from 2 reviews)
Ken Dahlgren watched the economy tumble. He knows the end is near. He and his wife plan for an economic cataclysm and stock their lake home with necessities. What Ken lacks are the guns to protect himself and Patty from the unknown. The search costs him dearly. The second story is about the rich Peterson clan, the moment after they realize they stayed in the city too long. Death is at their door.
A Man of Snow and Other Seasonal Stories
By
Price: Free! Words: 11,750. Language: English. Published: December 21, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
From nihilistic elves to tortured snowmen and cursed gifts, A Man of Snow and Other Seasonal Stories explores a different side to the holidays. These five tales will take you from the North Pole to an empty shopping mall on Christmas Eve, and even through the dark depths of the US Postal System. Whether you love the holidays or hate them, this is our gift to you.
PsychoHead Fiction Book One
By
Price: Free! Words: 8,250. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
A collection of short fiction; psycho-horror, supernatural, fantasy and psychotic behaviour.
A Peculiar Collection
By
Price: Free! Words: 20,200. Language: English. Published: April 19, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
From best-selling author Lisa Hinsley comes this peculiar collection of short stories with dark themes.
Tales of Ancient Rome Volume 1
By
Price: Free! Words: 31,200. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(5.00 from 1 review)
A collection of bite-size stories of varying styles all based in the world of ancient Rome. 12 tales of the ancient world, plus a bonus tale to finish. The second edition contains two new tales not told in the 1st.
The Boy Who Drew In The Mud and other parables
By
Price: Free! Words: 9,710. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2010. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Fairy tales & fables
(4.00 from 1 review)
A collection of short parables and poems, each with a purpose to purvey an overarching moral. For those who love Aesop's Fables and Grimm's Fairy Tales, these original stories continue the aged tradition of meaningful stories for both the young and old.
Romance, Crime, Good Food: The Kathleen Valentine Sampler
By
Price: Free! Words: 21,230. Language: English. Published: October 22, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
From Kathleen Valentine, author of the Amazon Top Ten Bestselling horror/psychological thriller, “The Crazy Old Lady In The Attic”, this sampler contains four complete short stories, two full essays from her Pennsylvania Dutch cookbook/memoir, plus eight recipes in their entirety. Each story is complete, not a partial sample.
Midnight Kiss: Three Romantic New Year’s Eve Stories
By
Price: Free! Words: 15,400. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Romance » Short stories
New Year’s Eve is a time for new beginnings, but also for reflecting on the past year; what we’ve achieved, what we’ve lost… who we’ve loved – or wanted to love. Midnight Kiss is a collection of three romantic short stories that capture the essence of New Year’s Eve, the bittersweet expectation of something new mixed with the fond remembrance of something old.
When Time Was
By
Price: Free! Words: 33,750. Language: English. Published: January 6, 2012. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
When Time Was brings memories of when time was simple, exciting and fun; a time when a day was a day long. But as we grow older, time does change. Life molds and shapes us from those times when time was. This is a collection of enjoyable stories to read. A time when times have changed and we wanted them to stay the same.
Dead Dwarves, Dirty Deeds
By
Price: Free! Words: 23,400. Language: English. Published: December 30, 2010. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Three hard-boiled short stories of crime and violence set in the technological excess of the 22nd century. Angel: A cybernetic hit-man escapes prison with the help of two strange men and a mysterious benefactor. Gift Horse: A mutiliated criminal kingpin returns to power in the Regional Atlanta Metroplex. Money is Everything: Street gangs hunt a deposed crime boss carrying a case of cash.
Night Strike
By
Price: Free! Words: 90,570. Language: English. Published: July 30, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
A compilation of thirteen short stories, featuring favorites like Mason Stone and the dynamic duo of Nick Jones and Corrie Albiston as well as one off shorts that date back to the earliest reaches of his writing. Now expanded with full notes and a proper table of contents.
Women and Monsters - Free Edition
By
Price: Free! Words: 67,960. Language: English. Published: September 16, 2011 by Bad Ducky Industries. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
This sampler of a collection of stories from Rhysling and Crawford Prize-nominated fantasy writer, J. M. McDermott embraces the surreal and hallucinatory traditions of Margaret Atwood's Penelopiad, and The World's Wife by Ann Duffy, to tell the stories that are always absent from the official books of history. Sing, Muse, for yourself.
A Cry in the Wind
By
Price: Free! Words: 36,460. Language: English. Published: June 17, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
The stories in A CRY IN THE WIND are seasoned with twists and turns that will take you on an adventure, as the unlocking of the truth that lay dormant for years in the grave finally rises to face its judgment. The ghost that lurks hidden in the words of the collection will carry you from the enchanted darkness of the night to the haunting “Cry in the Wind.”
Suitcase Tales
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,990. Language: English. Published: March 29, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(5.00 from 1 review)
A blend of quirky poetic tales containing real life issues that poke well beneath the surface of humanity. Dark humour. Poetic. Bordering on the absurd. Themes of control, paranoia, death, spiritualism, power, ignorance, poverty are portrayed through rich characterisation and strong imagery. A disturbing but sensuous read inspired by people watching at an airport.
9 Lives: Stories for Cat Lovers
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,220. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2011. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Animals
Let Dr. Rex Chartreaux, a mysterious professor and raconteur, take you on a journey through 9 stories of wonder, adventure, mystery, and terror, with cats playing a major role in each story. A must for fans of Lillian Jackson Braun, Rita Mae Brown, Agatha Christie and Frances Hodgson Burnett.
Midnight on Halloween
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 22,230. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2009. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
31 very short stories for those Halloween lovers counting down the days until midnight on Halloween. Find tales of living dough men and their pumpkin pets, marketers gone mad, the post-apocalyptic mosquito city, extreme gaming gone wrong, snake women and werecats, and more! Something for everyone. Perfect as a gift or for reading on the bus. Strange and provocative -- not your everday stuff!
DreamVision
By
Price: Free! Words: 21,330. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2010. Category: Fiction » Drama » American
A collection of short stories that will feed your imagination. These stories will introduce you to a world where things aren't quite as they seem. There is also a taste of poetry.