Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author

Beyond the Briar: A Collection of Romantic Fairy Tales
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 51,010. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2014. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fairy Tales
Four fairy tales are retold in radical new ways in this collection of romantic novelettes for young adult readers. In a tower in the desert, a young man is imprisoned by the lengths of his enchanted hair; a travelling storyteller is compelled to spin straw into gold; a blacksmith strives to reach his trapped sweetheart; and the boy who keeps house for his step-family adores the cobbler's daughter.
A Cozy Country Christmas An Anthology
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 27,700. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2014 by Melange Books, LLC. Category: Fiction » Holiday » Christmas
An anthology set in the country, all of the stories are about families, love, and the memories, hope and joy that are such an integral part of the holiday season.
The Shining Horrific: A Collection of Short Stories - Volume III
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 38,420. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2014. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
Behold, the third installment in 'The Shining Horrific' series of short story collections! Author A.A. Garrison once more transports us to the shadows with his "darkly radiant" brand of the macabre. Adhering to the standard set by the original two books, Garrison takes a passionate, cerebral spin on life's grisly side -- horror that asks questions, and often gets answers.
Only Horses and Fools
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 56,090. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2014 by Austin Macauley. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Only Horses and Fools is a charming collection of short stories which takes us on a journey from the wild plains of Argentina to Mark Milbank's beloved yet troubled Zimbabwe and ends up with more trouble when he arrives in England. Some of the stories are autobiographical; others fictional, but each one is entertaining and at times thought provoking.
Songs of a Second World
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 33,370. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2014 by Buzzword Books. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Is it possible to live not just one but two lives in parallel? The theme of this anthology is the world behind what we take as reality. These related stories, linked by reappearing characters, are mostly set in the elegant provincial city of Ballarat in Australia. Most have been published in magazines or journals and the collection has won ten literary awards.
Other Worlds: A Collection of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Epic Silliness
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 28,780. Language: English. Published: November 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
The new Science Fiction and fantasy anthology from the author of The Starhawk Chronicles, ranging from the serious to the silly.
The Vigil
By
Price: $7.77 USD. Words: 48,100. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Fictioanl short stories that involve waiting and other stories.
Collection of Fear - A horrific short story collection
By
Price: Free! Words: 68,450. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2014. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
This halloween why not sit back with Collection of Fear - A horrific short story collection. From ghosts, to time travel, an intergallactic battle for life and death, to a killer finding his groove again this book is sure to make the hairs on your neck stand up and pay attention. Ten stories have been written from scratch to keep you on the edge of your seat this Halloween.
The Land Is Peopled by Shadows: 9 Dark Tales
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 26,890. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Nine crime and soft science fiction stories about mothers and wives, fathers and husbands, children and families, including six stories previously published in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, Asimov's Science Fiction, Interzone, Judas Ezine and Futures Mysterious Anthology Magazine.
Ludhiana Diaries
By
Price: $1.30 USD. Words: 78,550. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Ludhiana Diaries is a collection of short stories, based in and around the city of Ludhiana. With a tinge of supernatural, the stories try to capture the spirit of the city along with telling a few interesting tales on the way.
The Nature of Love
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 23,280. Language: English. Published: October 23, 2014 by MoshPit Publishing. Category: Fiction » Romance » Short stories
The Nature of Love is a collection of short stories about real people. Their lives and experiences reflect the many paths we have all walked. By journeying down these roads once more, many of our memories will be re-experienced. The Nature of Love reinforces the importance of what the author has always believed—giving love to someone is special, sharing love with someone is pure magic.
Inflictions
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 92,170. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2014 by Crossroad Press. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
Welcome to the world of John McIlveen. Enter, please, but be warned… here you will find tales that blur the lines of horror, vengeance, humor, sorrow, and humanity. You will encounter broken people with dark secrets and darker desires. Meet Justice, whose art exposes your soul.
Happy HoHoHo
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 49,140. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2014 and represented by Durragraphix. Category: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
In time for the holidays, or any time you want a sweet escape, five of these stories are from Mary Maxie, and the sixth, is a children's story given to me to publish, by my friend Sandra Stanton Cotey.
Barnaby's Shorts (Volume Nine)
By
Series: Barnaby's Shorts. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 34,900. Language: British English. Published: October 21, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(4.33 from 3 reviews)
Ten tales which are just the right length to read in your coffee break, in the bath, or in bed. Emily finally finds a real man in 'The Problem with Beans', The Poacher's Inn quiz team discuss the finer points of cycling in 'The Dandy Horse' and there is another tale from the Vertigo labs in 'Whichcraft'. Humour, mystery, sci fi, romance and more in this new collection.
Guys Can Read
By
Series: Live-Fiction. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 55,630. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Men’s adventure
The eight stories in this collection have been selected because they each have something about them that appeals to male readers. Or might do. Not that females won’t like them, especially. Anyway, there’s no saccharine romance, no vampires and no soppy happy endings. But there are also no zombies, no dragons and no explosions.
Hauntings Once More
By
Series: Once More Series. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,500. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2014 by Tirgearr Publishing. Category: Fiction » Holiday » Halloween
A collection of haunting short stories: Beautiful Witch Catching the Sea Wind Day the Sea Stood Still Dress Rehearsal Free Fall Ghost Train Good Foot to Heaven Memories Are Made of This Merry Hell Night Lighter Other Cemetery Guide Pillar Box Freak Strictly Come Dying Sunday Ghost The Willows
Apathetic Flesh
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,130. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2014 by Books of the Dead Press. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
Apathetic Flesh is brimful of realistic characters immersed in nightmares hauntingly familiar for many of us, but it is to Godfrey’s credit that even the outlandish events you’ll uncover here are made believable by a distinct absence of melodrama and fanfare. These are real people, complete with anxieties and instabilities and in these stories, as in the real world, such things can be fatal.
Fiction on Command
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 52,930. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Not got time to sit down and read a novel? This book is packed with 23 different length stories to suit your free time. Fantasy, romance, and humour with a dash of horror will have you wanting to read on. Some of the tales take place in the USA while others are based in England. If you enjoy these works of fiction written on a theme, why not read the author's novels and novellas?
Snapdragon: And Six More Short Stories with Bite
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 28,680. Language: English. Published: October 19, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Written for fans of Alfred Hitchcock, Richard Matheson and The Twilight Zone, Snapdragon brings you 7 original stories ranging from creepy creatures to unlikely assassins and a few sudden surprises. These are stories to sink your teeth into. But let the reader beware: some of these tales just might bite back…
Away Games
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 73,710. Language: English. Published: October 16, 2014 by WordFire Press. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Want to know why Mike Resnick is the all-time leading award-winner for short fiction? Here are 17 sterling examples, as the 2012 Worldcon Guest of Honor turns his unique focus to sports.