Fiction » Mystery & detective

Sub-categories: General | Women Sleuths | Short Stories | Hard-Boiled | Police Procedural | Historical | Traditional British | Cozy | Amateur sleuth | International crime 
Cached Out
Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 159,840. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Book #2 in the Cliff Knowles Mysteries series. Retired from the FBI, Cliff Knowles takes up geocaching. While looking for a cache in the mountains he comes across a human skeleton. Soon he becomes a suspect in a seven-year-old homicide. When one of the investigators turns out to be an old flame, things get interesting.
Treachery In July
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 75,560. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
After the death of her husband in an unexplained hit-and-run accident, Caroline Kelly becomes head scientist and co-owner of BioMed, a cutting-edge research facility in Michigan. A series of unex-plained personal attacks lead her to one conclusion: someone wants her dead - before she can finish her husband’s potentially lucrative weight loss research.
Unsuspecting - A Detective Oliver Rousseau Novel
Series: A Detective Oliver Rousseau Novel, Book 2. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 90,660. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
A parent's nightmare - their daughter away at college in a safe environment becomes the target of a sadistic killer - who has killed before and gotten away with it. Townley writes page-turning suspense...A roller-coaster plot and savvy dialogue and when you least expect it she throws an explosive curve-ball. Unsuspecting doesn't disappoint.
Purpose
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 76,430. Language: British English. Published: October 4, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Traditional British
Sylvia pops out for some last minute shopping for her dinner party, little knowing her life is about to change forever. Frances waits by the phone for her mother's call. A tragedy which claims one life throws two others improbably together. Was this simply a tragic accident or a malicious act of violence? Who suffers most? The Killer? The Victim? Or the one left behind?
The Curse of the Seuso Treasures
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 51,230. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2012 by S.Back agency for hungarian literature. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
A mysterious murder of a young Hungarian soldier leads to the story of the famous Seuso Treasures of Roman times based upon a true story.
Two J's Investigations: Book One-Flight from Darkness
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 66,670. Language: Canadian English. Published: October 2, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
First in a series. After escaping from her abusive husband, Jennifer Jackson sets out to apprehend criminals through her investigative firm. With the help of Jonathan Lawson, she vows to help others who are trapped in similar situations.
Car Wrecks of the Great Central Road
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 79,430. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
(4.43 from 7 reviews)
At any age, in any age, we could all fall by the highway of life. Charlie and Angel are two such teenagers, who break the monotony of their foster home life by breaking into houses. When a burglary goes wrong, they escape in a stolen van along the Great Central Road. What follows, just as they are beginning find somewhere to belong, is murder and a ruthless international crime syndicate.
An Older Evil
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 95,810. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2012 by MuseItUp Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Medieval, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
In the spring of 1386 trouble is brewing, murderous trouble…
The Shredded Veil Mysteries
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 50,800. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2012 by Knotted Road Press. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
December 21st, 2012 hadn't been the end of the world, but the Great Unraveling. The veils between the Seen and Unseen worlds shredded. The living learned they weren't alone. Andy had seen it all, done it all, as a detective working Vice when he'd be alive. Now, as a ghost, he works as a private investigator. Come explore the mysteries of Heaven and Hell, of cameras with souls and others.
Florida Heat
Price: Free! Words: 96,440. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
(4.58 from 12 reviews)
Florida heat is murder - and in FLORIDA HEAT the bodies are stacking up at an alarming rate. From the moment Probation Officer Jo Cazimer witnesses a murder her life is in jeopardy. Working with her best friend Detective Kate Snow they struggle to identify the killer. But in Florida the snakes slither, the gators are hungry and a serial killer is on the loose.
Broke: An Imogene Duckworthy Mystery
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 63,900. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
(5.00 from 1 review)
Imogene Duckworthy, PI assistant, wants to be on her own. She finds a rental house where her four-year-old daughter’s pet pig, Marshmallow, is allowed. The rumors are that the house is haunted. It's no rumor there's a dead man in the bathtub when she inspects the house. A long-lost relative is the logical suspect, but can Immy let her Uncle Dewey be railroaded for a crime he maybe didn't commit?
The Mourning Woman
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 88,320. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome
In the time that has passed since MANDARIN YELLOW, Socrates' father has died and his mother has returned to her Greek origins, moving into a condominium populated by elderly Greek immigrants, including one woman who is reputed to be the direct descendant of the ancient Oracle at Delphi. And that is where Socrates' problems begin...
Once She Knew
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 90,730. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2012 by Beyond the Page Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
From New York Times bestselling mystery author Sheila Connolly comes a brand-new book that blends her skillful mystery talents with a touch of romantic suspense. There’s no doubt this book will appeal both to her current mystery audience as well as those readers who love authors like Lisa Gardner or Karen Rose.
The Yukon Grieves for No One
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 92,550. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Lydia Falkner returns to her remote cabin on the Yukon River to find that her beloved friend and neighbor, Frank Johnson, has been brutally murdered. The only clues are the old homesteader’s own cryptic remarks and a mysterious file. Lydia’s search for the killer carries her up and down the mighty Yukon and into the vast and beautiful wilderness of the Yukon and Northwest Territories and Alaska.
The God Killer
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 86,140. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay
(4.00 from 1 review)
The first victim is hung in crucifixion position, and Detectives Dylan Black and Vivienne Sheffield are baffled by strange words and wolf hair left at the scene. The second murder is even more bloody and bizarre. While the detectives search for answers from the zoo to the morgue, Black finds himself entangled in a secret relationship with Trevor that may alter the killer's next move.
The Manifest Destiny Network Chronicles, Book 2: Rise of the Regional Station
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 52,790. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
Daniel has discovered who killed his parents. Although grateful, Daniel's grandmother wants no revenge and expects Daniel to seek clemency for her daughter's killers, thrusting Daniel into the awkward role of witness for the defense. At the same time, Daniel is anxious to show that his parents were not responsible for Luke Fisher's death which triggered the revenge killings.
Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One)
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 55,590. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Crime's an ugly constant in the big city. L.A. Chicago. New York. But when a savage murder brutalizes a small town and neighbor turns on neighbor, a tough-as-nails cop is essential to restoring order. Blood Land is a gritty, emotional saga set in the Wyoming badlands with both greed and vengeance at its core.
The Voting Machine
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 93,350. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
It’s election season in Las Vegas and someone is murdering voters. Two local activists from opposite ends of the left-wing/right-wing divide are killed inside electronic voting machines at Clark County polling centers. Temo McCarthy, a voter registration volunteer from Los Angeles, assists the FBI as they link the killings to a broader terrorist attack on the general election.
Strangers' Journey (Путешествие посторонних)
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 118,140. Language: Russian. Published: September 29, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
(4.80 from 5 reviews)
Mark is a radio presenter haunted by false memories of a war that never happened. The only person he tells about his "visions" is Eva, a bright young trainee. One day she disappears... Mарк одержим воспоминаниями о войне, которой не было. Единственный человек, которому он рассказывает о своих "видениях" - это Ева, молодая практикантка. Но она исчезает, и найти ее в мире Марка невозможно.
The Tour Bus of Doom (Spam and the Zombie Apocalyps-o)
Series: Spam the Cat, Book 3. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 70,140. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2012 by Gypsy Shadow Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
First came the vampires. After all the movies promoting our neck of the woods (the Olympic National Forest, to be exact) as being ideal for the undead, out of town vampires arrived. I helped deport some of them, since they were Canadian, but even I’ll admit Spam, Vampire Deporter just doesn’t have the sound bite—pardon the expression—that slayer does.