Fiction » Literature » Literary

Simple Machines
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 60,290. Language: English. Published: August 24, 2014 by Slaughter House Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » War
Master Sergeant Joseph Cevera is a respected man, decorated hero and feared leader of one of the most highly trained and lethal army units in the Afghanistan conflict. What happens when the unbreakable is broken? We see this erupting world through the eyes of a seasoned warrior as he is pushed to the edge of his humanity.
Belle City
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 185,830. Language: English. Published: August 11, 2014 by Whitepoint Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
This saga of love, land and loss is told from the disparate perspectives of Ruth Thatcher, who is Black, and Jonas Thatcher, who is White, and spans nearly a century. During the course of their lifetimes, Ruth and Jonas-- and their respective families have prospered-- but it is left for their descendants to come to grips with the long-unacknowledged truth that the two families are actually one.
Left Turn at Cloud 9
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 77,790. Language: English. Published: July 25, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Still stinging from an unhappy divorce, Emma can only dream of soaring to new heights, until an unexpected package arrives on her doorstep. How does a confirmed recluse juggle attractive men, priceless Russian jewels, ageless relatives, angry fathers, and tea that has rather… curious properties? What would you do if you inherited a century's worth of mysteries?
The Rose of Cikembang
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 42,650. Language: English. Published: June 2, 2013 by Typhoon Media. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
First published in 1927 as Bunga Roos dari Tjikembang, Kwee Tek Hoay’s The Rose of Cikembang is an excellent example of the so-called peranakan literature of the Netherlands East Indies that flourished between 1900 and the Japanese Occupation beginning in 1942. Highly sentimental in tone, the novel is rich in many of the controversial themes that Kwee was famous for.
The Undergraduates: an aftermath of love
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 79,440. Language: English. Published: December 26, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.80 from 5 reviews)
Shawn sits at the edge of his bed, staring out his third floor window; a married woman is asleep under his covers. He begins to reflect with a mix of nostalgia and despair on this situation, on his recently dissolved relationship, on tomorrow, on yesterday. Cinematic and literary, The Undergraduates brims with truth and immediacy climaxing with a wildly powerful commentary on our urban condition.
Time Like Masks
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 4,420. Language: English. Published: September 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literary collections » Native American
"Time Like Masks" is a contemporary short story about a boy who confronts his worst fear through the help of a distant relative and a lost Cherokee custom. "Time Like Masks" is the short story that leads Oscar Hokeah's novel-in-collection, Reflections on the Water.
The Marriage Tree
By
Price: $7.95 USD. Words: 116,660. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2014 by HeavenLakePress. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
It’s okay for Thais to believe in ghosts—it’s their birthright. But why is Vincent Calvino seeing ghosts, and why are they so angry? Calvino is haunted by a series of deaths in Rangoon and Bangkok, when he stumbles onto a new murder case—but is it a new case, or an old one returned from the dead? A murder investigation leads Calvino inside an underworld network smuggling Rohingya ...
AfterZoe
By
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 99,440. Language: English. Published: August 31, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.50 from 2 reviews)
Zoe’s not completely happy with the way her life has turned out but she’s even less impressed with her death. She finds herself in a place of perpetual contentment and bureaucratic rules administered by the pragmatic Angela. Zoe finds herself wrestling with the nature of relationships, the possibility of identity without memory and what it would take to be happy for eternity.
She Sings of Old, Unhappy, Far-off Things
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 83,890. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Lesbian
(5.00 from 1 review)
Margaret Braithwaite, a fifty-ish professor, lives in the shadow of her famous husband, Gavin, who is terminally ill. When he hires Wyck Fitzsimmons to restore his gardens, Margaret slowly realizes her heart can feel love again. Gavin, though, is determined not to let death stop him from holding onto his wife. Love can take root in the most barren hearts, if Margaret and Wyck can let it grow.
Secrets from the Black Bag
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 61,550. Language: English. Published: April 14, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Educational
All over the planet - from Pakistan to Tanganyika, from Scotland to Australia - doctors carrying their little black bags enter the private worlds of patients as they struggle with the business of living and dying.
Yours Affectionately, Jane Austen
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 89,610. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Was Mr. Darcy real? Is time travel really possible? Eliza Knight thinks so. But can Fitz Darcy, The Man Who Loved Jane Austen love ordinary Eliza Knight? Things begin to happen in Chawton, England that could change everything. Will the beloved author be the wedge that divides or the tie that binds Eliza Knight and Fitz Darcy?
My Dear Charlotte
By
Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 53,990. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
A British Regency murder mystery/romance set in 1815, written “with the assistance of Jane Austen’s letters.” Balls, visits, courtships, gossip (and murder, of course!). Especially for readers who love Jane Austen, Sharon Lathan, Georgette Heyer and Barbara Pym.
La puta que leía a Jack Kerouac
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 31,090. Language: Spanish. Published: May 5, 2012 by Literaturas Comunicacion SL. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
El encuentro entre una escritora y una joven prostituta va entreabriendo poco a poco la puerta de una turbia historia, en la que todos los personajes tienen algo que reprocharse. Todos ellos, en algún momento, se han dejado llevar por sus instintos, por sus pasiones, por sus rencores, también, y por sus odios.
Departure
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 111,880. Language: American English. Published: October 2, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Hannah and Zeke quit their jobs in mid-career and parachute themselves into the bewildering landscape of Greece of the 1980's. It's just a few years after Greece has joined Europe, and decades before finding itself in the economic and political doghouse. This is the story of Hannah's discoveries of Greek culture, ancient and modern, and what she learns about herself and her American past.
PANGEA: Tower Hearts
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 52,570. Language: English. Published: December 1, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
They never thought that the symbols of their love could carry so much power. Jesse and Evelyn faithfully nurture their taboo relationship (despite, and with, the 'help' of supernatural forces) while uncovering the dark secrets of their families' pasts. The bond between the two could be the only hope in erasing global segregation and returning the great First Pyramid to its former glory.
Something Brilliant
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 54,880. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 1 review)
James has cerebral palsy, people don't understand what he says and so he's stopped trying. He's eighteen and just been placed in a strange and degrading institution but there he meets Sally who turns everything on its head. Challenging at times but ultimately uplifting and funny along the way, this is the story of how James and Sally fall in love and set their world to rights.
Our Dance
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,130. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
"Our Dance" follows the triumphs and failures of two cousins as they turn eighteen-years-old and receive a "per cap" from the Kiowa Tribe. Deep tribal kinships center these young men as they take their first steps into adulthood.
Where the HeArt is
By
Price: $4.95 USD. Words: 54,070. Language: English. Published: January 22, 2012. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Lesbian
(4.00 from 1 review)
Will travel fix Ann's broken life? Suddenly bereft of both partner and job, Ann needs to find a new direction. Connecting frayed threads of family and finding herself in what she calls "art events" in America is rewarding, but no preparation for the totally unexpected—in more ways than one—things that happen in London. Ann returns home to New Zealand both shaken and stirred.
Relationship
By
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 5,650. Language: English. Published: December 13, 2011 by patternGraphic DigiBooks. Category: Fiction » Poetry » South Asian and Indian poetry
Jayanta Mahapatra needs no introduction. Any discussion on Indian English Poetry is incomplete without reference to his poetical works. Mahapatra holds the distinction of being the first Indian English poet to have received the Sahitya Akademi Award for the current book "Relationship". "his international reputation has been compared to that of Wordsworth..." The Hindu, Sunday, Jan 29, 2006
Jellicle Girl
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 76,220. Language: Canadian English. Published: August 12, 2012 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Evolved Publishing presents "Jellicle Girl" by Stevie Mikayne, a story about the blurred lines of love and friendship, and how one young woman copes with the permanent consequences of a reckless mistake. ~ FINALIST: National Indie Excellence Book Awards - 2014: Gay, Lesbian & Transgender Fiction