Fiction » Literature » Literary

Accidental Child
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 62,720. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A futuristic, dystopian novel in the tradition of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Piercy's Woman on the Edge of Time
The Odyssey of Kostas Volakis
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 84,970. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
"Every man's life is an Odyssey; it does not matter if the body remains rooted in one place, for it is the heart and the spirit that journey to Ithaca." So speaks Father Marias, the close friend and the wise spiritual adviser to Kostas Volakis - the hero whose own Odyssey gives sweep, power, and vision to this novel of Greek-Americans in the first part of the 20th century.
Collages
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 38,200. Language: English. Published: February 26, 2012 by Sky Blue Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Collages is Anaïs Nin’s last work of fiction, and is, as the title suggests, a collection of interwoven stories. Collages is Nin’s most light-hearted writing, and, in that sense, is perhaps her most entertaining book. As Henry Miller commented, “The best of collages fall apart with time; these will not.”
The Painting of Porcupine City: A Novel
By
Price: $4.89 USD. Words: 117,080. Language: American English. Published: January 19, 2013. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay
Sexy and sweet, gritty and gut-wrenching, "The Painting of Porcupine City" takes readers on a graffiti-covered adventure spanning years and hemispheres and miles of painted walls. From the author of "The Cranberry Hush."
Plenilune
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 242,000. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: October 19, 2014. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic
The fate of Plenilune hangs on the election of the Overlord, for which Rupert de la Mare and his brother are the only contenders, but when Rupert’s unwilling bride-to-be uncovers his plot to murder his brother, the conflict explodes into civil war.
The Holmes Boys: Sherlock and Mycroft
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 154,270. Language: English. Published: February 27, 2012 by UCS PRESS. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Traditional British
(5.00 from 1 review)
This e-book, by agreement with Galde Press, contains the entire contents of The Childhood of Sherlock Holmes by Mona Morstein and first published by Galde Press in 2000. The book has been repackaged as The Holmes Boys: Sherlock and Mycroft. Morstein's original work was critically acclaimed. It is UCS PRESS' hope that this "repackaged" edition will widen the reading audience for this epic work.
Marina (Originala romano en Esperanto)
By
Price: $6.95 USD. Words: 58,650. Language: Esperanto (original orthography with diacritics). Published: August 6, 2014 by Mondial. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Moderna originala romano en Esperanto: Marina kaj Tomas: du svedoj kun malsamaj originoj, kun sortoj malsamaj,kies padoj jen krucas sin jen malkuniĝas. Neatenditaj eventoj kaj revelacioj formas ilian rilaton, ĝis Marina malaperas - kaj eĉ poste...
Le Babouchier Migrateur
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 31,020. Language: French. Published: May 19, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Dans une stridence de métal, le train s’engagea sur un splendide pont suspendu dont les grandes voiles treillissées de titane laissaient chanter leur armature au vent...
Carl Melcher Goes to Vietnam
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 69,370. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2009. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
“Clayton has written an effective cautionary tale.” - The Washington Post. “Clayton’s strong character writing carries the book.” - Publishers Weekly. Carl Melcher Goes to Vietnam was a finalist at the 2001 Frankfurt eBook Awards along with works by Joyce Carol Oates (Faithless) and David McCullough (John Adams).
Between Trains
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 196,590. Language: English. Published: June 9, 2013. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
It might be tomorrow. The progressive degenerative disorder of today’s world has advanced, and one young man embarks on a journey to discover who stole his future, or at least to understand the causes of its demise. On his way he encounters vagabonds and outlaws and one enigmatic woman who might be the key to the understanding he seeks—or perhaps the vehicle of its destruction.
Still On Herring Cove Road: Hickory, Dickory, Death
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 66,550. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
The first murder of child raised eyebrows, the second raised alarms. Ten-year old Dewey is moving, and he couldn't be more excited; though, he's alone in his enthusiasm. Lisa, his mother, and recently retired Avriel, his next door neighbour and best buddy, don't share his excitement regarding the move to a lower-class neighbourhood where two murders have recently occurred.
Build a Blue Fire
By
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 78,430. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Steina's brother has died unexpectedly - how will she tell their reclusive mother? She can't, so she doesn't. Which means making sure that no one in the Icelandic fishing village where they grew up tells her either. Not to mention pretending that he's still alive, facing up to family secrets and dealing with the delusions of a complete stranger. She does none of this well.
Complete Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 25,400. Language: English. Published: March 4, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
A collection of literary short fiction, Complete Child looks at a variety of contemporary urbanites who find sometimes the only way past a baffling situation is through it.
Lucid Dreaming - October 2014
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 9,020. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2014. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
Enter our dreams and ask afterwards if it was just a dream. We include selected short stories and vignettes in various genres from writers across the country. Quality is the only criteria for inclusion. The October issue includes, "The Circle,” where a movie guides a father's end of life actions and “Secret Weapon,” where a visitor to Earth has an interesting offer for a man.
The Millennium Box
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 13,690. Language: English. Published: October 24, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Winner of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association fiction prize, this atmospheric novella was inspired by what the author found while hiking on San Juan Island in Puget Sound. Down a little used forest service road, there is a mausoleum with Knights Templar buried in it. All of this is public knowledge. But so much else is not known.
Bully - Projet Bradbury, #14
By
Series: Projet Bradbury, Book 14. Price: $1.30 USD. Words: 6,900. Language: French. Published: November 20, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays
Baldur — surnommé "Bully" par ses parents et ses camarades de classe — n'est pas tout seul dans sa tête. Obnubilé par la célébrité, il s'imagine filmé 24 heures sur 24 par un caméraman imaginaire qui capte le moindre de ses faits et gestes. Cette gloire toute relative est une consolation lorsqu'il se fait taper dessus par les brutes du collège.
En laisse - Projet Bradbury, #43
By
Price: $1.30 USD. Words: 6,150. Language: French. Published: June 10, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Ferdinand est un humain modèle : chaque matin, il emprunte les transports en commun pour se laisser transbahuter jusqu'à son boulot, comprimé dans son costume trop serré et le coeur en miettes de s'être fait rattraper par le quotidien. Mais ce matin-là, une affiche placardée sur le quai le tire de sa somnolence : peut-on vraiment laisser toute responsabilité derrière soi pour changer de vie ?
The Awful Mess: A Love Story
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 87,490. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2014. Category: Fiction » Women's fiction » General
A lonely divorcee gets caught up in the lives of an unhappily-married Episcopal priest and a handsome town cop before a crushing job loss, a scandalous pregnancy, and a deteriorating ex threaten all she has left. In this witty, often affectionate tale of small town life, Mary discovers that the connections we make can result in terrifying risks, as well as unexpected blessings. Has adult themes.
The Baer Boys
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 109,420. Language: English. Published: April 11, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
After twenty five years of not making it as an actor, Darin returns home to take care of his recently widowed father. When he lands a long term substitute teaching job at his old high school he finds that it comes with more than the promise of a much needed paycheck.
Establishing Witness
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,170. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Alternative history
the halfwit is dead, the church folk are assembled and the pump organ is wheezing out hymns. In short, the stage is set for vernie lee hurlow, grandmother of the “poor little fellow” laid out in her living room, to declare her revelation, one she has been carrying for fifteen years. but in this story the suspense of her wait leads to an entirely different revelation than the one she anticipated.