Fiction » Literature » Literary

Hollywood Assistant
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 64,970. Language: English. Published: September 11, 2013. Category: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
A Hollywood superstar suffers a mental collapse, her marriage is falling apart, her career is on the ropes and the only one keeping it all together is her loyal assistant and friend, Darryl. Problem is, he's kind of in love with her. Soon he finds himself drawn into a story that is much like the movies his employer stars in. But in real life the answers aren't in the script...
Sleep Has No Master
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 42,780. Language: English. Published: July 12, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Can we tell the difference between our dreams and reality? In his latest collection of short stories and flash fiction, Jon Konrath dances between metafiction and nihilism in an absurdist world of geek culture that form the 27 fast-paced stories in Konrath's bizarro compendium.
The Wake-Up Call
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 67,760. Language: English. Published: September 8, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
On the surface he has it all: the women, the career, and the Central Park view penthouse, but behind his well-groomed and chiseled facade he has nothing. At least this is what he's about to realize. Find out how Jack gets his life-changing wake-up call in this fast-paced, heartfelt and funny novel about soul-searching, friendship, and love.
The Painting of Porcupine City: A Novel
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 117,080. Language: American English. Published: January 19, 2013. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay
Sexy and sweet, gritty and gut-wrenching, "The Painting of Porcupine City" takes readers on a graffiti-covered adventure spanning years and hemispheres and miles of painted walls. From the author of "The Cranberry Hush."
Wilderspool Vaults
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 112,110. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Private detective Andy James returns to an 18 year old unsolved case. In previously considering the alternative ideology of a group calling themselves 'the grapevine' he uncovered, but failed to explain, the disappearance and possible murder of their leader. In returning to his questioning of key members of the grapevine Andy James comes to question their questioning of convention.
Mug Half-full
By
Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 2,050. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A short story about an encounter between two people in a coffee shop who discover that they have something in common.
I'd Never Been Shot for Real Before
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,160. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
I’d Never Been Shot for Real Before takes readers through a post-9/11 world of sex clubs, bankruptcy cubicle farms and guns that definitely go off. This blackly comic short story will be a favourite for fans of Please, Peter Darbyshire’s award-winning and critically acclaimed first book.
A Strange One
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,460. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2012 by Mendicant Bookworks. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Mendicant Bookworks presents literary short fiction by Pushcart nominee William Taylor, Jr.
Thank You for Ten: Short Fiction About a Little Theater
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 30,850. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
The Little Dionysus Playhouse, like all community theaters, is a different place every day, as different people with different goals come in and out doing their thing. The ten stories in this collection explore both the drama and the comedy that happen in a community playhouse, both on and off the stage.
If You Go Into The Woods
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,020. Language: English. Published: April 30, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.92 from 26 reviews)
If You Go Into The Woods is a collection of two unsettling short stories. In the title story, Jiri Beranek is drawn to a nearby forest, but each time he enters, his desire to see the mysterious birds is checked by his fear of the dark. When he finally forces himself to go farther, he find a new reason to be afraid. Plus bonus story: The Reset Button. Total length 4000 words.
Never Apologize; a Dream of New York City
By
Price: $1.49 USD. Words: 8,250. Language: English. Published: December 25, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Richard Burley is suffering from writer's block, and takes a long bike ride to clear his head. He covers more ground than he'd ever imagined possible, as the first snow of the season begins to fall, and he is confronted by possibilities he'd never considered before.
Down at the End of the River
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 43,050. Language: English. Published: December 16, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 10 reviews)
In these ten stories, Angus Woodward gives us a tour of south Louisiana as his characters tiptoe out of the corners into which they have painted themselves.
Palawan Story
By
Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 70,580. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Under the cover of darkness, Kim, a young girl, is put by her mother on a crowded fishing boat to escape Vietnam. The derelict boat drifts for two weeks on the South China Sea before reaching Palawan, a refugee camp in the Philippines. There, an American immigration officer mistakes Kim for a sponsored orphan with the same name and sends her to America.
The Sense of Touch
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 44,260. Language: English. Published: July 16, 2014 by Aqueous Books. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.64 from 11 reviews)
Sprung from the variously lush, rugged, and frozen emotional landscapes of the north country, this luminous collection of stories captures the progress of a diverse ensemble of souls as they struggle to uncover themselves and negotiate a meaningful communion, of any kind, with the world around them.
Scar Jewelry
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 87,710. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(5.00 from 5 reviews)
What do we really know about our parents or the ways they shape us? For twins Deirdre and Langston, 20, the answer is: not enough. With their father long dead, and their mother now in a coma, they realize they don't even know whom to notify. In fact, they understand almost nothing about their mother. They delve into her life and uncover secrets that revise the past and transform the future.
Anchored Leaves
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 91,260. Language: English. Published: March 22, 2013. Category: Fiction » Women's fiction » General
Vicious dogs named Waldo, love potions, lost souls overflow an old house with haunting memories. Beautifully written, heartbreaking to read.
Existence Is Futile
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 52,470. Language: British English. Published: August 18, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
There are three things which can irrevocably change a man's life - the death of a loved one, a moment of revelation and saying the wrong thing at precisely the wrong time. Unfortunately for Professor Henry Tomlinson, he has recently experienced all three. And it's those experiences which threaten to push him over the edge.
Chốn Cũ
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 59,030. Language: Vietnamese. Published: May 31, 2012 by Kệ Sách eBook. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Song Thao Chốn Cũ tập truyện ngắn Copyrighted by Song Thao Published by Kệ Sách eBook Publishing Center 2012 Smashwords edition ISBN: 978-1-4524-2959-5
The Rock Star in the Mirror (or, How David Bowie Ruined My Life)
By
Price: $1.29 USD. Words: 6,210. Language: English. Published: October 24, 2012. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(4.00 from 7 reviews)
Joe is a small-town Oregon guy. He's madly in love with Lynnie ... who has a huge crush on David Bowie. Joe will do almost anything to get Lynnie's attention, but there are always consequences.
All On Zero
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 84,250. Language: English. Published: July 14, 2014 by Paper Publishing (PP) Limited. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
The game goes on, the roulette is spinning and the stakes are high. Will they risk it all, if that means they might win the jackpot of a lifetime?