Fiction » Literature » Literary

Thoughts Left Unsaid
By
Price: Free! Words: 5,270. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
David and Phil, friends since college, have recently had rough patches in their marriages, including an affair. Though they’ve never been the type to discuss intimate personal problems, David feels the need to unburden himself to Phil. As they play pool and have a few beers, David recounts recent events in his life while wondering how much, if anything, he should tell his friend.
Wildcat
By
Price: Free! Words: 26,710. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Wildcat is a book that has been banned by the United Auto Workers International Union: General Motors and the United Auto Workers lock horns in this tale of a go-for-broke wildcat strike. Wildcat is set in Vietnam-era, 1970 Ohio at a General Motors stamping plant--lots of laughs and labor history, and a not-nostalgic look at what Vietnam cost us all.
Greased Wits
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 53,290. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
When Jason Singleton and Asher Williams come out of the closet, their friends and family have mixed reactions. As the couple copes with those reactions, Jason's mother, Martha, struggles to hold her family together while confronting deeper and darker family secrets from her childhood.
Cowboy Maloney's Electric City
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 4,330. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Short Fiction from Michael Bible
The Rise & Fall of Basskick
By
Series: The Prodigal Sons. Price: Free! Words: 4,630. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
"The year I turned forty was the year it hit me at last that I wasn't going to make it as a rock star." Getting old is a nasty realization to have to make. But when our hero small-town buddies got together to form a hard-rock band a decade and a half ago, they had something. A kind of magic. Can they grab that magic again, years later? A follow-on to the novel The Prodigal Sons (also an ebook).
On Cloud 9
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 48,270. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Maya is the main character of this fictional book. She is going through her dark days. At the right time of her life, she comes across Guruji—a man of wisdom—and various other women who impact her. Sunshine returns back into her life. This book is woven with mysticism, imagery, poetry, philosophy, and practical solutions where you will discover answers to the most vital aspect of your life.
Sarah's Story
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 94,490. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Category: Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » African
Sarah’s Story takes an unflinching look at the the bitter apartheid years. Sarah Khumalo is a farm worker, who works all her life for the Crewe family on their smallholding in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. Her family story is the story of the Poqo uprisings, forced removals, small town consumer boycotts, change and murder. The novel won the 1996 Bertram’s Literature of Africa Award.
The Lesbian Thespian
By
Price: Free! Words: 2,350. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Herb Wanamaker and Kit Calhoun share a mutual disgust for the light-skinned Negro who never cleans up after her Great Dane at the dog park. For the lonely widower and lesbian actress it’s a textbook case of Jungian synchronicity.
Soldier, Lily, Peace and Pearls
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 78,910. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2011 by Deux Voiliers Publishing. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
The novel spans the period from 1975 to the present day. Two children and their families become the victims of persecution when the Communists take Phnom Penh and Saigon. Three years later, they meet in a refugee camp in Malaysia where the boy, Quan, becomes the protector of his adopted sister Minh Chau.
The Moon Tonight Feels My Revenge
By
You set the price! Words: 8,120. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2011 by Keyhole Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
One-man black metal bands and stories, a short collection of short stories by Matthew Simmons.
I & Thou
By
Price: Free! Words: 2,460. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Since going on birth control in middle school, Celeste has been on a bit of a lascivious tear, but all that sexual carnage is coming to an abrupt halt when she meets the Hassidic Jew.
Broken
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 119,920. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2011. Category: Fiction » Romance » General
Broken is the bittersweet journey of a man desperately trying to come to terms with his wife’s suicide only to discover that he never truly loved her, but loved another woman instead.
Napping on Jungle Time
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,630. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Motherhood isn't for the weak. Especially when the mom in question has been up all night caring for a sick child. Sometimes taking a leaf from Tarzan's jungle, and sleeping with one eye half open is the only option.
Welcome to Shangri-La, North Carolina
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 33,010. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
This is a short story collection is from award-winning Carolina writer, Dawn DeAnna Wilson. One of the short stories in the collection, "The Shangri-La Chamber of Commerce Welcomes You," was a semi-finalist for the Doris Betts Fiction Prize.
BIG DREAMS little man
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 175,540. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Fist fights, a car wreck and being shot at have frayed 17 year old Daniel Crosscups’ nerves. He doesn’t want to kill anyone, but murder seems like the only way he’ll get any sleep. A drug dealer has threatened Daniel’s family and his best friend wants help committing suicide. A work of literary fiction.
The Savior of Turk
By
You set the price! Words: 98,720. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
A porn store, 200 ft. Jesus and a fainting kid from India. Just another day in Turk, Missouri.
Sweet Land of Mine
By
Series: Sweet, Book 2. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 49,150. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2011. Category: Fiction » Romance » General
Ruth's story from "Sweet Farm of Mine" continues. As her father Arlan's distraction with the lively widow and neighbor Gretta continues, Ruth finds plenty of challenge in managing their farm on her own and teaching. But Gretta is like a breath of fresh air, making Ruth aware of changes she needs to make. Moua and Sting, Hmong wanting to become farmers, become a big help to Ruth and Arlan.
Rocky Road
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,830. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Rocky Road is a mini-collection of four short stories, all set in the South. The characters include an angry snapping turtle named Rocky, a mother and cross-dressing son who like to frequent psychic fairs, and a doctor who has changed his (or her) appearance dramatically since the last checkup.
Dawn
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,380. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Adam Westing is an ardent skeptic in a world of believers, but when he witnesses a tragedy on Christmas Eve, he inherits a trinket that makes him reconsider his perspective.
Cooler than Jesus
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 53,370. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Relationships are rekindled and old friendships are tested when Boone unexpectedly returns to Oklahoma under mysterious circumstances after living in New York for a year and appearing on a reality TV show. In the tradition of Don DeLillo and Raymond Carver, Cooler than Jesus is a novel about twenty-something Americans who are detached and jaded, but also still searching for purpose.