Fiction » Literature » Literary

Build a Blue Fire
By
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 78,430. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Steina's brother has died unexpectedly - how will she tell their reclusive mother? She can't, so she doesn't. Which means making sure that no one in the Icelandic fishing village where they grew up tells her either. Not to mention pretending that he's still alive, facing up to family secrets and dealing with the delusions of a complete stranger. She does none of this well.
SIMPLE MACHINES
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 60,290. Language: English. Published: August 24, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » War
Master Sergeant Joseph Cevera is a respected man, decorated hero and feared leader of one of the most highly trained and lethal army units in the Afghanistan conflict. What happens when the unbreakable is broken? We see this erupting world through the eyes of a seasoned warrior as he is pushed to the edge of his humanity.
The Rose of Cikembang
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 42,650. Language: English. Published: June 2, 2013 by Typhoon Media. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
First published in 1927 as Bunga Roos dari Tjikembang, Kwee Tek Hoay’s The Rose of Cikembang is an excellent example of the so-called peranakan literature of the Netherlands East Indies that flourished between 1900 and the Japanese Occupation beginning in 1942. Highly sentimental in tone, the novel is rich in many of the controversial themes that Kwee was famous for.
Twilight in Jakarta
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 70,710. Language: English. Published: August 11, 2014 by Typhoon Media. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Half a century ago when Mochtar Lubis's Twilight in Jakarta was secreted out of Indonesia and published in London, it was the first Indonesian novel ever to be published in English translation. The novel, a depiction of social and political events in the capital during the run-up to a national election, contains a grim cast of characters. Readers today will find much in this novel that resonates.
The Undergraduates: an aftermath of love
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 79,440. Language: English. Published: December 26, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.80 from 5 reviews)
Shawn sits at the edge of his bed, staring out his third floor window; a married woman is asleep under his covers. He begins to reflect with a mix of nostalgia and despair on this situation, on his recently dissolved relationship, on tomorrow, on yesterday. Cinematic and literary, The Undergraduates brims with truth and immediacy climaxing with a wildly powerful commentary on our urban condition.
The Marriage Tree
By
Price: $7.95 USD. Words: 116,660. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2014 by HeavenLakePress. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
It’s okay for Thais to believe in ghosts—it’s their birthright. But why is Vincent Calvino seeing ghosts, and why are they so angry? Calvino is haunted by a series of deaths in Rangoon and Bangkok, when he stumbles onto a new murder case—but is it a new case, or an old one returned from the dead? A murder investigation leads Calvino inside an underworld network smuggling Rohingya ...
Secrets from the Black Bag
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 61,550. Language: English. Published: April 14, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Educational
All over the planet - from Pakistan to Tanganyika, from Scotland to Australia - doctors carrying their little black bags enter the private worlds of patients as they struggle with the business of living and dying.
Lifeform Three
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 61,700. Language: British English. Published: December 20, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Paftoo is a ‘bod’; made to serve. He is a groundsman in the last remaining countryside estate, once known as Harkaway Hall and now a theme park. Paftoo holds scattered memories of the old days but they are regularly deleted to keep him productive. When he starts to have dreams of the Lost Lands' past, Paftoo is propelled into a nocturnal battle to reclaim his memories and his soul
She Sings of Old, Unhappy, Far-off Things
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 83,890. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2014. Category: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Lesbian
(5.00 from 1 review)
Margaret Braithwaite, a fifty-ish professor, lives in the shadow of her famous husband, Gavin, who is terminally ill. When he hires Wyck Fitzsimmons to restore his gardens, Margaret slowly realizes her heart can feel love again. Gavin, though, is determined not to let death stop him from holding onto his wife. Love can take root in the most barren hearts, if Margaret and Wyck can let it grow.
Behind the Folding Fan
By
Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 151,170. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2014 by Proglen. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
This is a story of self-discovery and self-actualization. The main character, despite having realized the American Dream, is ill-at-ease in his cosmopolitan milieu. Sensing that something important is missing in his life, he hankers to relive experiences he once had in Asia. He naïvely seeks to renew, if not reinvent himself in Old Japan, which he considers his spiritual home.
My Dear Charlotte
By
Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 53,990. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
A British Regency murder mystery/romance set in 1815, written “with the assistance of Jane Austen’s letters.” Balls, visits, courtships, gossip (and murder, of course!). Especially for readers who love Jane Austen, Sharon Lathan, Georgette Heyer and Barbara Pym.
La puta que leía a Jack Kerouac
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 31,090. Language: Spanish. Published: May 5, 2012 by Literaturas Comunicacion SL. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
El encuentro entre una escritora y una joven prostituta va entreabriendo poco a poco la puerta de una turbia historia, en la que todos los personajes tienen algo que reprocharse. Todos ellos, en algún momento, se han dejado llevar por sus instintos, por sus pasiones, por sus rencores, también, y por sus odios.
The World Unseen
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 85,730. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Winner of the Pendleton May First Novel Award and a Betty Trask Award, The World Unseen is a captivating human drama and love story between two women who discover universal truths about integrity, justice and finding your voice in 1950's South Africa. 'Elegant and understated' The Times
Departure
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 111,880. Language: American English. Published: October 2, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Hannah and Zeke quit their jobs in mid-career and parachute themselves into the bewildering landscape of Greece of the 1980's. It's just a few years after Greece has joined Europe, and decades before finding itself in the economic and political doghouse. This is the story of Hannah's discoveries of Greek culture, ancient and modern, and what she learns about herself and her American past.
Something Brilliant
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 54,880. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 1 review)
James has cerebral palsy, people don't understand what he says and so he's stopped trying. He's eighteen and just been placed in a strange and degrading institution but there he meets Sally who turns everything on its head. Challenging at times but ultimately uplifting and funny along the way, this is the story of how James and Sally fall in love and set their world to rights.
On Cloud 9
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 48,270. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Educational
Maya is the main character of this fictional book. She is going through her dark days. At the right time of her life, she comes across Guruji—a man of wisdom—and various other women who impact her. Sunshine returns back into her life. This book is woven with mysticism, imagery, poetry, philosophy, and practical solutions where you will discover answers to the most vital aspect of your life.
Mercenary
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 72,810. Language: English. Published: June 5, 2014. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
Lee Christmas gets drunk and falls asleep at the throttle of his locomotive, plowing straight into an oncoming train. Blacklisted from the railroad and his marriage in tatters, he flees New Orleans on a steamer bound for the tropics. Mercenary is the story of the USA's most famous soldier of fortune: the hard-drinking drifter who changed the fate of a nation.
Lori
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 105,640. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2014. Category: Fiction » Women's fiction » General
The sheltered, comfortable, liberal upbringing undergone by Lori did not prepare her for marriage into the difficult and quirky Chicago working-class family of her husband, Jerry. Alcoholism, infidelity, economic disaster, and a mother’s biggest heartbreak of all-a seriously ill child-imperil Lori’s world. A story with tragedies and triumphs to which every reader will be able to relate.
Between Trains
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 196,590. Language: English. Published: June 9, 2013. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
It might be tomorrow. The progressive degenerative disorder of today’s world has advanced, and one young man embarks on a journey to discover who stole his future, or at least to understand the causes of its demise. On his way he encounters vagabonds and outlaws and one enigmatic woman who might be the key to the understanding he seeks—or perhaps the vehicle of its destruction.
The God Maker: How God Became God
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 22,310. Language: English. Published: April 10, 2010. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 1 review)
A moving and delightful story of self-discovery that weaves humankind's desire to understand Who am I? into a creative journey certain to expand our imagination into places heretofore unimagined. The beauty of this novel is also in the author's ability to introduce the complexities of philosophy through a wise and poignant tale about a man who loses everything...and finds himself.