Nonfiction » Biography

Sub-categories: Autobiographies & Memoirs | Personal memoir | Celebrity biography | Historical biography | Woman biographies | Military biography | Religious biography | Adventurers & explorers | Other biographies | Literary biography | Criminals & outlaws | Sports biography | All sub-categories >>
Don't Sit Shiva For Me
By Toni Ortner
Price: Free! Words: 58,670. Language: English. Published: April 16, 2014 by The Moon Publishing & Printing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Don’t Sit Shiva for Me is a memoir about growing up in the Five Towns (Long Island) with their privileged culture, neuroses, art, and love… of not the most nurturing variety. The author uses deadpan humor and honesty to recount scenes that are delightful and sometimes exquisitely painful. For those of us who grew up in the suburbs of the 1950s, there is a gleeful and dismayed recognition.
Mum Is In Charge
By John O'Neill
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 99,330. Language: English. Published: April 16, 2014 by Austin Macauley. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
‘Mum is in Charge' by John O'Neill In ‘Mum is in Charge', John O'Neill takes us back to his adolescent years during the dark and difficult times of the Second World War. The youngest of four children, he describes his wartime experiences and marvels at the way his mother held the family together and ran a Guesthouse in those turbulent times. From the horrors of being trapped in an air raid
Wewak Mission
By Robert Lowry
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 150,900. Language: English. Published: April 16, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » History » War
Lionel Veale's story of the Wewak Mission provides readers with an authentic image of the hazardous missions that were factors in every Coastwatcher party assignment as they penetrated and worked behind enemy lines, seeking vital information which ultimately played an important part in the winning of the war.
Daughters of Spain
By Joan Fallon
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 86,800. Language: English. Published: April 16, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Woman biographies
This collection of first-hand interviews offers us a snapshot of the lives of women living in Spain from the Spanish Civil War until the present day. Daughters of Spain gives a gripping account of the hard won changes within society for Spanish women, through the eyes and experiences of the interviewees themselves.
Sathyam Sivam Sundaram Volume 1
By N Kasturi
Series: Sathyam Sivam Sundaram, Book 1. Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 85,450. Language: British English. Published: April 16, 2014 by Sri Sathya Sai Sadhana Trust, Publications Division. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
Prof. N. Kasturi, who had the extreme fortune of being close to Bhagawan Baba, has brought out in this volume the life story of the Divine Avatar from His birth in 1926 to 1961. For those, who are unaware of Baba’s might, this book will reveal His mahimas and leelas.
Surviving Bigfoot and the Dixie Mafia
By Dennis Shamblin
Price: Free! Words: 58,120. Language: American English. Published: April 14, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Criminals & outlaws
Young Dennis grows up in a crime family dynasty and faces danger on a regular basis. He enjoys role playing Tarzan to ease the stress of every day life. His murderous mom and dad are the boss of the Dixie Mafia.
From A Caregiver's Point Of View
By Lindsay Boyd
Series: For One Night Only, Book 2. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 90,590. Language: English. Published: April 13, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
For it is in giving that we receive ... A slowly evolving spiritual quest takes the narrator of From a Caregiver's Point of View to a multitude of intentional communities over a roughly twenty year period, beginning in Glasgow, Scotland and culminating in Jacksonville, Florida. What does he learn from these experiences and how does his search impact the lives of the people he interacts with?
A Successful Landing On Safe Ground - The Dangerous Escape From Khomeini’s Claws To The Land Of Freedom Sweden
By Akram Monfared-Arya
Price: Free! Words: 118,740. Language: English. Published: April 13, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This is the story of my life, a life with different dimensions, aspects and prospects from Iran to Sweden The story of a free-fall from the blue sky to the earth by the flying poet, writer, and artist, Akram Monfared-Arya.
A Year of Living Positively, Volume 1
By Barbara Waldern
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 86,900. Language: English. Published: April 12, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Teachers & educators
This is a collection of daily autobiographical blog posts on the theme of living positively.Starting the day after my last birthday, I have written for 120 days straight of blogging so far. My goal of is to complete 365 posts. Through this process of reporting and reflecting, I have begun to develop my own concept of positive thinking and arrived at eight steps to live positively.
Sathyam Sivam Sundaram Volume 2
By N Kasturi
Series: Sathyam Sivam Sundaram, Book 2. Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 79,930. Language: British English. Published: April 11, 2014 by Sri Sathya Sai Sadhana Trust, Publications Division. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
This second volume of “Sathyam Sivam Sundaram” narrates the life history of Bhagawan Sri Sathya Sai Baba, covering the period 1962 to 1968, when He was at the age of 36 to 42 years, in Prof. N. Kasturi’s inimitable, poetic style.
My-Te-Fine Merchant
By Fred Leeson
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 91,140. Language: English. Published: April 5, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Business biography
Pioneering merchant Fred G. Meyer created one-stop shopping centers and changed Pacific Northwest shopping habits during a 70-year career. The domineering, smart, aggressive and abrasive entrepreneur became an iconic figure admired for his devotion to customers and to cutting costs. Parsimonious himself, Meyer left his vast estate to create Oregon's largest charitable trust.
The Shell of a Person
By Lance Pototschnik
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 50,640. Language: English. Published: April 3, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Hell hath baby sea turtles, as Lance Pototschnik will soon find out.
Under a Morning Glory Cloud
By Sylvia Hammann
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 70,480. Language: English. Published: April 3, 2014 by Bookpal Australia. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This book is about five little girls who lived in a small remote town in the Gulf of Carpentaria, Queensland, Australia. After their mother died, the girls at the age of ten to two along with a young lad who the family had taken in lived on their own in an old haunted house when their father had to work away from home.
La vida de Buda
By LD Books - Lectorum
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 116,280. Language: Spanish. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
Este libro ofrece un análisis fascinante de la tradición alrededor de la vida de Buda: como leyenda y personaje. Desde sus ancestros, su nacimiento y juventud, hasta sus días finales, esta obra hace una crónica exacta de las primeras prédicas, de los veinte años de peregrinación, del establecimiento de las escuelas rivales de filosofía y mucho más
La historia de Lao Tse
By LD Books - Lectorum
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 51,600. Language: Spanish. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Philosopher biography
Este libro nos introduce en la vida y trayectoria de uno de los grandes pensadores y fundador del sistema filosofico denominado taoismo, contenido en el clasico Tao Te King, que tuvo un gran impacto en la filosofia china de los periodos subsecuentes.
La historia de Confucio
By LD Books - Lectorum
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 57,130. Language: Spanish. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Philosopher biography
Confucio es el más grande filósofo chino y por más de dos mil años ha sido parte de la conciencia ética, la vida espiritual, las tradiciones y costumbres de China. Este libro cuenta su vida, la pobreza en su juventud, su desarrollo espiritual y la creacion de la escuela de pensamiento o confucionismo.
The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown
By Marlayna Glynn Brown
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 290,960. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Three full-length novels in one compilation! Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning collection of best-selling memoirist Marlayna Glynn Brown's three tales of survival and resilience. This collection includes three of Glynn Brown's acclaimed memoirs describing her turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood, teenage and young adult years in Los An
Fire Sail – Part 1 - A Miraculous Attainment of a Family’s Dream
By Roger A. Marin
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 87,150. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
This is a true, almost unbelievable story, of how our Maine family, over a 7-year period and on a shoestring budget, with sweat, tenacity, and what we conceded as Divine Intervention, managed to build a beautiful and seaworthy 40-foot sailboat. Then, a couple of years later, sell most everything we owned, enroll our 2 sons in correspondence school, and sail away for a 2-year adventure.
Times To Weep, Times To Laugh
By Shirley Phillips
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 129,390. Language: English. Published: April 1, 2014 by Austin Macauley. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
From extremely poor beginnings Shirley Phillips worked her way up to the highest levels of the nursing profession.
My Story
By LesShipp
Price: Free! Words: 101,970. Language: English. Published: March 31, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 1 review)
This is my life story beginning from 1920 before I was born to the present 2014. Growing up in isolation as a child, battles to become integrated into ordinary society.