Nonfiction » Biography

Sub-categories: Autobiographies & Memoirs | Personal memoir | Celebrity biography | Historical biography | Woman biographies | Religious biography | Military biography | Adventurers & explorers | Literary biography | Other biographies | Criminals & outlaws | Sports biography | All sub-categories >>
Il était une fois...un médécin municipal: fernando Piccirilli
By
Price: Free! Words: 15,230. Language: French. Published: October 10, 2013 by noubs. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Réellement touchante la lecture de ces pages du bref mais intense journal du Docteur Fernando Piccirilli, médecin communal à Lettomanoppello (Pe) dans la période de 1950 à 1986, que sa femme, Luciana, désire actuellement publier de manière posthume, après avoir tendrement remis de l’ordre dans ses annotations.
Edgar Allan Poe: Beyond Mourning
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,900. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013 by Owl Intermedia. Category: Essay » Literature
Edgar Allan Poe: Beyond Mourning, by Holly Zynda, discusses Poe's life and works as they relate to the deaths of his loved ones and expressions of possible post-traumatic stress disorder.
Santa Rosa Love Stories
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,120. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Essay » Literature
Tourists arrive from overseas insisting on wine, lobster bisque, smoked Pacific salmon with caviar, and homemade ravioli filled with a special citrus lemons. The Santa Rosa chefs designed pasta noodles by hand that were so delicious that on Saturday morning the same chefs could be seen on national TV shows teaching people how to cook in their kitchen. Penny Chee writes for SantaRosaCalifornia.Co
Santa Rosa California Locals Love Life
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,710. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Teachers & educators
Penelope Chee, my mother travels around Santa Rosa. She meets people at teacher conferences. She meets people on the bus to San Francisco. Every time she meets people, they tell her stories. Strangers sit next to my mother and tell her chapters worthy of books. Penny Chee collected so many stories about Santa Rosa that I created websites for her named SantaRosaCalifornia.Co and SantaRosaSonoma.com
Laws & Loves: Real Tales of the Rattlesnake Lawyer
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 42,510. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013 by Casa de Snapdragon. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"Laws & Loves" contains the real stories of the Rattlesnake Lawyer. Jonathan Miller is a practicing criminal defense attorney in New Mexico and the author of eight books. These are the chronicles of his early years, how he learned to balance the law with literature, all while looking for love in all the wrong courtrooms. This book is a must for anyone thinking of practicing law or falling in love.
Santa Rosa Family Books Interviews
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 17,290. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » E-commerce / internet marketing
Santa Rosa Junior High hired my mother to teach Mathematics. We didn't have much money. My father had lung cancer. We sold our house in Michigan to avoid the winter for my father's health. In Marinwood, my mother walked to the overpass by Highway 101 each morning and took the bus north to Santa Rosa to teach. My mother and father found a house in Bennett Valley near fields filled with walnut trees
Santa Rosa Books Blogs Web Advertising
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,060. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Business biography
My mother taught Mathematics in Santa Rosa for over 37 years. Penny Chee started to search for news on Google. She was becoming a Facebook fanatic. I began to interviewing her as she taught Math with a video camera. My mother began writing books after retiring from Math. I began developing websites for Penny Chee on SantaRosaCalifornia.Co, SantaRosaSonoma.com, MathChemistry.com and FamilyNovel.net
Santa Rosa California Green Van
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,270. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
My parents found a giant San Francisco tour van for sale. The inside had seats for a dozen people touring San Francisco each day. They bought the van so my dad could rest. He had lung cancer. Mom helped my father take out the seats to create a bed in the back of the van. While my mother was teaching Math, my father could drive to the redwood forests, ocean beach, and over the Golden Gate Bridge.
The Old Man and Me
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 93,030. Language: English. Published: October 9, 2013 by Black Rose Writing sales@blackrosewriting.com. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The Old Man and Me is a collection of true stories that describe with humor and love the best of the friendship that grows between a father and his son. The stories begin with vignettes from toddlerhood, and cover all the ages from then to high school graduation (and a little bit beyond).
Betty's Child
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Memoirs for Love and Profit
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 5,790. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2013 by CPublishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Yes, Barbra Streisand sang it best, didn't she? Maybe those words bring a tear to your eye as they do mine. Perhaps those tears are tinged with just a hint of regret that those memories will be lost when you are gone. We all have them. Memories. We all have stories to tell. Most often they come to mind triggered by a song, a touch or a photograph. But, too many of them are lost to time.
In the Cockpit with Cliff Robertson
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,150. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
In the Cockpit with Cliff Robertson is the third volume in the Passion for Flight series; these short biographies (under 20,000 words) tell the stories of notable pilots who inspire young and old alike. An actor who appeared in more than 100 movies, Cliff Robertson's roles in aviation included helping launch EAA’s Young Eagles program in 1992 and serving as its first chairman.
Off The Rails - Excerpts From My Life
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 38,600. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
My personal history of crazy and bizarre experiences growing up in Northern California. Living the life of a husband, father and drummer and finally coming to grips with my own spiritual path after a long difficult search and answering the question; is a drummer really a musician?
Making Weight
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 118,050. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Sports biography
Did you ever wonder what it's like to be blind? This book is about the life of a 65-year-old blind athlete. There will be happy stories, sad stories, and funny stories and there will be problems and their solutions. The intent of this book is to educate the sighted world regarding situations as they relate not only to blind people, but also to all society.
My life: In 100 poems
By
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 8,220. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2013. Category: Essay » Literature
a detailed description of my life through 100 poems. the book contains a large variety of poems including haikus, cinquains, diamantes and limericks. i wanted to write this book as a sense of expression of the things that have happened in my life. i have been through quite a lot of bad experiences in life but this book symbolises hope and will hopefully give inspiration to other people
A Prodigal Returned
By
Price: Free! Words: 82,070. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
There are no “special” people with God. There are only those who are close to Him and those who are far away. Jesus died on the cross and was risen from the grave to unite us with the Father. This book of remembrance shares with you the battle of the devil that raged against me to keep me from knowing that the heart of our Heavenly Father longs for one thing, to embrace each of us just as we are!
So Far
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 80,890. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Growing up the fifth child in a family scarred by an abusive father and a mentally unstable mother, Cristina Negrón feels scared, worthless, powerless, and alone. All that begins to change when she discovers running, until she considers herself “the most normal person on the planet.” That is, until one terrible day when the mental illness that destroyed her mother and sister targets her, too.
Mama Say's It's Hogwash: A Texas Woman Comes of Age in Rosebud
By
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 52,640. Language: American English. Published: October 4, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This book reveals one little girl’s struggle to maturity in a small town and in a large family, her parents and seven siblings. The times of 1930s and 1940s encompassed such disasters as the Great Depression and World War II.
Grey Blue Water
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 115,450. Language: American English. Published: October 4, 2013 by Brighton Publishing LLC. Category: Nonfiction » History » Family history
Grey-Blue Water traces the life of John Douglas Taylor, the son of a wealthy Southern gentleman, from his childhood on a Tennessee plantation, to his adventures in the newly-formed Republic of Texas, and later to his time as a riverboat captain on the Mississippi. Author Daniel Mabrey Taylor has based his novel on true accounts taken from family letters, journals, and other historical documents.
First Love
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 29,040. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2013 by BeanPods Press, LLC. Category: Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Emotions
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
Love, as the hoary cliché holds, is a many-splendored thing: many-splendored, and multifaceted; a periapt to some, an Orloff Diamond to others. Within this volume, we assay to present this ubiquitous—this most basic—but most subtle and nuanced, of human emotions as we would any sacrosanct, dangerous relic. Follow the world of nine authors, three men; six women, as they tingle and bleed for love.