Books tagged: carver

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 10 results

Please
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 60,250. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
In short, sharp episodes, Please chronicles the life of a young man who drifts through a hallucinatory urban world filled with celebrity wannabes, addictive relationships and jobs that demand he become someone else. This terse, savage debut fuses the quiet desperation of Raymond Carver with the absurdity and media-savvy irony of Quentin Tarantino.
The Heart of Dog
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 97,200. Language: English. Published: March 6, 2011. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
Award-winning author Doranna Durgin has over 30 published novels (MMPB, trade, and hardcover) and another 19 short pieces. Now her dog-themed stories are collected in THE HEART OF DOG, along with those by other award-winning authors, including Jeffrey Carver, Julie Czerneda, Tanya Huff, John Mierau, Fiona Patton, Jennifer Roberson, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, & John Zakour.
Death Rites--The 3rd Kate Jones Thriller
By
Series: Kate Jones Thriller, Book 3. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 19,300. Language: English. Published: August 14, 2011. Category: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
DEATH RITES (Novella #3) When Kate has to leave Alaska (and Sam) behind, she runs to the last place she remembers feeling safe: the North Shore of Oahu. Against her better judgment, she re-establishes old connections, and soon faces a new problem in Alek, a gifted carver and avid surfer.
Cooler than Jesus
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 53,370. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Relationships are rekindled and old friendships are tested when Boone unexpectedly returns to Oklahoma under mysterious circumstances after living in New York for a year and appearing on a reality TV show. In the tradition of Don DeLillo and Raymond Carver, Cooler than Jesus is a novel about twenty-something Americans who are detached and jaded, but also still searching for purpose.
Something That's True
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,590. Language: English. Published: October 13, 2011 by Mendicant Bookworks. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A lonesome mechanic searches the dingy velvet of his small-town strip club for answers and for Something That's True. Mendicant Bookworks presents literary short fiction by Hosho McCreesh.
War Medal/Behind the FAT CHANCE - 2Shot#3
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 7,120. Language: English. Published: November 20, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Two more short stories by Pushcart and Best-of-the-Web nominee Hosho McCreesh.
C.G. Standridge's New Earth Stories Volume II
By
Series: C.G. Standridge's New Earth Stories, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 120,990. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Hard sci-fi
This is the second installment of the sci-fi trilogy by ebook author C.G. Standridge. It is a continuation, depicting the human struggle to survive in a quadrant of war and deceit. The young man, David J. Carver, must now learn the truth of their rescue and unravel the web of lies in order to safeguard the survival of the human race.
C. G. Standridge's New Earth Stories Volume 3
By
Series: C.G. Standridge's New Earth Stories, Book 3. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 91,340. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2012. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Hard sci-fi
This is the final installment of the sci-fi trilogy by ebook author C.G. Standridge. It is the conclusion, depicting the human survival in a quadrant of war and deceit, and the life of an improbable hero. The young man, David J. Carver, must now handle the truth of their rescue and unravel the old lies in order to safeguard the future of several races.
The Funerals at Christmas
By
You set the price! Words: 8,080. Language: British English. Published: April 4, 2014. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Black comedy
Ballard Funeral is the consummate showman, and the consummate arsehole – he’s also dying. With the help of his witless aid George and his adopted son and cash-cow Edward, Ballard is assembling a televised funeral extravaganza to celebrate his impending death. The Funerals at Christmas is a blackly comic tale that has echoes of Bukowski, Brautigan and Carver – but with a unique London voice.
MOONEY The Life of the World's Master Carver
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 42,330. Language: American English. Published: July 30, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
A biography/memoir of Mooney Warther, the world's master carver, whose museum in Dover, Ohio attracts tens of thousands of visitors annually to see what the Smithsonian Institution calls "priceless works of art". During 50 years of carving, Mooney recreated the history of the steam engine and major events in American history, including the Driving of the Golden Spike and the Lincoln Funeral Train.