Books tagged: dystopias

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 10 results

Charlie Sheen, Troll Avenger: His Life Story, Goddesses, and the Struggle to Free the Earth from Trolls
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 49,720. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Humor and satire
From the author of the best-selling books Weirdo Deluxe and Weirdo Noir, here is surely the weirdest, funniest, most intelligent, and far-reaching book ever written about Charlie Sheen. The central concern of the book is Sheen's battle with Trolls (exploiters). Jordan explores not only Sheen's life as a rebel, but also the entire debacle of our ecologically destructive Troll-run civilization.
The Children of the City
Price: Free! Words: 67,670. Language: English. Published: August 22, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
'The Children of the City' is a dark dystopian novel that gets under the skin of power, control, belief and identity. Perfect for fans of George Orwell and China Mieville, H.T. Zetter is thrilling and thought-provoking in equal measure as he seeks to answer the question: without our histories, who are we?
Catharsis, Legend of the Lemurians (Earth Keepers Chronicle 1)
Price: $1.10 USD. Words: 15,390. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Visionary & metaphysical, Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
(4.63)
Karma can be a beautiful maiden or a bitch... Lemurians, Atlanteans... The beautiful Catharsians share the planet with another race, the Uglies. Being ugly is considered a contagious disease, and the Uglies are herded into a reservation, where they live out their drudgery behind an electric fence...until the ultimate disaster strikes. Will it bring to light everyone's true beauty and ugliness?
A Child Weeps in Moscow
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 38,670. Language: English. Published: January 17, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Alternative history, Fiction » Science fiction » General
Alien possession meets alternate history, in this communist tale set in 1923 Russia, about a boy named Abraham (Abe), whose parents suddenly disappear one day. Like many of the adults throughout Russia, they are being taken away in the night by a special police force put together by Lenin’s “new” government, a government put together after the arrival of spacecrafts with biomechanoid origins.
The Chinese Panda Vase
Price: Free! Words: 26,430. Language: English. Published: March 9, 2013 by Soapbox Rising Press. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
(Novella: Thriller, Dark Satire) A valuable antique, a callous government, official corruption, a robbery victim determined to even up the odds, and a designer flamethrower collide with deadly consequences. Although there is plenty of humor, this is a dark and challenging story. It is not for everyone.
Family Hour
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,870. Language: English. Published: July 17, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
In the near future, Valued Associate Echo 900682972187 "lives" all his days within the narrow walls of his Multitasking Cubicle-Home Station (MCHS). Every aspect of his existence is completely focused on "Productivity," the bridge to Global Corporation's utopia, the mythical "7th Era." Once a year, Valued Associates may communicate with their biological parents. Welcome to "Family Hour."
Equador Morto
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,280. Language: Portuguese. Published: July 26, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
Muitos anos depois de criaturas lendárias terem surgido na Terra e dominado todo o hemisfério norte, a Humanidade vive apenas no hemisfério sul, escudada por uma barreira construída à volta do mundo, sobre a linha do Equador. Uma equipa de reparações é atacada numa missão a norte da barreira e o capitão Marco, o único sobrevivente, só quer regressar a casa.
Terrifying Tomorrows
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 18,170. Language: English. Published: April 1, 2014 by Twice Told Tales II. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
Five science fiction nightmares from the master of suspense C. C. Blake. These tales include lovers in peril, dystopias on the verge of collapse, gut-wrenching revenge, imminent apocalypse, and a heartbreaking view of tomorrow's youth.
Metal Fist 1: Singer's Salute
Series: Metal Fist, Book 1. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,390. Language: English. Published: August 23, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
In the not so distant future, entertainment game shows will devolve into savage gladiatorial matches where elimination of any kind means a painful death. Singer's Salute is the first installment in the Metal Fist short story series. For fans of The Voice and American Idol, who are seeking edgier entertainment.
Alien Abattoir: And Other Stories
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 53,210. Language: American English. Published: April 2, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Ten stories about cursed alien artifacts, interstellar investment banking, ancient alien astronauts, parallel timelines, alien experimentation, and space colonization gone horribly wrong. This anthology is the first complete collection from Sean P. Hazlett.