Books tagged: editing

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 96 results

Choose Your Publishing Option: The 2014 Guide to An Author's Alternatives
By
Price: Free! Words: 6,250. Language: English. Published: June 18, 2009. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Publishing business
For over 15 years, the online Fearless Publishing Guide has given countless people valuable tips and links on getting their writing published. Now this popular online resource has been expanded into an e-book that gives even more useful information on how to get an agent, get published in the mainstream or outside it, how to self-publish, and more.
How to Write a Great Query Letter
By
Price: Free! Words: 15,080. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2009. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Many books have been written about the query letter. But few have been written by literary agents, who receive thousands of queries each year and who grapple with them on a daily basis. New York literary agent Noah Lukeman offers his insights on the query letter, sharing an insider's perspective, giving insights and practical tips about what works and what doesn’t.
The Literary Devil's Dictionary
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,230. Language: English. Published: September 16, 2009 by New Summerfield Press. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
The Literary Devil's Dictionary is everything you ever wanted to scream about the book business but were afraid to yell.This satirical dictionary of literary terms will have you laughing out loud. Also contains other infernal delights like a "Rejection Rejection" form. Written in the style of Ambrose Bierce. Humor for grown ups by David Davis writing as Tom Twain.
How to Land (and Keep) a Literary Agent (excerpt)
By
Price: Free! Words: 75,410. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2009. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
The first book written from an active literary agent's perspective that teaches authors why agents reject or accept manuscripts; why they decide to represent certain authors and not represent others; the best way to approach agents; the best way to work with an agent on a daily basis; and that offers them dozens of specific resources to make the difference in getting published.
The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 13,860. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.
The CT Method: Revision and Editing for Fiction and Creative Nonfiction
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,490. Language: English. Published: March 18, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Written from the perspective of a developmental editor advising an author with a newly completed book draft, this article details a step-by-step method for revising and editing novel-length fiction or creative/narrative nonfiction manuscripts. It is a holistic, integrated process that applies to writers at every skill level and at any stage of their project.
Write Good or Die
By
Price: Free! Words: 48,170. Language: English. Published: April 14, 2010 by Haunted Computer Books. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Survival tips for 21st century writers, from best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson, M.J. Rose, Heather Graham, J.A. Konrath, Gayle Lynds, Alexandra Sokoloff, Jonathan Maberry, and more. How to develop your craft, improve your writing, get an agent, promote your work, embrace the digital age, and prepare yourself for the coming changes in the publishing industry. Edited by Scott Nicholson.
Blow Us Away! Publishers' Secrets for Successful Manuscripts
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 32,010. Language: English. Published: April 30, 2010 by WindRiver Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
Publishers and agents around the world are waiting to be blown away by the next great manuscript but are frustrated by the average new author's lack of preparedness; too many manuscripts lack marketing insight, organization, or an understanding of the book industry. Bring publishers a great book with all the background information we need to make a good business decision and you've got a deal.
Deploying HTML5
By
Price: $45.00 USD. Words: 24,610. Language: English. Published: May 11, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Computers and Internet » Programming
Provides a comprehensive look at the HTML 5 standard as implemented by the top 5 browsers.It covers HTML 5 Structure, Semantics, SVG/MathML, WebForms, Canvas, Native Drag & Drop, Browser History Management, Inline Document Editing, Cross Document/Domain Messaging, Offline Applications Caching & WebDatabases, Audio & Video & Related Tools, GeoLocation, Loal & Session Storage...http://bit.ly/d7Z3fV
Bang! Writing with Impact
By
Price: $6.67 USD. Words: 20,610. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2010. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
BANG! Writing with Impact is THE guide for writing with impact. Don't waste your time on books that spend pages and pages on how people have used strategies, the reason why impact is important, the history of writing, or similar meaningless information. Bang! is for people who have work to do. This book tells you how to do exactly what you are trying to do: make your readers pay attention.