Books tagged: extinction

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 59 results

Tumble II
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 316,740. Language: English. Published: February 10, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
A series of chain reaction natural disasters has culminated in an abnormal seismic catastrophe, dubbed as the Andaman Event by scientists, and it's causing the earth to tumble on its axis. Now mankind struggles for survival as the planet reshapes itself ecologically and geologically with disastrous consequences, threatening the existence of every living thing on its surface.
The Angel's Ark - short story
Price: Free! Words: 4,270. Language: English. Published: March 11, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational
The great Bristish naturalist, David Attenborough, has a list of endangered species that he would like to save from extinction. This story is based on that list. It also contains a small boy, an Archangel, a dark green forest and a very unusual Christmas tree.
The Mass Effect Universe - a Primer
Price: Free! Words: 5,940. Language: English. Published: March 20, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
This document is a Primer designed to familiarize the author's readers with the universe, background and characters of Mass Effect. It is intended to be read before downloading and reading the author's novel - "EndShard: A Mass Effect Fan Novel." This Primer was written and assembled by Karen E. Politte, the author of "EndShard: A Mass Effect Fan Novel".
EndShard - A Mass Effect Fan Novel
Price: Free! Words: 93,620. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
The Reaper war has destroyed their worlds leaving entire star systems decimated and whole civilizations erased from history. The people of the galaxy look to one person - one human - for salvation. Can the efforts of one woman succeed where innumerable peoples before her kind have failed? Join Commander Karen Shepard in this re-imagined ending to the Bioware game "Mass Effect 3".
Gaia's Web
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 78,940. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Science fiction » Hard sci-fi
Four scientists race to rescue Earth from environmental collapse using an artificial intelligence program to accelerate brain evolution by millennia in just days. Telepathy replaces the internet and unifies mankind to heal the biosphere, but it exposes the team’s tense romantic quadrangle and causes serious casualties everywhere among those who resist. What price must humanity pay to save itself?
Winter Cat
Price: Free! Words: 2,100. Language: English. Published: May 6, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
One of the few left in this northern land, the lynx stops to view the spectacular northern lights that, to him, seem to whisper what to do.
Blinders Keepers
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 84,050. Language: English. Published: May 29, 2013 by Melange Books, LLC. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Literature » Literary
Blinders Keepers is social-political satire in the tradition of Jonathan Swift, Kurt Vonnegut and Joseph Heller, but revved up and spit-shined to take on the historic new levels of absurdity and dysfunction of the 21st Century. It is one young man's laugh-out-loud struggle to survive the epic disintegration of the American Dream.
Golem
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 8,630. Language: English. Published: July 3, 2013 by Jochannon Mahler. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
Many years ago, Humanity perished in one night of madness; for many years, the Golems have lived a life -if life it can be called- unaltered, unending. Then the Aliens returned: they who slaughtered lost Humanity, and the Golems feel an emotion they have not for a long time- rage.
Fat Vampire 6: Survival of the Fattest
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 60,030. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Undead, Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire
Forty years have passed since the end of the vampire/human war, and life is good. Vampires have taken over the planet and have settled in. Humans are still around, though, because the alpha species needs to eat. As Reginald steps into his destined role as a leader, he faces a startling realization about humanity... but it may already be too late.
Birds of Western Wolli Creek: A case study in local extinction
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 42,490. Language: English. Published: November 7, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Science and Nature » Life Sciences / Zoology / Ornithology, Nonfiction » Science and Nature » Environment
This is a study of the birds found in the western part of the Wolli Creek Valley, about 8km from Sydney's CDB. It also serves as a case study of the increasing localised extinction of native birds in Sydney. This development, which has received little media attention, mirrors broader loss of native birds across south-eastern Australia.