Books tagged: falkland islands

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 7 results

Rainbows, Cutthroats and the Prince of Bhutan: Fly Fishing Adventures around the World
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 67,190. Language: English. Published: August 15, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Travel » Trip Journals
Stories of travels with a fly rod after fish in 25 countries around the world.
A Damn Close-Run Thing: A Brief History of the Falklands Conflict
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,110. Language: English. Published: September 13, 2011 by Shilka Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » History » Modern / 20th Century
This short history sums up the events leading up to the war and its major military actions including details of an Argentinian plan to sink a Royal Navy ship in Gibraltar harbour and a British plan to land SAS soldiers in Argentina to destroy aircraft while they were still on the ground.
Pain Below the Equator
By
Price: Free! Words: 13,390. Language: English. Published: September 21, 2011. Category: Essay » Political
This is the frank journal of a six week tour of South America from Buenos Aires, around the horn to Valparaíso, Easter Island and Peru, chronicling the good the bad and the insane of the southern continent.
Return to Tumbledown
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 244,860. Language: English. Published: May 30, 2013 by Typhoon Media. Category: Nonfiction » History » War
Mike Seear served for more than two decades in the British Army, and he was also a combatant in the Falklands-Malvinas War of 1982. Since retiring from the British Army in 1988 with the rank of Major he has become a specialist in the history and aftermath of that conflict, and the present volume is the third and largest of his books about it.
Falklands-Malvinas: An Unfinished Business
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 140,290. Language: English. Published: July 1, 2013 by Typhoon Media. Category: Nonfiction » History » War
This book analyses fiction, poetry, song, drama and film that deal directly with the Falklands-Malvinas conflict. Whilst not overlooking the literatures of Argentina and Britain, indeed using them as a point of departure and of continuing reference, Bernard McGuirk has also explored the international resonance in literary and other creative representations of this last of the traditional wars.
World War One Naval Battles in South American Waters
By
Price: $5.50 USD. Words: 10,340. Language: English. Published: April 28, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » History » War
At the start of World War One, the coasts of Chile and Argentina witnessed three Naval Battles: the Battle of Coronel and the Battle of the Falkland Islands, both in 1914, and the Battle of Mas a Tierra soon after. Close to the first centenary, they are the topic of this book. It includes maps, photos, comments from the Chilean (British) author and valuable unknown vintage photos.
Rogue Enforcer (for fans of Tom Clancy, Larry Bond, and Dale Brown)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 65,210. Language: English. Published: June 26, 2014. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Men’s adventure
RENEGADE... WARRIOR... FUGITIVE... Former U.S. naval officer Jake Slate is on a downhill slide into alcohol, self-pity, and rage. A decade of life as a mercenary submarine commander has left him exhausted, bitter, and utterly disgusted with the world. When a drunken brawl leaves his opponent dead in the parking lot of a seedy bar, Jake needs to run away. From his crime... From his country...