Books tagged: gonzo

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 12 results

Rose Head
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 11,610. Language: English. Published: March 13, 2010. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » General
In a world where everyone has a flower for a head, who can stop the serial killer called the Pruner? Enter Inspector Glisten, a hard-boiled, rose-headed cop who'll stop at nothing to cut down the Pruner. But when the trail leads to a seedy garden of horrors he never imagined, Glisten fights for his life against an explosion of deadly flower power that could uproot his world in a harvest of death.
A Letter to the Establishment: The Cautionary Tale of Hunter S. Thompson
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 3,940. Language: English. Published: July 18, 2010 by White Sun Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
Drug-crazed, iconic, outrageous--Hunter S. Thompson’s own reputation as the rock star writer of the 1970s obscured the meaning behind much of his work, even for many of his fans. An essay on Hunter S. Thompson as a journalist, and the implications and intention behind his style of “gonzo journalism” on current day media…as well as what set him apart.
Virtue
By
Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 1,180. Language: English. Published: March 27, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Philosophy » American philosophy
Who is the virtuous man, and how does his virtue affect himself and the world around him? Throughout history, men have believed themselves to be just, yet in actuality their virtues mask cruel depravity on a scale seen over and over across history through the form of despotic rules and indifferent populations. How has this come about? In "Virtue", Kato ponders these questions of virtue.
Take the All-Mart!
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 45,040. Language: English. Published: April 6, 2011. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » General
On the run from a jilted warlord queen in a 200 year old mind-controlled Dodge, Trip and Rudy take on a devastated post-apocalyptic wasteland, a gang of hoverboard-riding, cannibalistic bounty hunters, and a zombie-filled, world-devouring, sentient department store all for the love of an orgy-loving cyber-nun. And for the reward. OK, mostly for the reward.
Lost at the Con
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 61,350. Language: English. Published: June 2, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
Lost at the Con tells the tale of a drunken political journalist and his dangerous assignment to a science fiction and fantasy convention. It's been called "A masterful blend of fictional Gonzo journalism and geek culture that is sure to please audiences inside and outside the geek community."
Nectar
By
Price: Free! Words: 56,570. Language: English. Published: January 16, 2012. Category: Fiction » Adventure » Travel
A wild Gonzo journey across the globe in search of the purest elixir on earth--the Nectar.
Oneironauts
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 34,880. Language: English. Published: April 11, 2012. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Black comedy
When the characters in Thurston Tomas’ lucid dreamscape start believing they truly exist, he must enter his dreams to end their silly fantasies--or risk being trapped there, forever.
American Loser
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 136,600. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2012. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Black comedy
Do you think your life sucks? It could be worse. Welcome to the world of Mikey Stevens and his romp on the wrong side of the American Dream, where the endings are never happy and it can always be worse. Fans of Hunter S Thompson, William Burroughs, and Irvine Welsh and black comedies will love this newest entry into the Gonzo genre.
Dr. Gonzo
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 35,200. Language: English. Published: August 1, 2012 by Unlikely Books. Category: Essay » Sociology
Dr. Gonzo: A series of loosely related essays on equality, visibility, and modern mental health, or, How the Mental Health System Drove Me Crazy, details Dr. Deb Hoag's efforts to provide effective psychotherapy in a nation of apathetic lawmakers and actively hostile insurance companies. Cover art by Gabriel Vrooman.
Bernie Takes Tahoe
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 93,690. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2012. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
What does a washed-up Elvis protégé, a mystery woman with a religious hangover, and King James all have in common? They're in Bernie Takes Tahoe, of course! This outrageously entertaining tale will have you laughing out loud, and wondering if King James likes having a go at keno and roulette himself!