Books tagged: humor essays

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Full Search

Found: 15 results

Crap Chronicles: When IBS Strikes in all the Wrong Places
By Diana Estill
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 9,230. Language: English. Published: July 28, 2011. Category: Nonfiction
From the author of Driving on the Wrong Side of the Road comes a collection of seven comical essays about bathroom emergencies. Award-winning humorist Diana Estill shares her family's funniest colonic calamities: a marathon race cut short by "bubble gut," a snorkel trip ruined by a Caribbean buffet, and a "hell burger" that defended its title against her normally demure daughter-in-law and more.
Health, The Bible & You : Part 5 - Jesus Recommends Carrot Juice
By Aussiescribbler
Price: Free! Words: 560. Language: English. Published: November 9, 2011 by Aussiescribbler. Category: Fiction
Food is one of the necessities of life. We need it to keep body and soul together. So what did Jesus have to say about maintaining a healthy diet? A very short satire on Christian self-help books.
Milk and Oranges
By Charlene Wexler
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 24,730. Language: English. Published: November 19, 2011 by Central Park Communications, Inc.. Category: Essay
Milk and Oranges is a collection of short fiction and essays examining life, love, and the tragedy and comedy of the human condition by award-winning writer Charlene Wexler. Whether she is tackling fiction or essays, Wexler writes from the heart. With a keen eye for detail and a way of looking at the world a bit sideways, her writings in Milk and Oranges will entertain while they make you think.
If I Die, Please Bring Cheesecake To My Funeral
By Donloree Hoffman
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 11,980. Language: English. Published: July 31, 2012. Category: Nonfiction
In an effort to get in shape and rid herself of the insidious muffin top, Donloree Hoffman puts down the cheesecake and picks up a gym membership. Join in the crazy misadventures as she fights the battle of the bulge and barely lives to tell about it.
Coffee Can Chronicles
By Michael Pollick
Series: Lost Story House Coffee and Stowbilly Essays. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 9,010. Language: English. Published: September 25, 2012. Category: Fiction
Originally commissioned by a gourmet coffee roaster in Portland, Oregon, these humor essays by Michael Pollick run the gamut from Keith Richards to dead hotdogs walking. The author's orders were simple enough. Keep it under 400 words and mention the word "coffee" at least once. Now these essays, originally destined for coffee can labels, can be enjoyed by everyone- coffee drinkers or tea totalers.
After Birth: Unconventional Writings from the Mommylands
By Jenny Fiore
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 27,450. Language: English. Published: July 17, 2013 by Possibilities Publishing. Category: Nonfiction
Through contemplative essays, tongue-in-cheek screenplay excerpts, and saucily imagined correspondence, Fiore shares her hilarious and poignant experiences as a mother in today’s world of how-to manuals and helicopter parenting.
Coffee Break Edumacation
By Michael Pollick
Series: Lost Story House Coffee and Stowbilly Essays. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,650. Language: English. Published: July 24, 2013. Category: Fiction
Want something fast and funny to read about coffee while you're actually drinking the stuff? These short coffee-related essays first appeared on gourmet coffee can labels, but now can be enjoyed by the non-caffeinated and caffeinated alike. Download this sample collection and read it while sipping your next cuppa joe. Order the entire collection, "Coffee Can Chronicles", through Smashwords.
I Was A Teenage Stowbilly
By Michael Pollick
Series: Lost Story House Coffee and Stowbilly Essays. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,400. Language: English. Published: July 25, 2013. Category: Fiction
Although these essays are set in the author's hometown of Stow, Ohio, they could just as easily be from anyone's childhood hometown of legend and lore. If you remember tetherball, dodge ball, endless hallways, thought-provoking lunch food and other things from schooldays, you'll enjoy this sample collection from Michael Pollick. The entire collection, "A Very Stowbilly Sampler" is also available.
Tales From The Coffee Pot
By Michael Pollick
Series: Lost Story House Coffee and Stowbilly Essays. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,570. Language: English. Published: August 13, 2013. Category: Fiction
"Tales From The Coffee Pot" is another sampler collection of coffee-related humor essays by Michael Pollick. Hang out with Keef Richards, dance a mean bossa nova with Lawrence Welk, enjoy a dead hotdog walking and discover what REALLY happened to Saturday morning cartoons. Look for the entire essay collection, Coffee Can Chronicles, at SMASHWORDS, or order "Collected Works (And Dry Goods)".
Wise Men and Other Stories: Lessons from the Holidays on Santa, God, Heaven, Death and More Fun Stuff from Someone Who Still Has a Lot to Learn
By Mike O'Mary
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 22,720. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2013 by Dream of Things. Category: Nonfiction
"Wise Men and Other Stories" is a collection of holiday-related essays that blends humor and poignancy in the tradition of Robert Fulghum, Dave Barry, Bill Bryson, P.J. O'Rourke and other great American humorists. "O'Mary has a gift for simple, frank exposition of life's most poignant moments," says author Stephen Parrish. In Wise Men and Other Stories, O'Mary shares that gift with all of us.