Books tagged: libraries

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 27 results

Lightning: A Machine of Death short story
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,200. Language: English. Published: January 24, 2012. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
Liz is a librarian becoming disillusioned with her career. As she navigates another day of apathetic public service, she notices a Machine of Death slip left behind as a bookmark by a patron, labeled "Lightning." Liz doesn't know if the bookmark is a piece of someone's past or a warning for the future. Whose bookmark is it, and does Liz want to meet a doomed patron?
Death by Chocolate
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 64,720. Language: English. Published: March 15, 2012. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Public libraries are supposed to be calm and peaceful places, but a murder can happen almost anywhere. When a corpse is discovered in Victoria Public Library's Conference Room, the library staff become suspects as well as potential victims. Set in the pre-Internet days of the mid-1980s, Death by Chocolate is a mystery and a nostalgic look behind the scenes of the library.
Ask Your Librarian: Letters to Youth
By
Price: Free! Words: 12,170. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2012. Category: Essay » Literature
A series of questions about libraries posed by youth and answered by future librarians at Wayne State University; practicing librarians; and library science professors. Edited by Kafi D. Kamasi, Ph.D., with a foreword by Carl A. Harvey, II, President of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL).
Participatory Networks: The Library as Conversation
By
Price: Free! Words: 13,190. Language: English. Published: May 21, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Organizations & institutions
Knowledge is created through conversation. Conversations can take place between friends and colleagues in the “here and now.” But, they can also take place over centuries, with the participants changing but the theme remaining the same, and the conversation being recorded in thousands of artifacts, like books, pictures, and digital files. In many conversations users need sophisticated processes to
Expect More: Demanding Better Libraries For Today's Complex World
By
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 42,210. Language: English. Published: June 12, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Computers and Internet » Information theory
In Expect More, David Lankes, winner of the 2012 ABC-CLIO/Greenwood Award for the Best Book in Library Literature, walks you through what to expect out of your library.
Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Information Literacy 
But Were Afraid to Google
By
Price: Free! Words: 28,220. Language: English. Published: December 18, 2012. Category: Essay » Technology
A collection of reflections about information and digital literacy practice in schools, libraries, support organizations, and informal learning settings. Note to Smashwords users: hyperlinks may not be functional in the HTML or JavaScript versions but are active in the .epub and .mobi downloads.
The Kirkham Community Fiction Anthology
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,570. Language: English. Published: February 19, 2013. Category: Fiction » Anthologies » General
An anthology of prose and poetry written by members of the Kirkham community.
Foley Russel and That Poor Girl
By
You set the price! Words: 22,660. Language: Australian English. Published: April 9, 2013. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Social Issues
When Foley Russel is assigned a book report and to meet a character from that book, he hopes for someone interesting like a circus midget or a Formula One driver. He's not anticipating a girl in a wheelchair, and he's certainly not expecting to like her. After all, she's not even normal, is she?
The Battle of the Books In Plain and Simple English (Translated)
By
Series: Plain and Simple English, Book 91. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,840. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2013. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
"The Battle of the Books" is considered one of the greatest political satires ever written. The essay is as hilarious today as it was hundreds of years ago...if you can understand it! If you have struggled in the past reading the satire, then BookCaps can help you out. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying
Get More Out of Your Fiction: A Mini Journal for Book Clubs, Libraries, and Book Lovers
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 260. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2013. Category: Fiction » Romance » General
Learn more about yourself through fiction. This is a perfect companion guide to lead book club discussion and a wonderful guide for fans of Goodreads.com and Amazon.com. Perfect for all categories of romance, general fiction, young adult, and even mystery novels.