Books tagged: modern

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 219 results (Try using more keywords)

Generation 2K
By
Price: Free! Words: 1,470. Language: English. Published: August 1, 2011. Category: Fiction » Inspirational
A fictional speech given some 50 years in the future to an audience born in the last 10-15 years of the 20th century, this short piece reflects a vision of a better tomorrow created by the hard work and dedication of my generation.
The Hole Between Mine and Yours: Liquid Logic from a Dirty Tumbler
By
Price: Free! Words: 9,710. Language: English. Published: August 14, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Humor and satire
Waves of words about science and sin
Channel Zero
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,850. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Infidelity, drinking, work, lovers, family and friends— Channel Zero is a novel that deals with all of the compelling, provocative issues that we face every day. In the tradition of Raymond Carver, G.H. Thomason has written a moving, realistic portrait of Charlie and Linda Rivers and their friends as they struggle to make the right decisions and live with the consequences, when they don't.
Black Tie
By
Price: Free! Words: 21,370. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » General
Trapped in the desert you must unravel the mystery of the obelisk. Follow a man into a strange and secretive world as he fights to survive and to solve the puzzle of his own imprisonment.
Breaking a Sunbeam
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 127,000. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
how far will a man go to save the woman he loves? most would say all the way until the day comes when fantasy becomes reality. breaking a sunbeam is modern day action-packed thriller with a touch of horror, vividly describing how ordinary people can risk everything and put their own lives in danger when a loved one is threatened.
Children's Fantasy: Where Dragons Fly - Book 1: Night of the Drackin
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 46,080. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2011. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Thirteen year-old twins, Cirra and Jace, learn that dragons are real when a youngling Tonk falls into their modern-day lives. The magic hole it fell through is 200 miles straight up and the dragon is too small to fly that high. The hole will close in 24 hours, and that will seal the little dragon’s death. To save Tonk, the twins must outsmart a brutal sheriff and a killer. Both want the dragon.
Desert Chronicles - III, Forts of Rajasthan
By
Series: Desert Chronicles, Book 3. Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 28,170. Language: English. Published: November 9, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » History » Asian
This is the third in the series I am writing called the Desert Chronicles. This one is on the stone sentinels or forts located within the state of Rajasthan, India. Rajasthan was a war zone from 5th century onwards until after independence. Its constant guardians have been the forts and watch towers guarded by brave, sacrificing and sometimes reckless generation of Rajputs.
Robi-mesék
By
Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 10,970. Language: Hungarian. Published: November 13, 2011. Category: Fiction » Children’s books » Fairy tales & fables
Robi apukája egy erdész, aki úgy tartja, hogy amit nem lát, az nincs is! Nincsenek csodák, manók, óriások, törpék és természetesen Erdőtündér sem. Így aztán nincs irigylésre méltó helyzetben, mert Robi gyakran felrúgja ezt a raklap-egyszerű világot.
Macbeth In Plain and Simple English (A Modern Translation and the Original Version)
By
Series: Plain and Simple English, Book 6. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 54,970. Language: English. Published: December 6, 2011. Category: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides
Murder? Witchcraft? Ghost? It's all in Macbeth. But if you're like many people, you just don't get it! If you don't understand Shakespeare, then you are not alone. If you have struggled in the past reading Shakespeare, then BookCaps can help you out. This book is a modern translation of Macbeth. The original text is also presented in the book, along with a comparable version of the modern text.
Въжеиграчът Карой (Bulgarian edition)
By
Series: Български разкази / Bulgarian Short Stories, Book 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 62,180. Language: Bulgarian. Published: December 7, 2011. Category: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Anthology
„Въжеиграчът Карой” ще ви вкара в светове създадени от непокорни думи и ще ви върне забравеното удоволствие от четенето. Разказите са разделени тематично: „Плажът”, „Optimistic SF”, “До вчера”, “Surreal & Sublime”. Лятото и морето ще ви залеят в „Плажа”, където големите истории се случват веднъж и на другия ден пясъкът е невъзмутимо равен. Част от разказите са публикувани в сборника "Лунатици"