Books tagged: neglected children

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 7 results

Once Upon a Summer
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 4,600. Language: English. Published: June 8, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Holiday » Humorous
Sissy, 6, and Jim, 8, have been sent to their father, the community drunk, for the summer, hoping to find food and a kind word from the man they barely know. Always hungry, obviously unwanted, Sissy repeats "Thank the Lord" at every meal, which their grandmother, aunt and uncle find obnoxious. When their father finally speaks to Sissy and Jim it is in the form of a strange goodbye.
Invisible Kids Marcus Fiesel's Legacy
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 66,050. Language: English. Published: December 3, 2011 by Transmedia Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Parenting, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Child abuse
Every so often a story hits the headlines and for a brief moment people awaken to the plight of a child in foster care. These stories are not uncommon, they are just not often told. Invisible Kids reveals an insider’s view of foster care—the successes and the failures—and details how the foster care system can be improved. It tugs at the heartstrings and motivates action.
Pursuing Hope - A Journey From Sorrow to Triumph
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 60,060. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Christian » General
Follow the journey of a boy who faces an uncertain future of abuse and neglect. Abandoned at an orphanage Rick must learn to survive and ultimately finds faith, hope and healing.
Behind the Curtains
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 42,660. Language: English. Published: August 31, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational
A novel about romance, family, and overcoming personal struggles, Behind the Curtains tells the story of a humble boy born on a small Caribbean island who suffered from abject poverty and was abandoned by his parents at an early age. Marked by the negative experiences of his childhood, he did all he could to overcome his past and follow the path to success. Based on a true story.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
He.
Price: Free! Words: 24,960. Language: English. Published: July 17, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Poetry » Biography
"He." is a collection of experiences from the life of a young multicultural woman and the various men who influence the path her life takes.
Humane Children Society
Price: $1.29 USD. Words: 6,230. Language: English. Published: September 4, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Social Issues
Donny Langston is an innocent child who always believed the Human Children Society was “Wonder Land”. When his best friend gets taken, he cannot wait for his turn. But the Humane Children Society is not what it seems.