Books tagged: social satire

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 16 results

POP-splat
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 48,370. Language: English. Published: April 24, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
(4.25)
A prominent businessman is murdered in an apparent hijacking. For Matt Dreyer the death of his father seems like murder most foul. This disturbed Hamlet of the 21st century sets off on a tortuous and bloody hell ride to track down his father’s killers. Ian Martin's POP-Splat looks at today’s South Africa through cynical eyes and uses his unique brand of sick humor to satirize a sick society.
Healthy or Else
Price: Free! Words: 5,210. Language: English. Published: June 18, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
(4.33)
A speculative satire about the health care industries assuming dictatorial powers in a recognizable near future society. Healthy or Else tells the story of one family's brush with the health care regime and what happens to these good people. The trends are in play; the future may not be as far away as you think.
Alien Report Card: In Which a Real-Life Alien Being Gives Us a Progress Report on the Human Condition
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 11,810. Language: English. Published: June 30, 2010 by K&R Creative Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » New Age » Aliens and UFOs, Nonfiction » Entertainment » Humor and satire
Meet Bonobo. He's an alien from outer space who's stranded on Earth, and he's taken time out from his busy schedule of taste-testing margaritas and chocolate to give us a report card on the human condition. Illustrated with highly technical stick-figure artwork, Bonobo gives us an outsider's perspective on human politics, sex, marriage, technology, toilet paper, and much, much more.
Manhattan Sharks
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 72,930. Language: English. Published: May 12, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
A satire of corporate culture, job-hunting, and America's obsession with status and career success. In the tradition of Bonfire of the Vanities, Clockwatchers, Dilbert, and The Office.
Bad Romance (Seven Deadly Sins): Walkthrough
Price: Free! Words: 7,060. Language: English. Published: May 15, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Educational, Fiction » Literature » Literary criticism
The Bad Romance Anthology is a pop culture inspired short story collection, which links star-crossed lovers to each of the seven deadly sins. In this promotional eBook, Jess C Scott talks about the themes and inspirations behind her (unintentionally satirical) project. GENRE: Education (Reference / Commentary) * * * LENGTH: 5,400 Words * * * By author/artist/non-conformist, Jess C Scott
Jesus Christ in Latter Day Hackensack
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,390. Language: English. Published: March 19, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General, Essay » Literature
In this Woody Allen meets the Bible fantasy-satire, Jesus Christ makes a time travel visit to 21st Century New Jersey, walks into a bar, and finds himself trying to answer the question: "What do you do?" It turns out that he's hired a Jewish lawyer to examine the fine print on his contract for the Redemption of Mankind. Next, the Buddha gets a lecture from Berkowitz the headhunter. And Gandhi . .
Career Moves For Burnt Out Personifications
Price: Free! Words: 12,550. Language: English. Published: May 1, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Graphic novels & comics » Fantasy, Fiction » Humor & comedy » Black comedy
(5.00)
Santa, the Grim Reaper, and others scramble to find new careers and identities. Political and social satire. “A smorgasbord of paranoid ramblings.”
Hanging Lies
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 115,310. Language: English. Published: June 1, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Sports
Legacy Ridge is a gated Eden that is home to an assembly of newly minted millionaires and one the most magnificent golf courses ever built. However an unscrupulous real estate developer has erected the entire community upon a foundation of deceit. When a brilliant young golfer appears on the scene, the rich residents’ closely held secrets and long buried lies are suddenly thrust into the light.
Bedtime Stories for Insomniacs
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 56,170. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013 by Tenth Street Press. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Humor & comedy » Parody
First there was, or were, "Fractured Fairy Tales." Then "Politically Correct Fairy Tales." Then all those "Shrek" movies. Now, just when you thought you'd had about enough, here comes "Bedtime Stories for Insomniacs" to take you where "Once upon a time" never managed to take you before!
First Sign of the Badger
Price: Free! Words: 23,830. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Essay » Author profile
First Sign of the Badger is a wildly inconsistent collection of writings from my youth. Award winning short stories are mixed with poems from grade school and memoirs of early adulthood. The topics vary greatly. From a narrative process essay about washing your car, to stories about greed and love, a poem about having dry hands, and more... There's likely something here for everyone.