The Macedonian (Privateers & Gentlemen)

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Captain Favian Markham, USN, is a man surrounded by secrets. Secrets that will be revealed when he is court-martialed for losing his ship. Secrets held by his mistress Caroline. And the greatest secret of the War of 1812, a secret which will be revealed once Favian breaks the enemy blockade in The Macedonian, a frigate stolen from his own government . . . More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Walter Jon Williams

Walter Jon Williams is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Hardwired, Voice of the Whirlwind, Deep State, and This Is Not a Game.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Clyde Wisham on Sep. 19, 2012 :
"The Macedonian" continues the story of Captain Favian Markham, USN, that began in Walter Jon Williams' "Brig of War". Things pick up pretty much were they left off in the previous book. (Though you need not have read it to enjoy "The Macedonian".) The war of 1812 continues. While awaiting his next command, Markham becomes involved in chasing down a spy ring that has been signaling the British blockade fleet. Then when a fortuitous storm gives an opportunity to break the blockade, Markham basically steals the frigate Macedonian and heads out to do battle with the British in the Atlantic. (Well, actually, he takes command of the Macedonian under somewhat shaky orders from a senior captain—there being no time to communicate with Navy headquarters.) From that point there is lots of action involving deep water sailing and naval combat. Walter Jon Williams obviously did a lot of research for this book and it shows in his very vivid descriptions of what it was like on an American naval vessel in the early 1800's.
This is a very good book. Recommended for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Report this book