Reprisal

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
The CIA taught them the worlds’ greatest government secrets, then told them to hide, to disappear forever. Years later as those secrets begin to leak, they became hunted and executed by their own country for all of the wrong reasons. Betrayed at the highest level, one woman seeks the truth, along the way dispensing her own justice to those responsible.

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Published by Inknbeans Press
Words: 55,940
Language: English
ISBN: 9781301288687
About Jim Burkett

Jim Burkett was born in a small coal mining town of West Virginia while his father was serving in Korea. Once his father returned, the family was transferred to Hawaii were they spent the next five years stationed at Hickum Air Force Base. While stationed in Hawaii, Jim spent as much time touring the submarines while they were in port as he was allowed.

Their next tour took them to MacDill Air Force Base in Florida. For six years, he spent his weekends going with his father to the different base facilities, often allowed permission to spend time with the airmen and officers listening to and watching as they went about their assignments, working on the planes and transports mechanics. At the age of 13, he lost his father who by this time was serving overseas once again.

Years later, while pursuing a Computer Science degree, he met his future wife Cathy and they were married a year and a half later. Still married after 35 years, they have two sons and have been blessed with two grandchildren.

In addition to his current Senior Systems Analyst position, he also serves as a senior staff photographer for a local magazine in the Tampa Bay area. Previously, he wrote a column for the SouthWinds Sailing magazine and worked on several projects including spending a week photographing the Canadian Olympic Team prior to the Beijing Olympics and the “Earthrace” boat which would later set a world speed record circumnavigating the globe. In 2006, he received the “Volunteer of the Year” award for his work with the Pediatric Cancer Foundation.

Through his photography and writing, he feels privileged to have met and spent time with such men as General Tommy Franks, George Steinbrenner, Pete Bethune and Steve Yerrid to name only a few. One of his closest friends is a retired Secret Service agent who once served on Presidential detail under six presidents.

Holding close to his military roots, he has continued to study military history and high-tech science and blends these into his first book Declaration of Surrender. Holding close to his two grandchildren, he has also developed a series of picture books for pre-readers and early readers called the Read With Me, Pops series.

Also in The Nick West Series

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Reviews

Review by: Bruce Hunt on Sep. 11, 2012 :
“Reprisal”, the third in author Jim Burkett’s espionage-thriller Nick West series, is his best yet. Ace operative Nick West is tasked with hunting down leaked data from an off-the-books government black operation that dates back to the cold war era. But it quickly becomes difficult for West to tell who the good guys and the bad guys (and gals) are. Burkett applies his vast expertise in computers and cyber-security to great effect and “Reprisal” delivers a multi-layered plot and complex characters. Don’t worry—there’s also lots of fast combat, fast cars, and fast women—plenty of intrigue for both techies and adrenaline junkies! Fans of Vince Flynn and Robert Ludlum will love Jim Burkett.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Report this book