Come Dance a Cumbia... With Stars in your Hand!

The sci-fi thriller Come Dance a Cumbia…with Stars in your Hand! completes “The Chaos Chronicles Trilogy,” a vision of the future that is troubling, inspiring, and astounding.

Action, suspense, and intrigue are found in this star-hopping modern sci-fi saga that combines elements of space opera with new perspectives on today’s problems. More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Steven M. Moore

Born in California, Steve Moore reversed the adage “Go West, young man,” living twelve years in South America before settling in the Northeast. His training as a mathematician and physicist and his interests in music, robotics, genetics, and scientific ethics are evident in his story telling. Although he writes mostly mysteries, thrillers, sci-fi, and their combinations, it is the human condition that intrigues him—those idiosyncrasies and crazy internal contradictions that plague us all. He also believes that humanity’s only salvation is for society to encourage creative individuals who “think outside the box.”

Steve grew up “cutting his teeth” on the great dystopian sci-fi thrillers of the 1950s and 60s—Fahrenheit 451 by Bradbury, No Blade of Grass by Christopher, Not This August by Kornbluth, and many others. The short stories of Phillip K. Dick—“Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” (made into the movie Blade Runner), “Minority Report,” “Paycheck,” “The Adjustment Team” (made into the movie The Adjustment Bureau), “Total Recall,” and others—inspired him long before they inspired Hollywood. They led him to the “dark classics”: Wells’ The Time Machine, Huxley’s Brave New World, Koestler’s Darkness at Noon, and Orwell’s 1984. Unlike the dark classics, in Steve’s novels there is always hope. Moreover, here in The Secret Lab you will find some evidence of an off-beat and irreverent humor that is interwoven even through his more serious works.

Steve’s dystopian vision of humanity’s possible futures is now associated with his concept of social singularity. His novels The Midas Bomb, The Golden Years of Virginia Morgan, Full Medical, Evil Agenda, No Amber Waves of Grain, and Soldiers of God, taken in their chronological order (not the order in which they were written), lead up to and through this singularity. The novel Survivors of the Chaos passes through it and is followed by Sing a Samba Galactica and Come Dance a Cumbia...with Stars in Your Hands! Soldiers ends with a bang, Survivors describes the whimper, and Cumbia trumpets hope. The story of the Fearsome Four and Mr. Paws is a light-hearted detour from such serious matters—it is serious fun, though, as some of the themes treated in The Secret Lab are very important ones.

Steve now dedicates full time to his writing career. He has published sixteen novels, four series, and three short story collections. His newest stand-alone sci-fi novel, More than Human: The Mensa Contagion, will be available soon on Smashwords and its retailers.

After many years in the Boston area, his wife and he now make their home in New Jersey. Besides his novels, he has written many short stories and over thirty academic publications. Visit him at his website where you will find excerpts and other freebies as well as a blog that contains many posts about the coming social singularity, book reviews, interviews, and irreverent tips on writing (look for "News and Notices from the Writing Trenches" on most Fridays). You can also find Steve on Google+.

Also in Series: Chaos Chronicles

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book