The Raven and the Plague

Rated 4.33/5 based on 3 reviews
A world with Fyre Goblins and Serpent Riders, with sunken cities and Seer towers, and with mortals and immortals. A world everyone wants for themselves.

The Five Kingdoms languish beneath the wiles of vengeful immortals and only a small group decides to take them on. Rogue immortals team up with a few mortal misfits to stand against the tide. More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb html

First 5% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Fiction » Fantasy » Epic
Words: 109,820
Language: English

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Shannon Maechling on July 21, 2013 :
Overall, the writing of this story is much more concise and engaging. The dialogue is strong and consistent. There isn’t a lot of info-dropping, but rather dialogues and scenes of subtle clues and hints to suggest at what the author will eventually reveal at the finale. There are so many little things I liked, such as the multiple point of views (Shale, Mendall, Fleetwing, King Jalmor, Olivina, Obsidian, and more). I also liked that Shale’s other companions gained more abilities, and that we learned more about the abilities they had already possessed – like Laris’ trance dance. There were many scenes that contained fantastic imagery (such as the Glean tree and Elsik village that Shale reveals to Mishra and Noran) – hopefully someday an awesome artist will draw those scenes!

I’m looking forward to book three and am a bit upset that I couldn’t find more information about it or its anticipated publication date. If Mancey offers ARCs for the next book – I will be begging her for a copy to read and review!

Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will like this series.

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Appropriate for ages 14 & up.

For my extended review, please see:
http://maechs.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/the-raven-and-the-plague-those-that-rise-from-legend-2-by-m-m-mancey/
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: Bob Craton on May 30, 2013 :
I enjoyed the first book in this series and started this volume as soon as I finished part I. It's actually a little better than the first. Part I had two story lines which centered on the characters Shale (a young apprentice magician) and Olivinia (a powerful Seer). When those two met, the story lines merged into one.

Part II is more complex with multiple story lines told from the POVs of different characters. Despite the complexity and number of characters, I had no trouble following the plot. And the plot is exciting and keeps you reading, with lots of old secrets which are gradually revealed. As before, this volume is a 'to-be-continued' tale with a cliffhanger ending which left me eager for part III. The characters are well developed and each is a unique individual (just like in real life - well, except for their magical talents). I admit that I like lengthy tales of this type.

There is more violence than in part I, mostly in the form of a plague. I hate spoilers but I don't think I'm giving anything away since plague is part of the title. I still don't think anything in it would be disturbing to teens and would rate it as a PG-13 movie - meaning it qualifies for the young adult genre as well as adult.

The plot and characters are excellent. I will say that I found some typos and format errors (line spacing, etc.) of the type which can occur when you upload an eBook. However, the number was not large and did not distract my attention from the story in any way.
(reviewed within a week of purchase)

Review by: matthew smith on April 02, 2013 :
If you've read the first one and liked it, I think you will love this one. We are given much more of the background on everyone involved, including backgrounds on the races, which sucked me in more because you aren't just told it outright but learn it as our hero Shale does. I would, and have, recommend this book to lovers of the fantasy genre.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Report this book