Mind Cafe

Rated 3.80/5 based on 5 reviews
The Mind Café: death’s waiting room and the only refuge for a woman trapped in her body after a tragic accident leaves her unable to do anything but watch the world and think. A fiction, paranormal short story just under 5,000 words, part of a larger collection of stories depicting a day in the life of the unique.
Download: epub mobi (Kindle) pdf more read online

Price: Free! USD

Words: 4,920
Language: English
ISBN: 9781458143310
About Lizzy Ford

Please visit our website to join our mailing list for updates on Lizzy Ford releases!

Lizzy Ford is the author of over twenty novels written for young adult and adult paranormal romance readers, to include the internationally bestselling Rhyn Trilogy, Witchling Trilogy and the War of Gods series. Considered a freak of nature by her peers for the ability to write and release a commercial quality novel in under a month, Lizzy has focused on keeping her readers happy by producing brilliant, gritty romances that remind people why true love is a trial worth enduring.

Lizzy's books are available from Amazon, BN, Smashwords, iBooks/iTunes, and all other eReader libraries. They include:

Voodoo Nights (Young Adult Series) - published by Evatopia Press
"Cursed" (2014)
"Chosen" (2014)

Broken Beauty Serials - published by Evatopia Press
"Broken Beauty" (2013)
"Broken World" (2013)

Incubatti - published by Evatopia Press
"Zoey Rogue" (2013)
"Zoey Avenger" (2014)

Heart of Fire Series
"Charred Heart" (2013)
"Charred Tears" (2013)
"Charred Hope" (2014)

Hidden Evil Series
"Hear No" (2013)
"See No" (2014)
"Speak No" (2014)

Rhyn Trilogy:
"Katie's Hellion" (2011)
"Katie's Hope" (2011)
"Rhyn's Redemption" (2012)
Short story: "Rhyn Trilogy: Origins" (2011)

Rhyn Eternal series:
"Gabriel's Hope" (2012)
"Deidre's Death" (2013)
"Darkyn's Mate" (2013)
"The Underworld" (2014)

War of Gods (Damian) Series:
"Damian's Oracle" (2011)
"Damian's Assassin" (2011)
"Damian's Immortal" (2011)
"The Grey God" (2012)

Damian Eternal:
"Xander's Chance" (2013)
"The Black God" (2014)

Foretold Trilogy (YA fantasy)
"Elle's Journey" (2011)
"Shadow Rising" (2014)
"The Journey West" (2015)

Anshan Saga:
"Kiera's Moon" (2011)
"Kiera's Sun" (2014)

Witchling Series - Published by Evatopia Press:
"Dark Summer" (2012)
"Autumn Storm" (2012)
"Winter Fire" (2013)
"Spring Rain" (2014)

Single Titles:
"Seer's Kiss" (2014)
"Water Spell" (2014)
"Star Kissed" (2013)
"Rebel Heart" (2012)
"A Demon's Desire" (2011)
"Maddy's Oasis" (2011)
"The Warlord's Secret" (2011)

Lizzy loves hearing from her readers, so feel free to follow her on Twitter (@LizzyFord2010), Facebook (Lizzy Ford) or contact her through her site, www.guerrillawordfare.com!

Also by This Author


Review by: Patrick Gordon on Feb. 11, 2014 :
I really liked this book I only wished it were longer. I liked the character Rosie and her courage to live with her condition. I thought the concept of how she was able to retreat into her self to a place called the mind cafe was very interesting. I also liked that people came to visit her as they die. I felt it was really sad that she was stuck there and she could only watch as family and loved ones came and went.
(review of free book)

Review by: Sarah O'Hara on May 09, 2012 :
An interesting view on what happens to those who are comatose, and how they spend their time. It's good, though I don't particularly like how it ended.
(review of free book)

Review by: Sarah (Workaday Reads) on June 30, 2011 :
Rosie suffered a tragic accident as a young woman, and was left as a living vegetable. She can't move or talk, all she does is sit and think. The Mind Cafe is a place she has created in her mind where she talks to her loved ones.

Reading this, I was fulled with overwhelming sadness. Rosie's story is never fully revealed, but what you do learn is tragic. Rosie has been a "living vegetable" for decades. Her sole wish is to die, and yet she lives, year after year.

The story mostly revolves around conversations with visitors within the Mind Cafe. These were emotional, and felt like real conversations.

This is a very short story, and quick read, but the emotions stirred up will stick with you for a while. This is definitely not a light-hearted read, but still one you should check out. I will definitely be reading the other stories the author has written.
(review of free book)

Review by: John Davis on March 28, 2011 :
didn't care for it. confusing at times & didn't make much sense in places.
(review of free book)

Review by: Flying With Red Haircrow on Jan. 07, 2011 :
"Dialogue was naturally flowing and enjoyable. The descriptions were perfectly on time, just enough for you to visualize and build upon in your own mind, without slowing the pace...."

Read full review at http://flyingwithredhaircrow.wordpress.com/
(review of free book)

Report this book