Lizzie's Tale

Rated 4.50/5 based on 2 reviews
In 1963 Lizzie is raped by three men in Sydney when fifteen. She becomes pregnant but is determined not to surrender her child for adoption.

This is a novel about a girl from inner Sydney. Her family is poor, her father dies when she is nine and life is hard. It is story of her struggle to survive and make a life of her own, first as a prostitute, then with her child in a remote outback town. More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 30% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 62,140
Language: English
ISBN: 9781311406361
This book participated in the 2013 National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).

Goal reached!
Stats, as of November 27, 2013:
57374 words completed (goal: 50000)
Average words/day: 57374

About Graham Wilson

Graham Wilson lives in Sydney Australia. He has completed and published seven books, published by Smashwords.

The first, a novel called "The Old Balmain House" is based on an old a weatherboard cottage in Sydney where he lived. Here a photo was discovered of a small girl who lived and died about 100 years ago.

The book imagines the story of her life and family, based in the real Balmain, an early inner Sydney suburb, with it's real locatons and and historical events providing part of the story background..

The second novel in this series, Lizzie's Tale" builds on "The Old Balmain House" setting, It is the story of a working class teenage girl who lives in this same house in the 1950s and 1960s, It tells of how, when she becomes pregnant she is determined not to surrender her baby for adoption, and of her struggle to survive in this unforgiving society. A third novel in this series, Devil's Choice has just been released. It follows the next generation of the family in Lizzie's Tale. Lizzie's daughter is faced with the awful choice of whether to seek the help of one of her mother's rapists' in trying to save the life of her own daughter who is inflicted with an incurable disease.

Graham has also written a family memoir "Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope." It tells of his childhood in an aboriginal community in remote Arnhem Land, in Australia's Northern Territory, one of its last frontiers. It tells of the people, danger and beauty of this place, and of its transformation over the last half century with the coming of aboriginal rights and the discovery or uranium. It also tells of his surviving an attack by a large crocodile.

He has also written the first three of a series of five novels based in Outback Australia, called the Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series. The first novel "Just Visiting." tells the story of an English backpacker who visits the Northern Territory and becomes captivated and in great danger from a man who loves crocodiles. The second book in the series, "The Diary" follows the consequences of the first book based around the discovery of this man's remains and his diary and the main character being placed on trial for murder. The third book, "The Empty Place" is about the struggle of the main character to retain her sanity in jail while her family and friends desperately try to find out what really happened on that fateful day before it is too late. Two further books in 2015 will conclude this series, "The Lost Girls" and "Where Sunlit Shadows Dance." Lost Girls is scheduled for release in April 2015.

Graham is in the early stages of planning a memoir about his family's connections with Ireland called "Memories Only Remain"

Graham writes mostly for the creative pleasure it brings him. He is particularly gratified each time an unknown person chooses to download and read something he has written and write a review - good or bad, as this gives him an insight into what readers enjoy and helps him make ongoing improvements to his writing.

In his non writing life he is a wildlife veterinarian working with zoo animals and in conservation across Australia.

Also in Old Balmain House

Also by This Author


Review by: Kaz Morgan on Dec. 29, 2013 :
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and had trouble putting it down. The author drew me in and l felt as if l was experiencing the events, the good and the not so good, of the storyline alongside the main characters.

An enjoyable read.

I look forward to reading other publications by this author.
(review of free book)

Review by: Amanda Ryan on Dec. 19, 2013 :
I have recently discovered this author and like his work so much.

This book maintains the great standard, though it will no doubt go through some more editing to polish more.

But for something that was only written in November I think it is great.

The only thing I suggest is that if you have not read The Old Balmain House yet, which is the first book in this series, then do so. While the story stands alone it is improved further after reading this book
(review of free book)

Print Edition

Report this book