The Diary

Rated 4.75/5 based on 4 reviews
A fisherman finds a unidentified head in a waterhole in Northern Australia. What first appeared to be a crocodile attack turns into murder. Who is this man who no one seems to know.

Susan returns to England, pregnant.after her escape, now engaged to another man . Her past returns to haunt memories and dreams. She must read the diary of her former lover, she must decide the child's fate. More
Download: epub mobi (Kindle) pdf more Online Reader
Price: Free! USD
About Graham Wilson

Graham Wilson lives in Sydney Australia. He has completed and published six books, published by Smashwords.

The first, a novel called "The Old Balmain House" is based on an old a weatherboard cottage in Sydney where he lived. Here a photo was discovered of a small girl who lived and died about 100 years ago.

The book imagines the story of her life and family, based in the real Balmain, an early inner Sydney suburb, with it's real locatons and and historical events providing part of the story background..

The second novel in this series, Lizzie's Tale" builds on "The Old Balmain House" setting, It is the story of a working class teenage girl who lives in this same house in the 1950s and 1960s, It tells of how, when she becomes pregnant she is determined not to surrender her baby for adoption, and of her struggle to survive in this unforgiving society. A third novel in this series is planned for NaNoWriMo, following the next generation of the family in Lizzie'sTale.

Graham has also written a family memoir "Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope." It tells of his childhood in an aboriginal community in remote Arnhem Land, in Australia's Northern Territory, one of its last frontiers. It tells of the people, danger and beauty of this place, and of its transformation over the last half century with the coming of aboriginal rights and the discovery or uranium. It also tells of his surviving an attack by a large crocodile.

He has also written the first three of a series of five novels based in Outback Australia, called the Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series. The first novel "Just Visiting." tells the story of an English backpacker who visits the Northern Territory and becomes captivated and in great danger from a man who loves crocodiles. The second book in the series, "The Diary" follows the consequences of the first book based around the discovery of this man's remains and his diary and the main character being placed on trial for murder. The third book, "The Empty Place" is about the struggle of the main character to retain her sanity in jail while her family and friends desperately try to find out what really happened on that fateful day before it is too late. Two further books in 2015 will conclude this series, "The Lost Girls" and "Where Sunlit Shadows Dance."

Graham is in the early stages of planning a memoir about his family's connections with Ireland called "Memories Only Remain"

Graham writes mostly for the creative pleasure it brings him. He is particularly gratified each time an unknown person chooses to download and read something he has written and write a review - good or bad, as this gives him an insight into what readers enjoy and helps him make ongoing improvements to his writing.

In his non writing life he is a wildlife veterinarian working with zoo animals and on national parks.

Also in Crocodile Spirit Dreaming

Also by This Author


Review by: Jack Baker on May 05, 2014 :
Agree with comments of other reviewers about great plot and story gets you in. And yes, edits and tidying. Most of all, "The Diary" and "Just Visiting" have an authenticity of place and character. Wilson knows the natural environment and how to spin a yarn out of it.
(review of free book)

Review by: eddieR on March 16, 2014 :
I gave the first book "Just Visiting" five stars and the same for this. It is a great read from a new author who I have discovered. After book1 I thought I could guess where this would go and it was even better than expected with new twists. It will improve further with editing from this early draft but already one to remember. Hurry up with No 3
(review of free book)

Review by: vivascarlett on March 13, 2014 :
I really enjoyed this continuation of Just Visiting, and cant wait for the next part of the story.
(review of free book)

Review by: Amanda Ryan on March 12, 2014 :
I just love this author and this story. As a first draft there is clearly lots of room for improvement and tidying up with editing but the basic story has got me in, and the character of Susan as a person trapped by circumstances and logical but bad decisions is gripping. Her increasing social isolation and mental deterioration is an angle I had not thought of with such a bright and bubbly character in Book 1. My only suggestion is that a bit more work is needed on the logical consistency and flow of the story from Just Visiting to this book
(review of free book)

Report this book