First Duty

Rated 4.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Nyra Hutchings, a young woman born into a life of servitude on a repressive factory planet, is desperate for a different life. When she's accepted into the Space Service, run by the organization that enslaves her planet, she discovers the truth behind generations of rebellion. Now, she must decide what to believe, where her first duty lies, and fight for more than her life against impossible odds.

Available formats: epub, mobi, pdf, rtf, lrf, pdb, txt

First 25% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more read online
Words: 38,320
Language: English
ISBN: 9781452317489
About Marva Dasef

Born in Eugene, OR and a grad of the UofO, I still made a success of my life by constantly changing jobs and cashing in miserable 401K earnings. Finally, I decided to hell with it. If I'm going to be poor, I might as well be a writer. So, I R 1.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Wendy Cockcroft on Dec. 03, 2012 :
Finely detailed space opera that follows the story of space service cadet Nyra Hutchings as she discovers what it is to live as the subject of a corporate-controlled world — and that it's not her only option.

A chance encounter with the insurgent Caspar leads her into a greater adventure than she could have imagined. As she tries to find the line between right and wrong, Nyra learns that some things are not worth sacrificing.

This is a pacy story that provides a researched, science-based look at what life in a future of space travel would be like. Nyra is vulnerable, naive, and grows as she learns through bitter experience that her choices have been made for her and she never had a real say in her life until she decided to throw off the corporate shackles that held her back.

I recommend this story for those readers who like Star Wars, Babylon 5, and stories that hold up a mirror to our own society.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book