From Powder Monkey to Admiral

Rated 3.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Orphaned and homeless young William (Henry) Rayner signs on to a Royal Navy frigate at the end of the 1700s in order to better his life. With his quick intelligence and devotion to duty he rises through the ranks from the foc'sle to command.

The first of two volumes Book I tells of Henry's rise from serving before the mast to becoming a midshipman.

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 40% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Richard Philbrick

Raised on Cape Cod. Lived in New Orleans for 10 years and left long before Katrina. Worked as a newspaper reporter, magazine editor, hospital public relations director and freelance writer before chucking it all and following my bliss which was to work on boats. Became a Coast Guard Licensed captain and worked for 20 years running yachts and small commercial craft including a three year stint as captain of a large sailboat on the French Riviera and sailing across the big pond in '91.

In my own small sailboat I single-handed from Fort Lauderdale to Mexico, Belize and the Rio Dulce in Guatemala and back.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Clay Lovell on April 14, 2011 :
Written in the tradition of Forester's Hornblower series, "From Powder Monkey to Admiral" is a fine and readable narrative. The title is a little misleading since it ends with the main character, Henry Rayner, having recently been made a midshipman. A far cry from admiral! Yes, I know there will be sequels to this book. The author does a fair job of keeping your interest as he tells the story of Rayner and his friends adventures. He has some knowledge of the time period and does not overwhelm you with details, but describes the action well enough to form a decent picture of what is happening. His prose those seems to be a bit outdated and at times reminded me more of Dickens than Forester.
Overall I would recommend this book. It is fairly light reading, but entertaining. His characters are believable, and mostly likeable. You will find yourself rooting for Henry and Jack Peek as they learn their chosen trade.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Report this book