Thief of Souls

Adult
Rated 3.67/5 based on 3 reviews
SOMETIMES A GIRL JUST WANTS THE BAD BOY…

Nicholas Anthony's spirit has been corrupted. A moment of spite four hundred years in the past turned him into an immortal monster. Now he is obsessed by an unnatural hunger, feasting on the good in others while seeking the good in himself. More

Available formats: epub, mobi, pdf, lrf, pdb

Price: $0.99 USD

Use the code SW100 at checkout to get this book for free during our site-wide promotion!
(Offer good through July 31, 2014)
Words: 90,170
Language: English
ISBN: 9781466039971
About Cynthia Wicklund

Cynthia Wicklund is a former Golden Heart finalist who writes Historical and Gothic romance and Urban Fantasy with romantic elements. She is currently published with Blush, the mainstream imprint of Ellora's Cave Publishing.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Sadie S. Forsythe on Nov. 20, 2013 :
I found this here on Smashwords, classified as PNR. While it does have a paranormal character and eventually a romance of sorts develops, I have a hard time seeing it as PNR. If anything I would call this horror, not the gory, bloody kind of horror but the suspenseful, emotionally terrifying sort.

There are almost no 'Awww' moments here, no budding hearts and flowers, or emotional outpourings. This is 'love' from a creepy stalker's point of view. Oddly, though the subject matter varies vastly and they have very little else in common, reading this book reminded me a lot of reading Vladimir Nabokov's Lolita. You spend a lot of time inside the deviant's unrepentant head, watching him manipulate and trap his victim. It's uncomfortable, to say the least.

And since it was previously classified as PNR I also found it confusing. There are certain expectations a person places on a book by virtue of it's genre. This book never conformed to my PNR expectations and until I finally forced myself to accept that it never would and to give up my preconceived notions I had a hard time going with the flow. The problem, of course, is that there isn't a horror romance genre to place it in. I have no doubt this is more a matter of finding the closest available genre, as opposed to an actual inaccurate genre.

None of this, however, is to suggest this isn't a good book. Because, like Lolita, being an uncomfortable read doesn't negate literary value or a story worth tolerating goose bumps for. Playing mental passenger to someone facing an obsession is an rare opportunity. While I cringed for Regina and kept waiting for her to find her miraculous inner strength, I also found Nick's selfish internal dialogue enlightening. His petty jealousies and purposeful isolation techniques told a story of their own, quite separate from what often left his mouth or even what he felt would be 'the right thing to do.'

I think the characters probably could have been fleshed out a bit more though, Regina especially. Other than seeing her fall for Nick's charisma we see very little of her personality. We also only get the bare bones of why Nick was cursed, and the punishment seemed a little server if you ask me. If we knew a bit more of about the man he was, instead of just what his single slight might have been, that might not be the case.

The book is what I would call a slow boil. It builds slowly, spends a lot of time cultivating a suspenseful atmosphere. Even hugely important events are treated with the same muted attention as everything else, as if the author is whispering it to you for fear she'll be overheard if she allows her excitement to give evidence to the gravity of the moment. As a result I found very little actual action, but I was still held rapt by the narrative.

I wouldn't suggest this for fans of J.R. Ward or Jeaniene Frost. It's not that sort of paranormal romance. Hitchcock fans, however, might find something here to appreciate. It has a similar kind of surreal, atmospheric horror feel to it.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Carol on March 24, 2013 :
This paranormal romance has more horror than usual with a twist on the vampire theme.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Punya on March 24, 2012 :
4.5 stars... Overall, it had a great twist on the regular vampire theme. The hero, Nick, was a compelling character, to say the least. Regina was smart... Even though I really liked the book, I had my moments of doubts and oddness throughout. I didn't know how a man like Nick would redeem himself. But thankfully, Ms. Wicklund saw to that and I couldn't help but fall for Nick. Her writing was great as usual.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Report this book