The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists

1 star1 star1 star1 star1 star
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.

Available formats: epub, mobi, pdf, rtf, lrf, pdb

First 10% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more read online
About Sarah Cypher

Sarah Cypher is a writer and book editor in Portland, Oregon. Before going freelance in 2003, she served as an assistant editor for the Carnegie Mellon University Press in Pittsburgh, and graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a B.A. in Creative Writing, also from CMU. In the summer of 2001 she attended Trinity College in Dublin on scholarship through the University of Iowa’s Writers’ Workshop. Now, besides editing manuscripts, she is a volunteer workshop facilitator for Write Around Portland, and her book reviews appear regularly in The Oregonian.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Erin Lopez on April 01, 2010 : star star star star star
"The writing world has waited for a crisp, clear guide for novelists equal to The Elements of Style. This is that book. Every fiction writer and every editor should own, read, and reread Sarah Cypher’s concise masterpiece." —Elizabeth Lyon, author of "Manuscript Makeover"

"The Editor's Lexicon is not only an essential tool for new writers, it's an invaluable immersion into the realm of storytelling. It transcends its surface function as a dictionary of literary terminology to create a contextual world of meaning for writers, one that reminds us of how many variables are involved and how essential the various storytelling elements become. Too many writers develop their stories outside of this awareness, they write organically and instinctively, and at their peril. This valuable book introduces the writer to the requisite building blocks of successful storytelling in a way that makes them immediately useful." --Larry Brooks, author of critically-acclaimed thrillers and "The Three Dimensions of Character"
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book