Bill Ransom

Biography

Bill Ransom was born in Puyallup, Washington, in 1945, and he began full-time employment at the age of eleven as an agricultural worker. He attended Washington State University on track and boxing scholarships, and the University of Puget Sound on a track scholarship. He received his BA in Sociology and English Education from the University of Washington in 1970.

From 1965 to 1970 Ransom worked as an expeditor on a Quick Engine Change team, building and repairing military and commercial jet engines. He studied American Minority Literature and Old and Middle English on an NDEA Title IV fellowship at the University of Nevada, Reno, then began a pilot project with the Poetry in the Schools program in Washington state. He received his MA in English from Utah State University. He founded and directed the popular Port Townsend Writers Conference for Centrum and appeared in two feature films: An Officer and a Gentleman and The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial (CBS).

He was a firefighter, firefighting basic training instructor, and CPR instructor for six years; and an Advanced Life Support Emergency Medical Technician for ten years in Jefferson County, Washington. He volunteers with humanitarian groups in Central America.

Ransom has published six novels, six poetry collections, numerous short stories and articles. Learning the Ropes (Utah State University Press), a collection of poetry, short fiction and essays, was billed as "a creative autobiography." Three of his short stories from this collection have been selections of the PEN/NEA Syndicated Fiction Project, often called "The Pulitzer Prize of the Short Story": "Uncle Hungry," "What Elena Said" and "Learning the Ropes." These appeared in the Sunday magazine editions of major newspapers around the country.

His poetry has been nominated for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award.

His most recent novel is Burn (Ace, 1995), a sequel to ViraVax (Ace, 1993). Recent poetry is in Puerto del Sol, Spillway and Petroglyph. Jaguar, a 1990 Ace paperback, came out on the internet via Alexandria Digital Literature in 1999, and was the first novel to outstrip short stories for the bestseller slot. Jaguar remained on the bestseller list from January through June, 2000, and is now available at fictionwise.com; Wildside Press re-released it as a physical book in 2001. With Richard Landerman, he wrote screenplays of his novels Jaguar, ViraVax and Burn.

Bill juried the 2007 Artists Trust Gap Grants and the Richard Hugo House short story contest, "Voices in Wartime."

Bill Ransom has a daughter and three grandchildren and he is currently Academic Dean of Curriculum at The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington.

Where to find Bill Ransom online


Books

Burn
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 93,540. Language: English. Published: July 15, 2011 by WordFire Press. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » High tech
A vivid thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton & Tom Clancy, BURN takes genetic research one step into a terrifying future: mankind's most frightening weapon, the man-made GenoVax contagion, brings a horrible death. When it is unleashed, the human race will know what it is like to burn. . . . From the author of Jaguar and ViraVax and the coauthor, with Frank Herbert, of The Jesus Incident.
ViraVax
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 101,670. Language: English. Published: July 4, 2011 by WordFire Press. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
In the private laboratory known as ViraVax, Rico Toledo has uncovered a horrifying truth. In this place, run by a mysterious group called the Children of Eden, the worst suspicions of ex-intelligence officer Toledo have been confirmed: his partner has been genetically programmed for assassination—and Toledo may have been altered too. Author's preferred text.
Jaguar
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 103,490. Language: English. Published: June 3, 2011 by WordFire Press. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
In waking life, he is a combat vet with a mysterious sleep disorder, confined to a VA hospital bed. When he sleeps, he roams the plains of another world, invading the minds of the people as they dream and forcing them to do his will. They call him . . . Jaguar.

Bill Ransom’s tag cloud

death    dreamwalk    dreamwalker    dreamwalking    engineering    fantasy    frank herbert    genetic    laboratory    mind control    pandora    paranormal    plague    sci fi    science fiction    vaccination    veteran    virus    weapon