Brent Hartinger

Publisher info

BRENT HARTINGER is an author, teacher, playwright, and screenwriter. Geography Club, the first book in his Lambda Award-winning Russel Middlebrook Series, is also a successful stage play and a feature film co-starring Scott Bakula and Nikki Blonsky. Brent's other books include the forthcoming gay teen thriller Three Truths and a Lie, and the forthcoming supernatural thriller The Divide (co-written with Michael Jensen). He also has a number of film projects in active development.

In 1990, Brent helped found one of the world's first LGBT teen support groups, in his hometown of Tacoma, Washington. In 2005, he co-founded the entertainment website AfterElton.com, which was sold to MTV/Viacom in 2006. He currently co-hosts a podcast called Media Carnivores from his home in Seattle, where he lives with his husband, writer Michael Jensen.

Where to find Brent Hartinger online


Books

Barefoot in the City of Broken Dreams
Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years, Book 2. Pre-release—available August 14, 2015. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 66,520. Language: English. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
Russel Middlebrook, gay and 24, has moved to Los Angeles with his boyfriend to try to make it as a screenwriter. But working in Hollywood isn't anything like it is in the movies, and Russel grows increasingly desperate to learn the secret to Tinseltown success. A "new adult" companion novel to 2014's The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know, by the author of the gay teen classic, Geography Club.
Kaksituhatta Tonnia Per Neliö
Price: Free! Words: 5,320. Language: Finnish. Published: January 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Erotica » Gay Erotica
Russel Middlebrook, teini-ikinen homo Brent Hartingerin palkitusta kirjasta Geography Club, menee HIV-testiin ja päätyy muistelemaan seksikokemuksiaan. Varoitus: Tässä lyhyessä tarinassa, joka on osa Real Story Safe Sex -projektia, kerrotaan seksikokemuksista sellaisina kuin ne ovat, kaunistelematta ja turhia kursailematta.
The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know
Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years, Book 1. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 62,520. Language: English. Published: December 15, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(4.00)
Twenty-three-year-old Russel Middlebrook searches for the secret to gay life and love in trendy Seattle. A "new adult" novel by the author of the gay teen classic, Geography Club.
Two Thousand Pounds Per Square Inch
Series: Russel Middlebrook. Price: Free! Words: 6,860. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Gay & Lesbian
(4.00)
Russel Middlebrook, the gay teen from Brent Hartinger's award-winning novel Geography Club, goes to get an HIV test and ends up recalling past sexual experiences. Warning: this short story, part of the Real Story Safe Sex Project, contains explicit language and graphic sexual encounters.
The Elephant of Surprise
Series: Russel Middlebrook. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 47,750. Language: English. Published: February 14, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Children’s books » Social Issues / Dating & Sex
Book 4 in the Lambda Award-winning Russel Middlebrook Series, about a gay teen and his romance with charismatic by mysterious homeless activist. Geography Club, the first book in this book series, is now a feature film co-starring Scott Bakula and Nikki Blonsky.
Double Feature: Attack of the Soul-Sucking Brain Zombies/Brides of the Soul-Sucking Brain Zombies
Series: Russel Middlebrook. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 57,510. Language: English. Published: November 22, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Gay & Lesbian
It’s a horror movie extravaganza in the third book in Brent Hartinger’s Russel Middlebrook Series. Two complete books in one recount the simultaneous stories of best friends Min and Russel who sign up to be extras on the set of a zombie film–-and learn that there’s nothing scarier than high school romance! Winner of the Lambda Book Award. (Previously published under the title Split Screen)
The Last Chance Texaco
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 43,640. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Mystery & Detective
Parentless teen Lucy Pitt has finally ended up at a group home that really feels like home. Problem is, someone wants it shut down -- and Lucy has to find out who or she'll be sent away for good. In the tradition of Holes and The Outsiders, Hartinger writes about a subculture of teenagers many people would like to forget, in a novel as fast-paced and provocative as his first book, Geography Club.
The Order of the Poison Oak
Series: Russel Middlebrook. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 42,140. Language: English. Published: March 10, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Gay & Lesbian
After "coming out" at school, sixteen-year-old Russel decides to take a counselor job at a camp for burn survivors to get away from the antagonism of his classmates, but finds that ten-year-old boys have just as many problems as he does. Book 2 in the Russel Middlebrook Series that started with Geography Club.

Brent Hartinger's tag cloud