Catherine Weir

Biography

Reading a borrowed copy of Tolstoy's 'Anna Karenina' at the age of fifteen inspired Catherine to learn Russian at school, a decision which ultimately led to a degree in Russian from Durham University and a life-long passion for Russian history.

She took her first trip to Russia during the Cold War. At a time when few westerners went there, she explored the country in an elderly Morris Minor car shipped to Leningrad on the deck of a Soviet freighter. Since then she has returned to Russia several times, most recently on her honeymoon in 2001.

Catherine, originally from Devon, England, now lives on a sailing boat in southern Turkey with her husband. She has a grown-up son and daughter.

Where to find Catherine Weir online


Books

Paulina Annenkova
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 121,160. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00)
December 1825. St Petersburg, Imperial Russia. Two lives torn apart by revolution. The true story of one woman’s determination to follow her destiny. For fans of Anna Karenina and Dr Zhivago. Published with full color maps, Paulina Annenkova is a sumptuous historical novel about power and passion in Imperial Russia.

Catherine Weir’s tag cloud