Duane Simolke

Biography

Duane Simolke wrote the books The Acorn Stories, Degranon, Holding Me Together, and New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio. He co-wrote The Return of Innocence and The Acorn Gathering: Writers Uniting Against Cancer. DuaneSimolke.Com includes some of his writing, as well as a variety of links.

Where to find Duane Simolke online


Where to buy in print


Books

Fat Diary
Series: Acorn, Texas. Price: Free! Words: 8,400. Language: English. Published: April 29, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
A West Texas librarian makes fun of herself and the other people in her town, while writing about her reasons for wanting to lose weight. This short story also appears in The Acorn Gathering, copyright 2002.
Selected Poems
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,760. Language: English. Published: May 8, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Entertainment, Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Entertainment
This short eBook includes the gay love poem “Home,” the strange story of “The Gardener,” and the comical “Angels and Razors,” as well as thirty other poems. These works also appear in Duane Simolke’s longer anthology Holding Me Together: Essays and Poems.
Holding Me Together: Essays and Poems
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 44,970. Language: English. Published: February 10, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Essays, Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Essays
Winner, StoneWall Society Pride in the Arts Award. This collection, quoted by many authors and Web masters, includes the multi-part essay Reactions to Homophobia, followed by poems and short essays on a variety of topics, such as writing, AIDS, religion, violence, family, friendship, and gay relationships. Holding Me Together counters homophobia, celebrates gay love, and promotes gay pride.
Stein, Gender, Isolation, and Industrialism: New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 51,000. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2009. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary criticism, Fiction » Literature » Literary criticism
Dr. Duane Simolke examines Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio, as it relates to Gertrude Stein, gender roles, failed communication, and the machine in the garden. Simolke also looks at Anderson's concerns about mechanization, loneliness, and the mistreatment of many people. Simolke also wrote The Acorn Stories, a story cycle in the tradition of Winesburg, Ohio.
Degranon: A Science Fiction Adventure
Series: Taldra, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 70,850. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2009. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Science fiction » General
Winner, StoneWall Society Pride in the Arts Award. The brilliant scientist Taldra loves her twin gay sons and sees them as the hope for Valchondria's future, but one of them becomes entangled in the cult of Degranon, while the other becomes stranded on the other side of a doorway through time. Can they find their way home and help Taldra save their world?
The Acorn Stories: West Texas Tales from a Lubbock Author
Series: Acorn, Texas, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 62,090. Language: English. Published: December 24, 2008. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
From romantic comedy to razor-sharp satire to moments of quiet reflection, Duane Simolke’s award-winning tales transform a fictional West Texas town into a tapestry of human experiences. “A lush tangle of small-town life branches out in this engrossing collection of short stories.” –Kirkus Reviews. “If you liked WINESBURG, OHIO…rejoice.” –Watchword.

Duane Simolke’s tag cloud