Hazel Holt

Biography

Hazel Holt has many devoted fans in the United States and Great Britain as a writer of “cosy” British mysteries; she has published nineteen Mrs. Malory novels to date. She is also known to admirers of Barbara Pym as the friend and biographer who edited Pym’s posthumous works.

Ms. Holt originated from Birmingham, England, where she attended King Edward VI High School for Girls. She graduated from Newham College, Cambridge, and went on to work at the International African Institute in London, where she met novelist Barbara Pym and became her official biographer with the critically acclaimed, A Lot to Ask: The Life of Barbara Pym.

Holt wrote her first novel in her sixties and is a leading crime novelist. She is best known for her “Sheila Malory” series. Her son is the novelist Tom Holt.

Hazel Holt was a personal friend and literary adviser to Barbara Pym and is Pym’s official biographer. A former television critic and feature writer, she lives in Somerset, England.

Where to find Hazel Holt online


Where to buy in print


Books

Death of a Dean
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 7. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 55,430. Language: English. Published: January 13, 2012 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Mrs. Malory’s friend David Beaumont is in trouble: he is broke and his acting career is on the skids. To keep his cottage, he must convince his nasty brother Francis to sell their jointly owned family home, currently occupied by their old nanny. Nana dies from a suspicious fall; then Francis is poisoned. Is David the killer? Mrs. Malory sets out to clear his name. The 7th Mrs. Malory mystery.
Superfluous Death
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 6. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 55,530. Language: English. Published: December 21, 2011 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Mrs. Malory’s sleuthing talents are tested once again when one of her friends, a sweet elderly lady, is poisoned. Miss Graham’s death is quite convenient for a local doctor; her refusal to move thwarted his construction project. But Mrs. Malory knows that nothing is as simple as it seems, especially when it is revealed that Miss Graham left a considerable fortune. A Mrs Mallory Mystery Book 6.
Murder on Campus
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 5. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 51,030. Language: English. Published: November 29, 2011 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Traditional British
No sooner does Sheila Malory arrive in America to teach at a small college than a very unpleasant colleague is found with a bullet in his head. The lead investigator, Lieutenant Landis, asks Mrs. Malory for help. Although sensing that his interest in her is more than professional, Sheila can’t resist a good murder mystery. Hazel Holt’s 5th Mrs. Malory mystery.
Mrs. Malory and the Festival Murder
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 4. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 51,990. Language: English. Published: June 29, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Mrs. Malory visits the Taviscombe Festival, which has been appropriated by Adrian Palgrave, a writer of little renown. Palgrave, literary executor for Lawrence Meredith, a leading literary figure of the 20s and 30s, is found beaten to death, and suspects abound. Two other deaths and an attempt to destroy Meredith’s papers lead Sheila to search for long-held secrets that bred fatal consequences.
The Shortest Journey
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 3. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 52,910. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Mrs. Malory returns to investigate a rich widow's disappearance after her daughter pressures her mother to sign over a large inheritance. There are many surprises as the dauntless sleuth delves beneath the peaceful surface of village life. Book 3 of Holt's Mrs. Malory mysteries.
My Dear Charlotte
By
Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 53,990. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00)
A British Regency murder mystery/romance set in 1815, written “with the assistance of Jane Austen’s letters.” Balls, visits, courtships, gossip (and murder, of course!). Especially for readers who love Jane Austen, Sharon Lathan, Georgette Heyer and Barbara Pym.
The Cruellest Month
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 2. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 56,040. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
When Sheila Malory's godson finds Ms. Richmond, a librarian in Oxford’s New Bodleian library, crushed under collapsed bookshelves, Mrs. Malory probes the victim’s past in search of answers. Could Gwen, who had many enemies, have been murdered for blackmail? Holt's civilized and tantalizing mystery explores both modern Oxford and rural wartime England. Book 2 in Holt’s Mrs. Malory series.
Gone Away
By
Series: A Mrs. Mallory Mystery, Book 1. Price: $5.95 USD. Words: 51,590. Language: English. Published: June 15, 2010 by Coffeetown Press. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00)
The 1st book in the delightful British cozy mystery series featuring Sheila Malory, a plain-spoken widow residing in the seaside town of Taviscombe, England. When pretty but avaricious Lee Montgomery disappears, her fiancé Charles Richardson enlists Mrs. Malory’s help. The dauntless Mrs. Malory soon suspects the worst. Little does she realize the terrible secrets her investigation will reveal..

Hazel Holt’s tag cloud